Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars conceived and compilrd with love
I was eagerly awaiting this CD. As the liner notes say this was conceived and compiled with love by soul stalwart Sean Hampsey. This CD is part of the Backbeat series, a label releasing the very best of black music, at mid-price, between £3.60-£5.00 covering many genres.This is their third ,series, this CD 26 tracks the follow up to the equally excellent compilation I...
Published on 2 Jan 2012 by KP townie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too bland
It's got some stuff on there that's ok but there aren't any real standout tracks on this compilation. It's ok but it's not going to get as much airplay as many of my other albums. More something to spin when I've over-listened to the rest.
Published 22 months ago by Riff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars conceived and compilrd with love, 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
I was eagerly awaiting this CD. As the liner notes say this was conceived and compiled with love by soul stalwart Sean Hampsey. This CD is part of the Backbeat series, a label releasing the very best of black music, at mid-price, between £3.60-£5.00 covering many genres.This is their third ,series, this CD 26 tracks the follow up to the equally excellent compilation I Get My Groove featuring classy crossover soul a more gentle mid-tempo soul beat an accompaniment to the more frantic rhythms of northern soul. They Call It Crossover spans a decade from 1969 and. opens with supergoup The O'jays with one of their lesser known records, Just Another Guy produced by George Kerr a well known name who also co-penned the Linda Jones cut here.Other big hitters include Jackie Wilson and Bobby Womack. Tracks featured are mastered from the original 45, or the original album. I'm The One Who Loves You from the pen of Mr Curtis Mayfield is one of my faves classy chicago soul by 5 Stairsteps and Cubie. Tyrone Davis and Gene Chandler also represent the Windy City with You Keep me Holding On, and Without You Here. Legendary writer producer Van Mccoy is behind the Kenny Young track A'int It Funny. Popular tracks on the soul scene include Eddie Billups Shake off That Dream which featured back in the day and still popular at crossover events, as is Mary Holmes I Need Your Lovin, and the gorgeous Channel 3 Sweetest Thing.100% Proof Aged in Soul originally a detroit group which featured Steve Mancha they were part of the Holland Dozier Holland stable Hotwax. . The CD features many southern style deep soul vocalists. Ann Sexton Doris Duke Otis Clay Na Allen Johnny Adams and Chuck Armstrong all provide rich gritty vocals. Because of the price I would recomend this to soul fans who are just dipping their toe in the world of soul music, or people who can't access the original vinyl this is real soul from the heart for those of us who like a little dance now and then, but can't tear around the floor at the pulsating stompers, but also like to chill at home to quality soul music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They should call it Soul Perfection!, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
This compilation has replaced in my car my most played last year, the other Demon 'Crossover Soul' CD album 'I Get My Groove'. Its another fabulous selection of good time soul music with something for everyone to dance or sing along to. Perfect for the car (or party) and every track is a winner. Otis Clay and Linda Jones on the same album has got to tell you something. 100% Top Quality from Demon who never let us down on these soulful and inexpensive comps. More Please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i crossed over, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
if you like northern soul music but dont understand the meaning of crossover soul buy this cd i couldnt find a bad track on it well worth the money from the first to the last track a very enjoyable cd indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too bland, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
It's got some stuff on there that's ok but there aren't any real standout tracks on this compilation. It's ok but it's not going to get as much airplay as many of my other albums. More something to spin when I've over-listened to the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb rare groove cd, 6 July 2012
By 
Andrew Clacey "sid1964" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
cant believe i got this excellent cd for £3.50,there are some real old gems on here,if you like your old groove music this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One to take with you in the car., 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
I ordered this CD based on the reviews here, having 'stumbled on' the Backbeats series of releases. It really is an excellent collection of 'gems from the glory days' of the soul music varieties, and it's one of those rare compilations you can play in the car without skipping any tracks.

At the same time I also purchaed 'I Get My My Groove' from this series - which for me is an even better compilation than this one - bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crossover to wonderful!, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
After the back beats Modern CD had to get this one, Ujima , Barrino Brothers and Johnnie Taylor all great soulful tunes. Another collection favourite. Oh happy soulman am I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes!!!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
What can i say...5 stars,truly brilliant!!!!
A must for any soul fans collection,you wont go wrong with this one,at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant blend, 8 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backbeats: They Call It Crossover-More Mid-Tempo Soul Gems (Audio CD)
A fine selection of '60s and '70s American soul that I never have heard before. To be honest, I have not heard about the majority of the artists either. Well compiled, good songs and great sound at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews