Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Another outstanding collection of tunes from backbeats so many great songs and singers
Another outstanding collection of tunes from backbeats so many great songs and singers,in her all too brief life Annette Snell cut some super tracks and you ought to be here with me is up there with the best,the same can be said for Linda Jones continuing with the females quiet elegance a very underrated group with a superb lead singer add in Tommie Young,Anne Sexton &...
Published 4 months ago by soulboy

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death by Treacle
Backbeats describe these songs as 'wrist-slashers' but you're in more danger of choking on their syrupy sentiment than reaching for the razor. The bulk of the tracks date from the early-mid 70s, long after the rough edges had been knocked off soul, and most are indistinguishable from the slick, corporate sounds synonymous with Motown and Philadelphia at that time. There...
Published on 5 Jan 2012 by Mulwharchar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death by Treacle, 5 Jan 2012
By 
Mulwharchar (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
Backbeats describe these songs as 'wrist-slashers' but you're in more danger of choking on their syrupy sentiment than reaching for the razor. The bulk of the tracks date from the early-mid 70s, long after the rough edges had been knocked off soul, and most are indistinguishable from the slick, corporate sounds synonymous with Motown and Philadelphia at that time. There are exceptions of course, and Linda Jones' 'Fugitive from Love' will always be a showstopper (even if it's the 70s re-recording rather than the definitive 1965 Blue Cat original), Quiet Elegance's 'You Got My Mind Messed Up' far surpasses the James Carr original and the criminally-overlooked George Jackson never fails with 'Aretha, Sing One for Me'. It's therefore all the more shock to hear genuine, raw soul like Wilson Pickett's 1963 'I'm Down to My Last Heartbreak' or Betty Lavette's 1965 classic 'Let Me Down Easy' in such saccharine company, and the 70s stuff pales by comparison. Sure, Backbeats CDs don't break the bank but they're rather cashing-in on the deep soul tag, and there are far better Kent compilations such as the 'Dave Godin's Deep Soul Treasures' series to head for before this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another outstanding collection of tunes from backbeats so many great songs and singers, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
Another outstanding collection of tunes from backbeats so many great songs and singers,in her all too brief life Annette Snell cut some super tracks and you ought to be here with me is up there with the best,the same can be said for Linda Jones continuing with the females quiet elegance a very underrated group with a superb lead singer add in Tommie Young,Anne Sexton & Laura Lee cd is worth it just for them,the standard from the men is just as high,Otis Clay,George Jackson,Sydney Joe Qualls (check out his Windy City wailer cd ) at this price it is a steal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Soulful, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
If you like soul music but dont understand the meaning of 'Deep Soul' buy this cd. I couldnt find a bad track on it. The Pain Goes Deep follows the other superb 'Deep Soul' CD from Demon 'Love and Jealousy' and, as we've come to expect in this series, the music choice and selection is excellent. If you like the deeper side of soul you'll love this - The Ann Sexton, Annette Snell and Otis Clay tracks being my particular favourites, but its fabulous throughout. Well worth the money from the first to the last track and a very enjoyable cd indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better re-mastering would have been appreciated, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
As with other titles in this series the content is supreme...but this one has issues with the sound for some reason. About half a dozen tracks vary in volume within the same track, and others simply fly off the top range of acceptable listening tolerance. I know that they're 'oldies' but c'mon it's only the 70s/80's not the '30's.

Better re-mastering would have been appreciated.

Still buying as many as I can whilst they're cheap enough....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Soul, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
great value CDS I have bought most on this label and have not been disappointed good range of artists recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
After 40 yrs of being a Northern soul "oldies room lover",and owning nearly every tune i love,i thought id try some of these soul gems and it was well worth it,why spend over 15 quid on chart manufactured pop when theres this stuff around for next to nothing.
Utter brilliance!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems (Audio CD)
A great set of songs. It hits that part that makes you weep. I have gone out and bought another album in the backbeat series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems
Backbeats: The Pain Goes Deep-More Deep Soul Gems by Various Artisits (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews