Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Aid Kit - Sisters are doing it for themselves
Once upon a time two sisters walked into a Swedish forest, one with a guitar the other looking painfully young at the age of 16 and they both sang a song. The tune in question was a spine tingling cover of Fleet Foxes "Tiger mountain peasant song" and the sisters posted a video of it on the internet. It turned into a quiet and persistent sensation having been viewed well...
Published on 23 Jan 2012 by Red on Black

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lions roar
this was a bit disappointing - the first 2 tracks are good but the rest is a bit indifferent. I am always on the look out for any kind of new country/Americana type music and having heard one track from this CD thought i was onto a winner. But to me, it didnt have anything much that would move you or stay with you.
Published on 17 May 2012 by Ms. Janet Cooper


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 31 July 2012
By 
Steve Keen "therealus" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Fortunately I had listened to The Lion's Roar before I read the simpering comparisons with Fleet Foxes, whose album I managed to listen to a couple of times before the Grossly Overrated light came on.

No, this is actually a record with variety and verve, and outstanding harmonies which are nevertheless not the duo's be-all. The only, very occasional, cracks in the wallpaper occur when there appear to have been too many words to fit with the music and there's a scramble to finish the line before the bar finishes, and when the enunciation of the words takes a back seat to the direction of the melody, factors which may end up being endearing, but they haven't quite yet.

Apart from the harmonies, the entire collection is dominated by excellent arrangements and instrumentation, from the guitars and keyboards through to accordion, strings and horns.

Three tracks in particular stand out. The opening, title track is an immediate hook, a beautiful song sung to a 3/4 beat with background woodwind instrumentation that is uncredited but sounds like tenor recorders, although it's more likely to be flute. Dance To Another Tune also begins in 3/4, but there's a change to 4/4 which effects a quite dramatic mood change, which is accompanied by some Beach Boys-like vocalising. And King Of The World, which closes the set, has some great, Latino-tinged trumpet and lyrics which read, and are delivered, so ambiguously that it's difficult to know if it's a sad or happy song, and somehow works as both, and features an evocative image of a waitress sitting smoking outside a restaurant. She has a look of total fear in her eyes, we're told, but still manages a smile as the singer drives off. What, I'm wondering, is the story behind that?

Also deserving a special mention is Emmylou, which namechecks the lady herself plus Gram, Johnny and June, and the hauntingly in-your-face lyrics of Blue, especially the lines about the death in a car accident of an only love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar [VINYL] (Vinyl)
brilliant album wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a grower, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
It's a grower in that it might not float your boat immediately but play it a few times in the background or your car and you will grow to love it.

Don't let the fact that David Cameron is a fan put you off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab album, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
I cannot believe that I have not reviewed this until now. This music rarely stays off my system for long. The purity of the vocals and the quality of the song writing is outstanding. Stand out track for me is Emmy Lou. We were lucky enough to see First Aid Kit at the Shepherd's Bush Empire last year and they did not disappoint. Get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual sound, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Most unusual sound produced by these two. I find it quite haunting but my wife hates it. All a matter of taste but I heard it in a shop as musak (and later at a hotel I was staying in) and couldn't resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lions Roar, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar [VINYL] (Vinyl)
A much appreciated pristine copy of First Aid Kit's second album was retrieved within approx 48 hrs. of the purchase.
A great set of tunes with beautiful vocals and musicianship throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! So glad I checked this out!, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (MP3 Download)
Found this by accident really - was listening to preview tracks from loads of different albums.
This one really stood out and I'd never heard of these girls before. Have now purchased back catalogue and am looking forward to their future releases. Constantly play this in the car - perfect driving music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (MP3 Download)
Love their sound after hearing them on the TV. Have since got other albums and listen to their sound to relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 18 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (Audio CD)
Fantastic Harmonies beautiful melodies love the scandinavian folk sound that seems to be drifting south. Americana with a northern soul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very accessible, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion's Roar (MP3 Download)
This is a good 'un. I'm no country fan but I enjoyed this album right from the first play. I was worried that it may be one of those that burns brightly for a short while then fades. But the strength of the songs has ensured that I am still happily listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion's Roar
The Lion's Roar by First Aid Kit (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews