Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit - Sisters are doing it for themselves
Once upon a time two sisters walked into a Swedish forest, one with a guitar the other looking painfully young at the age of 16 and they both sang a song. The tune in question was a spine tingling cover of Fleet Foxes "Tiger mountain peasant song" and the sisters posted a video of it on the internet. It turned into a quiet and persistent sensation having been viewed well...
Published on 23 Jan. 2012 by Red on Black

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lions roar
this was a bit disappointing - the first 2 tracks are good but the rest is a bit indifferent. I am always on the look out for any kind of new country/Americana type music and having heard one track from this CD thought i was onto a winner. But to me, it didnt have anything much that would move you or stay with you.
Published on 17 May 2012 by Ms. Janet Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
A beautiful album with wonderful singers. Very relaxing, interesting and hypnotic. Cant stop playing it at the moment. As good as their 1st album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb voices sing somewhat safe sweet songs, 29 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Pluses are the voices of these two sisters - a little Emmylou Harris or Nancy Griffiths - with harmonies that at times approach the McGarrigle Sisters. Lyrics too are a strong point. The tunes are melodic, but a little obvious and safe (well, they are Swedish after all), hardly original or groundbreaking. In this respect the tracks Blue amd King of the World are the best, the last showing that they can rock it up a little and get a more gutsy feel in. A bit more raw emotion and grunt and they would be superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This is a lovely, gentle cd, recommended by my son and a great choice. Cross between country and folk with glorious womens voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet blend of heartfelt lyric and optimistic melody, 8 May 2012
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (MP3 Download)
This blissful album is perfect for a spring Sunday, put it on and let it take you somewhere new. This album is a sweet blend of heartfelt lyric and optimistic melody, it is reflective and uplifting whilst tipping a wink to past albums and a quiet pine towards some of the bands influences, such as the fleet foxes and Pattie Smith.
There is so much depth here that it is easy to reach the end of the album and simply hit play again !

This latest release from Swedish sisters Johanna and Klara Söderberg, features The Felice Brothers and local Omaha musician Conor Oberst who sings on the amazing "king of the world". The album opens with the complex and refined "The Lions Roar" and melts into your Brain from the first silky notes.

Produced by Mike Mogis in Omaha, Nebraska, who has Bright Eyes, Jenny Lewis, Monsters of Folk to name but a few to his name....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one word - Excellent, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
This is a must have CD for any collection. The tones are warming and the songs well written and produced. In these dark times, pour a large spirit, turn up the fire, sit back, relax and enjoy.

Quite simply an excellent album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lions roar cd, 15 Mar. 2012
By 
R. Cunningham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
I really like this cd the harmonies are absolutely fab and I can thoroughly recommend it to one and all.
The seller was spot on and the price was too plus a swift posting to boot well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Download this now!, 14 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
I can't stop playing this album and its difficult to pick a favourite, the jaunty 'Blue' I am sure will be a radio favourite and 'This old routine' I am sure will resonate with many. I have liked the Unthank sisters for many years but I have to say these girls are in a league of their own. If you purchase this album I guarantee you will not be disappointed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow burner, 11 Mar. 2012
By 
Paul Mitchard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
A slow burner not as instant as their earlier material but give it a few listens and it will embrace and engulf you. I have seen them live a few times and there they master their craft superbly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl comes with CD included., 2 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Vinyl LP sold from Amazon directly came with CD included. Ideal for ripping as loseless files. This is how all LP should be sold now. Not mp3 download codes. Great album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this band and wish I hadn't waited so long ..., 5 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
What can I say, love this band and wish I hadn't waited so long to purchase this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion's Roar [VINYL]
The Lion's Roar [VINYL] by First Aid Kit (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews