Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it
Madeline Deveridge was known among the Ton as the "Wicked Widow". Everyone believed she had murdered her husband and then set fire to the house to cover the crime. Her deceased husband had been trained in the special arts of the Vanza. But he had not been a Master of Vanza as her father had been. Never-the-less, her husband's madness mixed with his training left Madeline...
Published on 14 Mar 2003 by Detra Fitch

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Romantic Suspense
This is another tale in Amanda Quick's realm of the secret, paranormal sensitive world of arcane talents, this story being set in late Victorian London.
The story centres around the trials and tribulations of a woman known as the Wicked Widow (and yes, you've guessed it, she's supposed to have murdered her husband and other lovers), otherwise known as Madeline...
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by Crux Roesia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 14 Mar 2003
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Madeline Deveridge was known among the Ton as the "Wicked Widow". Everyone believed she had murdered her husband and then set fire to the house to cover the crime. Her deceased husband had been trained in the special arts of the Vanza. But he had not been a Master of Vanza as her father had been. Never-the-less, her husband's madness mixed with his training left Madeline very scarred on the inside. When someone, pretending to be her deceased husband's ghost out for revenge, began threatening her, she had to seek another Vanza for help.
Unknown to others, Artemas Hunt was a Full Vanza Master and the owner of the Dream Pavilions. Artemas sold dreams and illusions. When Madeline virtually blackmailed him into helping her rescue one of her kidnapped maids, he was furious! When he found out she knew he was Vanza, owner of the Dream Pavilions, and knew much more about the Vanza Society than was healthy, he became cautious. He had no time for her. He had his own revenge to seek. They made a deal. Artemas helped her catch a ghost and Madeline turned over her father's journal that was filled with all the personal lives and businesses of all members of the Vanza Society - including his!
Amanda Quick weaves the most enthralling tales of romance and suspense! I was caught in this story's sticky web from the first page! This book is one of her best yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vanza Series., 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A neat ending to the Vanza series. I enjoyed this as much as the others. Fun, romance, and believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good :-), 18 Dec 2013
Great fan of Amanda quick and Nicola cornick loved this book, great detail and so much history. Love the early 1800's and find these novels so exciting and I'm just not able to put it down, another great novel by Amanda quick...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wicked Widow: The Vanza Series: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
Another amazing book by Amanda Quick- the mystery of the ghost was fantastic, and although some parts of the book were unrealistic, they were fun enough so as not to matter too much. What a lovely couple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed it, 16 Mar 2001
By A Customer
I loved it! It was full of suspense and I personally fell in love with the hero. I was curious though about the theory behind Vanza, what on earth is it? Some kind of martial art?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Romantic Suspense, 14 Jun 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is another tale in Amanda Quick's realm of the secret, paranormal sensitive world of arcane talents, this story being set in late Victorian London.
The story centres around the trials and tribulations of a woman known as the Wicked Widow (and yes, you've guessed it, she's supposed to have murdered her husband and other lovers), otherwise known as Madeline Deveridge. When her maid goes missing in London's favourite pleasure gardens, the Dream Pavilions, she enlists the help of their owner, one Artemas Hunt, a master of Vanza. All too soon, the pair are thrust into a dangerous game against an unknown enemy, whose arrival not only threatens Artemas's carefully laid plans for a long overdue revenge but the blossoming attraction between hero and heroine.
Overall, it's quite a good read, with the added bonus of paranormal talents giving the story a good edge. But I personally found the explanations about the Vanzagarian society and all that side of it a little too much and never quite bought into the relationship between Madeline and Artemas enough to make this a romantic suspense that I would be hurrying to pick up again.
I've found other arcane society stories much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writing as usual, but not my favourite from Quick!, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual, the plot was good, everything was wrapped up nicely without the feeling of it being an afterthought as is the case with so many other Romance novels.
BUT - If I see or hear the words Vanza/Vanzagarian one more time I will actually scream. Never in my life have I read the name of a philosophy so many times without really actually learning anything about it other than the people who practice it are 'crackpots' or masters of herbal remedies and unusual fighting methods. Also, the lovemaking scenes were very, er, 'hasty'!
If you haven't read an Amanda Quick book before I would probably say start with The Third Cirlce, or maybe actually just start at the beginning of the Arcane series, as this particular story may not endear you to her and that would be a shame. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews