Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confused.com
Love this show....hate that it was axed!

However while watching the DVD i got very confused....the episode are in the wrong order.

The corect order should be - 1, 4, 3, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 7, 14 (as labelled in the dvd).

Series will make much more sense if viewed in this order.

Gave it 4 stars rather than 5 for this...
Published 18 months ago by Karlos International

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring and poorly made
This show could have been so much better!

Unfortunately it's such a flop, no wonder it didn't even finish the season but ABC axed it half-way.

Boring story line, poor CGI and absolutely no cliffhangers. Acting wasn't that bad but it could hardly make up for the tragic shortcomings in everything else.
Published 4 months ago by Alexander Nikolov


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Confused.com, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this show....hate that it was axed!

However while watching the DVD i got very confused....the episode are in the wrong order.

The corect order should be - 1, 4, 3, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 7, 14 (as labelled in the dvd).

Series will make much more sense if viewed in this order.

Gave it 4 stars rather than 5 for this error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment, Pure Joy to watch., 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this program!
I just loved every minute of this very entertaining , glamorous, escapist series.
The girls are so beautiful , likable and all different, none are stereotypes. All superb actors. And their costumes, hair and make up are wonderful. Proper sixties glamour!

This isn't as dark as Mad Men, but its not all fluff either, it does touch on, sexism, racism, politics, art, history and the making of `Modern Girls'.
The women in this program are empowered by their own sense of worth and its so refreshing to see that in a TV program!

Admittedly the first few episodes weren't as good as it later gets. It seemed like they had a small budget, which was letting them down. But this seems to change after episode 4 or so, when the sets and locations become much more elaborate. A bigger budget would have put this on level with Mad Men, I think.

All in all, this is a very watchable series, its glamorous, exciting (some times edge of your seat!) There is an innocence to it that seems deliberate and is enjoyable. Its romantic and moving, emotional and it will make you think from time to time. But overall its quite light entertainment.
The 6 main characters are very likable and interesting. And some there are some good badies too!
I loved the little snapshots into American and European history, and the spy storyline. Also how they played around with time in certain episodes.

I just wish that they had had a bigger budget.

Well written, well acted, well..just great entertainment.

I'm hoping for a second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pan Am correct running order, 21 July 2013
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone confused about the running order in which the episodes are meant to be watched, here you go:

01 Pilot
02 We'll Always Have Paris
03 Ich Bin Ein Berliner
04 Eastern Exposure
05 One Coin in a Fountain
06 The Genuine Article
07 Romance Languages
08 Truth or Dare
09 Unscheduled Departure
10 Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
11 Secrets and Lies
12 Diplomatic Relations
13 New Frontiers
14 1964
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pan Am is an excellent show, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Pan Am is an excellent show. Just like No. 1 fan I can't understand why it's been cancelled. It's a great mix between comedy and drama. Many exciting things going on in this first season, and of many of them we will now not know what would have happened next. Big disappointment. I haven't seen the last 4 or 5 episodes of the first season since the channel showing it here in Sweden have not shown them! (And why do some people think that Pan Am is so horribly bad and that Mad Men is so incredibly good? What's so incredibly good about Mad Men and so horribly bad about Pan Am?)I totally agree with Judy about the characters and the actors, they are great. It also gives an insight into the early 60's in the US (how real I don't know though since I wasn't even born then) I'm waiting for the DVD to be released. I would also like to say to No.1 fan, Judy, Kentishgal and NeuroSplicer that I really like their reviews. To others: Read them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
I watched the first episode one night bored, was hooked within a minute and actually cried when i realised there wouldn't e a second season to follow. Brilliant, glamorous, believable characters and story lines. You fall in love with every pan am character!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Wish they made another series. Very interesting story line and great sets. Loved looking at the old pam an service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best programme on TV, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Pan Am is my favourite show on TV - ever, perhaps. The glamorous crew, the beautiful cities they fly to and the intruiging, brilliantly acted plots make for a perfect mix. What a welcome relief from all the cop shows and daft comedies that dominate the schedules! There is just the right balance of serious drama and lighter fun - the First Officer played by Michael Mosley is hilarious, as is Christina Ricci as flight attendant Maggie Ryan, while Karine Vanasse and Mike Vogel are excellent as Colette and Dean. I can't wait for Series Two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How annoying there will be no series 2, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this series; the storyline, characters and locations were all great. One of those shows that you miss when it finishes and look up when the next series will be out. How annoying then to discover that those in charge have decided not to make another series. One wonders just why they made that decision; how very shortsighted.
Thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gutted about this being cancelled!, 14 Oct 2012
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved Pan Am! I enjoy any show that transports you back to another age, and does it with such class. I am genuinely gutted that the show has been cancelled for the reason that I felt there were some genuinely great story lines. I enjoyed the way each of the six main characters had different story lines happening, with some crossing over. So gutted because I think it could have been a really successful show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the DVD or series 2 to be released, please hurry up!!, 22 May 2012
This review is from: Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Best program made in a very long time. FAB-U-LOUS!!!! If you haven't seen it, you've missed out big time!!! Cannot rate this highly enough, can't understand why it's been cancelled????!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD]
Pan Am - Season 1 [DVD] by Christina Ricci (DVD - 2013)
8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews