Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty series about numbers (no maths experience required!)
This chirpy, factual three-part series is all about how mathematical patterns feature in the world and influence its development. Each episode is an hour long and loosely based on a theme, and they're presented in the modern infotainment style by that thoroughly pleasant chap (and professor several times over) Marcus du Sautoy.

If maths isn't your thing then...
Published on 10 April 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Marcus
I found the content very interesting but Marcus du Sautoy unfortunately was quite dull in his presentation. He's a mathematician, not a presenter so I think OU should consider finding a presenter with some interest/expertise in the subject rather than an expert with little skill as a presenter in future. This sort of presentation will do little to encourage interest in...
Published 16 months ago by John Murphy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty series about numbers (no maths experience required!), 10 April 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
This chirpy, factual three-part series is all about how mathematical patterns feature in the world and influence its development. Each episode is an hour long and loosely based on a theme, and they're presented in the modern infotainment style by that thoroughly pleasant chap (and professor several times over) Marcus du Sautoy.

If maths isn't your thing then there's no need to run and hide: there's hardly a hint of an awful equation or stodgy plodding through tedious theories.
Instead, each programme is made up of short segments which bunny-hop around the globe, using familiar and historical examples to demonstrate du Sautoy's argument that everything boils down to numbers in the end. There's nothing to challenge your attention span and plenty of eye-candy to keep you watching, even when du Sautoy is explaining complex number sequences and how pi turns up just about everywhere. Hence the Giant's Causeway is linked to how soap bubbles form; we learn what governs starlings in flight and how web search engines work; find out how to accurately dodge flaming projectiles from a mediaeval catapult, and discover that prime numbers affect the breeding cycle of a type of grasshopper.
The explanations often skimmed along the surface of the subject, leaving me intrigued rather than completely informed. The series aims to inspire us to learn more, rather than get to grips with the fine mathematical detail. This means it's accessible to everyone, but it also means that I felt a little short-changed at times. Du Sautoy seemed to be saying that we can leave behind superstitious belief systems and explain everything with math: but then he built up the mystery and majesty of `The Code' to the point where it became almost as inexplicable as any old-time deity.
I also didn't enjoy the constant repetition throughout each programme, where the content is trailed at the start, recapped halfway through, and repeated at the end with a trail for the next episode. Yes, thank you: got it the first time. Didn't need to see the same snapshot four times over.
However, The Code certainly is worth watching if you have the slightest interest in maths, physics or even IT. All of its themes underpin the technology which make modern life possible. There aren't many programmes which explain how to predict a lunar eclipse or how to catch a serial killer, and then neatly segue into a scene inside Chartres cathedral. Some of the filming is fun, too -- the railway sequence, for instance - and du Sautoy is an admirable tutor; affable and enthusiastic, and never patronising.

I suspect that The Code would be infuriating if you were a practising mathematician yourself. But for the woman in the street it provided interesting insights into what maths is really *for*. It's a far cry from the dry, dull presentations of yesteryear which made maths impenetrable and unappealing. Hopefully, it should encourage some viewers to take the next step and start learning how to manipulate numbers themselves...
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Code By Marcus DeSautoye, 7 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. R. E. Billing (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
This is a Three pert series about the mathematics of the world around us and is an interesting series for anyone interested in Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Geology, and how mathematics govern them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
My wife bought this for xmas,It explains in simple terms numbers and their relation to everything in life.Buy it any age will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Code DVD, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent DVD well presented and interesting. Relates maths to everyday life in a fun and thought provoking way. Great maths DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs Eileen Machon (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
This series is so good. As a scientist I thought I'd be interested by it but I was literally fascinated! Although few parts are explained by maths as 'too good to be true' most of it is truelly astonishing! Look out for the birds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry Marcus, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Code [DVD] (DVD)
I found the content very interesting but Marcus du Sautoy unfortunately was quite dull in his presentation. He's a mathematician, not a presenter so I think OU should consider finding a presenter with some interest/expertise in the subject rather than an expert with little skill as a presenter in future. This sort of presentation will do little to encourage interest in maths.
Same applies to The Story of Maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Code [DVD]
The Code [DVD] (DVD - 2011)
20.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews