Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price.
Item came very quickly in ample packaging. Batteries included so gets marks for that. I wanted it for the media PC connected to the TV in the living room, so I can use it remotely from the sofa.

The basic functions except scroll work OK without the driver disk that came with it (i.e. just with basic Windows drivers). Loading the drivers disk opens up more...
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by FD

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems when using the shift key
The product is usable, but my first experiences with it were frustrating.

The keyboard has been tested with two Windows 7 computers, and found to exhibit the same behaviour with both.

SHIFT KEY: Don't think that the use of the Shift key will be the same as on a normal keyboard. With this, you have to develop a technique of pressing the Shift key,...
Published on 10 April 2012 by Wolfpack


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price., 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
Item came very quickly in ample packaging. Batteries included so gets marks for that. I wanted it for the media PC connected to the TV in the living room, so I can use it remotely from the sofa.

The basic functions except scroll work OK without the driver disk that came with it (i.e. just with basic Windows drivers). Loading the drivers disk opens up more functions on the pad, like tapping, one or two fingered scrolling, and the various finger acrobatics as shown on the keyboard. They all work fine, tapping the pad to enter or select. I like the finger and thumb pinch/expand function (smartphone style) as it works well expanding the web page to read small print (very useful when the image is 3 metres away on the flat screen TV).

It's quite lightweight and thin. Keyboard spacing I found fine. The pad is a good size. I don't see the point of those pictures underneath, it's in the instructions and it's not rocket science. The space would have been better used for a few media buttons, or one-touch buttons replacing the fiddly FN keys for internet/mail/volume/etc. I don't think it's auto shut-off, and the on/off switch on the back is easy to miss (so a small light on the front would have been useful).

The range is quoted upto 10 metres, but this will depend on what's in the way! So "upto" is accurate. On my media PC the receiver is situated behind the box, and when I'm sitting about 2-3 metres away on the sofa, and with a few hours of battery use, I can see it sometimes struggles, with the cursor jumping across the screen. I might have to attach the receiver to a USB extender cable and raise it to visible height.

Otherwise much better than before - the new keyboard has repleced a Trust keyboard/tracker ball which was never very easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Problems when using the shift key, 10 April 2012
By 
Wolfpack (Borehamwood, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
The product is usable, but my first experiences with it were frustrating.

The keyboard has been tested with two Windows 7 computers, and found to exhibit the same behaviour with both.

SHIFT KEY: Don't think that the use of the Shift key will be the same as on a normal keyboard. With this, you have to develop a technique of pressing the Shift key, and then - with a fraction of a second - pressing the key that you want (eg 1 if you wanted the !). Often one misjudges this, and ends up with the normal character from the key.

WINDOWS LOGIN: This issue may well occur with all keyboards of this type, not just those made by Perixx. The default behaviour makes it impossible to enter the Windows login with the keyboard if your password includes letters on the same keys used for the numberpad functionality. The solution on this keyboard is apparently to press Fn and ShiftLock to stop the numberpad functionality so that all the keys do what you'd expect them to. I have also bought a similar product from another manufacturer, which also needs to do a similar thing. Because these types of keyboards double-up on some keys, this is probably a necessary design requirement, to cope with Windows login functionality.

Customer service from Perixx was below acceptable standards, perhaps due to communication misunderstandings or language difficulties. The solution to the Windows login problem was not immediately clear to me, so I had to contact them. They twice sent me messages referring to the need to change the BIOS on the pc, without specifying exactly what I was supposed to be changing and why - the first time suggesting that I used Google to find the settings (though I did not know what I was supposed to be searching Google for). Eventually, I clarified to them that the keyboard was communicating with the computer, only that the wrong keys were being entered, and that was when they were able to give me the correct solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars raspberry pi issues, 22 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
using this with a raspberry pi (model b - 512MB - latest raspbian). easy to setup, the touchpad and mouse buttons work ok but the keyboardddddddd keysssssssss stickkkkkkk likeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee anythingggggggggggg...when there's another device plugged into the other usb port (wi-fi adaptor, drive). when the other device is removed it works alright. wondering how much power it draws but don't have the equipment to test it.
for those of you with normal setups i can't see that you'll encounter any issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
I bought this to use with an installation of XBMC on an HP Microserver box with WHS 2011. I didn't have to install any software as WHS found the drivers and installed automatically. I was up and running within 5 minutes.
Only issue is the permanent activation of the Numlock key which can be dis-abled by pressing the function key and the Numlock key.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time lag, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
The keyboard keys have a two to three second lag at times, but the lag never totally goes away. the touch pad is even worse, in fact i would say it was useless.I would never buy any products of this type or manufacture again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Use with Justop Android 4.1 TV Dongle, 22 April 2013
By 
Trev-R (Boston UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
I bought this to use with my JUSTOP K9B (MK 809 II) Android 4.1 TV Dongle Adapter With Bluetooth Jelly Bean OS / Cortex A9 Dual Core 1.6Ghz / 1G RAM / 8GB NAND Flash HD IPTV Player Mini PC Smart Google HD Player as the mini keyboard I originally bought was a real pain to use.

Firstly this works out of the box with this Android dongle, however to make best use of it I would suggest installing the Android App 'External Keyboard Helper' and setting the default keyboard to English (GB) This ensures all of the basic keys are mapped and the Esc key acts as a 'Back' key and the Home key works as the 'Home' key. It is also possible to remap the keys using this software to allow your favourite apps to be launched at a single key press.

OK so it isn't the best built keyboard in the World but for the money it is very good value. The dongle fits into the USB slot of the dongle and provided you don't get anything in the way then it works fine. However I found I cannot use it on my lap as my legs interfere with the signal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
i brought 2 of these and both of them when you press the o button its prints 6 instead so i had to return both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible range, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
I find I have to be almost on top of the receiver before it will reliably work for the keyboard. I'd say working range is at most 2 meters and that's perhaps being generous.

Frequently it acts as if a key is stuck down or ignores input until I move closer.

Save yourself some pain and by a better brand for a little more cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars upset, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
Seller was absolutely superb fast delivery well packaged etc BUT product is very poor. Touch pad! very slow to respond it just judders across the screen. wife picked on me about it and have now brought my wireless mouse from my laptop to placate her. Shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value keyboard, 10 July 2012
By 
A. Mcvey (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perixx PERIBOARD-716, Wireless Keyboard with Touchpad - 410x145x26mm Dimension - Large 82mm Touchpad - 2xAA Duracell Batteries Included - On/Off Switch - UK Layout (Accessory)
Quite a nice keyboard for the money. Things I like:

- Works with Raspberry PI
- Functional out of the box, although drivers required for full functionality
- Lightweight
- Good size, not too small or fiddly
- Reasonable range, works 2M away from the USB receiver
- Very useable touchpad
- Batteries included

Not so good:
- Plasticky feel, doesn't feel like it would survive a drop on the floor
- Battery cover is flimsy - mine broke the first time I opened it, although it's now fixed with bit of superglue. Would have awarded 5 stars if this hadn't happened.

Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews