Customer Reviews


1,259 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,023)
4 star:
 (122)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


307 of 337 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to call in sick/fake your death/have a missing persons report filed
-Firstly, ignore the 1* reviews, they're pretty much all about Amazon not delivering on time rather than this game. (I ordered from Gamestop, chose non-recommended free delivery, got it this morning.. It's down to Royal Mail I guess)

Ok, remember that game GTA IV? erase it's awful movement, shooting and car mechanics from your mind along with the storyline that...
Published 7 months ago by B. white

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Way over-hyped, but still good!
I did like the story and the multi-player (once it was functioning) with nice overall graphics and good atmosphere, although I can't help but find the lack of content really off-putting.

I hyped this thing way too much, and that plays a pretty big part in my disappointment; but if I had never heard of it before and had just released and played it, I think I...
Published 1 month ago by Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 2126 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

307 of 337 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to call in sick/fake your death/have a missing persons report filed, 17 Sep 2013
By 
B. white "UNDEAD WOLF 8D - Gamertag" (Uk - London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
-Firstly, ignore the 1* reviews, they're pretty much all about Amazon not delivering on time rather than this game. (I ordered from Gamestop, chose non-recommended free delivery, got it this morning.. It's down to Royal Mail I guess)

Ok, remember that game GTA IV? erase it's awful movement, shooting and car mechanics from your mind along with the storyline that soon plunged into monotonous two bit thug favors with pointless dilemma's thrown in. Forget about the big lack of features missing from the previous installment Sanandreas. Forget about the overwhelming and chore like take on realism in place of fun gameplay.

GTA V is finally here, some got it a week ago or yesterday, hopefully the rest got theirs today. The chances are, between the information already released and the leaks, you probably already have a good idea of the game, it takes place in a parody recreation of L.A; Los Santo's, and a vast expanse north of it called Blaine county (taking notes from their successful wild west open world, Red Dead) that features desert and Montana-esque country side whose motorway's don't look out of place in police chase programs. You play three protagonists Michael (a retired mid life crisis former bank robber) his best friend Trevor (former partner in crime and all out scizophrenic, sexual deviant violent bully.. Yet somehow you just gotta love him) then Franklin (street hood turned car repo man trying to take the right path) The game is essentially an amalgamation of R*'s best recent efforts (Max Payne 3, Red Dead Redemption and Midnight Club L.A) and is back brimming with it's wonderful blatant humor taking shots at America and many things from pop culture to politics, even Call Of Duty. But the reason you're here is to find out why it is a good (exceptional) game. So onto the ridiculous amount of features new or improved, and why you should buy this game. This might take awhile...

=========
GAMEPLAY
=========

DRIVING; It is greatly improved, it no longer feels like you're going around a corner on ice with a piece of jelly. Where braking plus hand breaking in good time still leaves you veering into a lamp post. Some may worry it's arcade like and not realistic anymore, but it wasn't realistic in GTA IV, it was a pain and sluggish. Now cars are more akin to R*'s big racer Midnight Club, they are fast and very responsive, you can weave in and out of traffic at high speed which is fun and thrilling along with the games other effects. But the car's that're lighter and heavier still handle differently, having enough weight so that your average 15 year old COD fan will probably handbrake in a circle rather than 90' a corner everytime. The same improvements apply to motorbikes and aerial vehicles as well as boats.

MOVING & AIMING / SHOOTING; Again greatly improved, having learned lessons from Red Dead, the movement is easy and fluid, you can easily step or vault over fences and small obstacles, or climb over fences and onto vehicles, ledges etc. Holding A allows you to jog and tapping it to sprint, there is no longer a crouch button (L Stick) which feels odd, but it's been replaced with stealth mode which allows for stealth takedowns and still fast movement. RB allows you to take cover just as with Red Dead and works nicely, aiming is also similar and not a mess like with GTA IV. You no longer have to worry about how hard to press R Trigger just to free aim, it's easy and responsive, plus you can move at speed while aiming by pressing A. Also pressing X allows you to do an evasive roll. LB brings up the weapon wheel which is a welcome and intuitive addition, even making it's way to the vehicle with radio stations being selected that way. The D-Pad has more use now, controlling the cars lights, roof, character stat screen and character switch. Your characters health regenerates past 50% but if badly injured need a health pack or sleeping. You also have a armor, health and skill meter which allows you to use characters individual abilities (slo-mo driving for Franklin, slo-mo bullet time for Michael, double health and damage for Trevor.

WEAPONS; There are a nice number of weapons in this game, all the types you'd expect, except they are customizable (scopes, silences, magazines skins etc) and can be purchased from the resurrected Ammu-Nation stores, these stores also feature different clothes and body armor. Some even with firing ranges where you have 3 challenges per weapon and can sequentially unlock weapons with Silver or Gold scores, this is reminiscent of the N64's Perfect Dark and is fun to see what weapons the game features. The weapons are meaty and sound authentic, reloading them looks the part too. There are also a number of melee weapons; knifes, baton, gold club etc. The crosshair is a white dot but can be changed to have a circle and white dot.

VEHICLES; They are out in numbers, coach, tow truck, 18 wheelers with containers and logs, jeep, jet ski, crop duster, Chinook helicopter, trains, dirtbike, superbikes, quad, moped, lavish sports cars, boats, giant quarry trucks, forklifts, tractors, a 1 birth submersible (lil yellow submarine) you name it and it's probably in this game. With the improved controls these are all a joy to try out and the diversity really adds to the games realism.

CUSTOMIZATION; It is back after a seemingly vacant appearance in GTA IV, the three protagonists can now get various haircuts or purchase different clothing, changing them in their houses wardrobes. Cars can now be customized to a degree like in Midnight Club, meaning both each vehicles performance, and look. Allowing to change the bumper, skirting, hood, spoiler, tires, many different paints from metals to chrome. Then there's the weapon customization mentioned above which is indeed a nice addition.

WHAT IS THERE TO DO?; Well.. Tennis, Golf, Yoga, Darts, sea races, street races, triathlons, sky diving, offroad truck, ATV or motox racing, Bong Smoking, Watching TV, Towing Cars, Firing Range, Deep Sea Diving, Catching Illegal Immigrants, various find the missing pieces quests, hunting, a nice amount. The mini games if possible to play with friends will be quite enjoyable, then there's the vast expanse of the map to enjoy, traveling at around 130MPH it takes 7 minutes to go across the maps motorways to the other end, that's around 14 square miles to explore. The game has a large number of random events or miscellaneous side quests that can happen at random (helping someone who is mugged for instance) investigating random occurrences make the world feel really alive with it's own series of events. Simply exploring the environment or getting into cop chases is more fun than before thanks to improved AI, offering more of a challenge. Then of course there's a main storyline. Or simply trying to max and level all your stats or find all the hidden stuff. So running out of things to do in singleplayer won't happen anytime soon, and that's before even touching on the Multiplayer dubbed GTA Online, launching on OCT 1st. Which is where the games lifespan will really come from.

REALISM; The game is really quite realistic, but whilst retaining fun, and Los Santos feels teeming with life.
- You can get a dog that you can train (even with a app Ifruit for a real phone)
- There are animals like deer that'll jump out in the country roads, great white sharks that'll eat you, wolf's or coyote's out in the country and desert, plus those evil cougars again.
- With the smartphone you can use it to take camera shots, or turn it around clicking R Stick, and actually take a selfie. On the internet you can purchase stocks, check up real estate, cars, media. Just to show the amount of content in this game, I typed in "porn" and it came up with a funny parody site on Japanese Hentai, so just the games own internet is fun to browse.
- The car engine stutters as it turns off, and you can hear gear shifts.
- The ocean contains ship wrecks and other things to find.
- You can purchase food and drinks to restore health.
- You can watch TV and do the list of mini games listed above.
- The motorways are full of traffic and 18 wheelers, you can cause traffic jams and mini pileups (Don't shoot the oil tanker connected to your cab while driving an 18 wheeler, it does kaboom..)
- Cars can lose petrol in a trail when damaged badly that can be ignited, the same effect possible with a jerrycan.
- You can do hunting in the wild, assassinations, etc.
- Tires only burst when shot, not the rims, and eventually burn away to the metal rims. Cops in helicopters seem to try aiming for your wheels. Stingers at roadblocks are back too.
- People react to where shot, leg shots drop them etc.
- Bullet holes and other injuries show up on you and NPC's, and scrapes to hands/faces.
- The three characters even have their own walk and animations for some things.
- The water looks very realistic and puddles form that your character will tread in making a splash, the waves also come up against the shore. If entering water your clothes get soaked upto however far in you go.
- When changing characters they will be doing their own random activity usually correlating to their personality, the psycho Trevor for instance might be running about in underwear from cops or wake up drunk in a dumpster.
- The car actually goes into cruise if you press R trigger gently but not all the way as though the clutch is down but you're not accelerating!
- Drive over grates etc and your controller will vibrate, or speed through a bridge with tall girders or past oncoming traffic and you'll hear them whiz past. - Try walking down a hill that's too steep and you'll lose your balance tumbling to your doom, it's funny.
- Aim your gun at someone in a car and they'll try to run you over, shoot them in the face and a blood spatter on the screen will ensue along with their head pressing the horn and the car veering into a wall somewhere.
- Pressing LB in a car with no guns makes the character give the finger.
- Rain and storms affect helicopters making them harder to control.
- If you run and jump into a wall, you'll knock yourself over.
- The police response to crimes is probably one of the best things in the game, their radio chatter as the character specific ambient music kicks in and choppers start gunning for you riddling your car with bullets makes it quite eerie and tense, they will actually respond realistically via radio to your crime and it's location; that's the games 1000 page dialog for you. They'll use their door as cover and shout through their cars tanoy (Try driving through a fort army base..watch out for tanks and swat though, they don't play around in this game, hanging out the windows shooting you, or tanks turning their turrets quick to waste you.)
- Kill someone and an ambulance will pull up and they'll assess the person, write notes etc.
- There are firetrucks with a usable hose on top that can knock people over.
- There's parachuting too I should add which is fun and controls rather well.
- The vehicle damage physics worried me at first, but only because your car doesn't look half wrecked from one bump, I got my car stuck down an alleyway hiding from cops, in anger shot it, stood on it stamping on it etc. Then kicked a bin and of course freed it, the damage in the suns reflection is crazy (can see each individual dent from Michaels foot.) and scrapes of missing paint along with severe dents in the sides.
- You can take pictures and send them as messages to a character on your phone contact list, getting a individual response.
- Pressing Right on the D-pad will make your character say something, usually suited to them. It can be a friendly gesture or often something rude, ending in a phone call to the police. Or you can mock a policeman making them want to arrest you.
- You can swim of course, and swim to the bottom of the ocean with a breathing apparatus and at times find various wrecks and loot.

The list goes on.. The amount of detail R* has put into this game is huge, and really pushes the games boundaries, making many other games or franchises feel a let down in comparison.

The game will also make many own unique stories for everyone, I drove through a fort in a firetruck avoiding tanks (if you enter an army base it's auto 4 stars) then drove over a mountain and crashed down a ravine with police cars, then jumped out as it was on fire and got pretty much washed down a fast river while being shot at by 3 copters..came out and ran through tall grass and into the shotgun barrel of a cop.

=======
VISUALS
=======

A wonderful job done with the visuals, most notably the games lighting (the sunset glistening on the sea, or shining in the camera, the shimmer of it against cars or glass, the reflection of headlights against the road) it all looks great, especially at night in conjunction with the neon signs and street lamps. The draw distance has been greatly increased making skyscrapers in the distance give a real sense that you're in a sprawling metropolis. Cars etc can be seen from quite a height too which is nice when in a plane. The weather effects are also improved and are enjoyable transitions to see take place, when the rain gets heavier the roads start to fill with puddles and water churns round the tires, looks great. The vehicles themselves look nice, the character models are fine and don't seem fake at any point. The animations especially like with Max Payne 3, are great so all good on the visuals front. But installing the GTA 5 playable disc can for some reason reduce texture performance so avoid doing that (R* said this on their twitter) The best testament to the visuals are standing on the dam, and looking down the mountain vista at the city, it's almost real looking.

==============
SOUND EFFECTS
==============

The radio stations are back and regardless of your music taste are well selected, suiting the mood of cruising down the street at night, there are modern tracks ranging from Elton John and Rhianna to Queens and 80's tracks. A genre missing is Metal disappointingly, but given everything else on offer it's a small preference based niggle. The games adverts, TV shows, dialogue are a lot of fun, and R* has quite a good sense of humor as before. The cars and vehicles sound authentic too, whether taking off with a burnout or smashing into something. (200 hours of real ambient audio was recorded from people's homes and real gangsters were used for some dialogue) There's also the character specific ambient music mentioned above which kicks in during intense moments (police pursuit namely) and are a great new feature.

=========
STORYLINE
=========

It's very good, mainly thanks to the great characters and the brilliant dialogue. Whereas GTA IV started off funny and quickly delved into repetitious boredom, GTA V manages to always surprise you and at times make you laugh in shock from (mainly Trevor's) outbursts. The ending isn't as much an impact as Red Dead Redemption, but it tidy's the game up nicely (depending on how you choose to finish the game) so overall an enjoyable singlplayer storyline.

===========
ONLINE MODE
===========

There was a number of bugs with this to be expected, and no one could really connect, but patches have been released now and the online is quite fun. 700 missions, 16 players, your own house, cars and crews. Plus room for much more updates offered by Rockstar, so all good on this front. The character creation isn't bad, albeit a little fiddly at first, will take a few minutes to make your character not look like a complete fool, or ugly. There are still server connection problems where for no reason you'll lose connection to xbox live (not with any other games) and also randomly be disconnected for no reason, frustrating but still a fun mode that'll pave the way for future games and content.

There's not much more to say, the storyline I will update upon completion, though so far its highly enjoyable with a good script. I have come across only one minor bug involving Michael's family standing on a chair, and a kitchen counter, don't know why, was a one off I think. The visuals are both the same on the xbox 360 and the PS3 having seen a direct comparison between the two.

The only real disappointment with this game is lack of an army wanted level. With a more realistic than ever game and army (tanks with functioning turrets, jeeps, etc) it seems a huge waste you cannot make them actually pursue you. It would've made for a better challenge than just police and swat/FIB.

To summarize, the game is brilliant, and definitely worth purchasing, it's on par with Skyrim easily (it has much less content and side quests, or characters who live a real life, but makes up for in attention to detail or realism) Also Gamestop did an offer where you can trade in 2 of 200 games on their list, they'll give you 35 refund. If the offer's still available, go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Truly Awesome Game - A Pure Joy!!!, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Ultan O'Brien (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
NOTE TO PARENTS BUYING THIS FOR CHRISTMAS: This is a game that truly deserves its 18 rating. It contains abundant amounts of graphical violence, indecent acts, profane language, and nudity. I hate to ruin your child's Christmas, but if you're concerned about game content for your kids (especially if they're under 18), you might want to think carefully about this purchase.

Now, that I got that out of the way ... this game is amazing!!! Rockstar (the developers) have done it again! The game is hugely expansive and takes in Blaine County as well as the city of Los Santos. The variety of activites on offer is truly insane. After a long day of wreaking carnage on the populous, stealing vehicles, and evading the law you can play a round of tennis, darts, drive around listening to the raido, fly a plane, or indulge in more adult activities. The choice is yours, literally. You'll never feel tied down to the story line, which is engaging and well worth playing through anyway.

Did I mention there's a stock market you can invest in in-game, and property and luxury vehices to buy?

You get to play three unique characters, which you can switch between freely for most of the game (unless constrained by storyline). It feels polished, and more importantly finished. It has been relatively bug free and even the few remaining bugs have been entertaining.

This game alone is worth 5 stars, but when you throw in the GTA Online access, 5 stars is unfortunately not enough. You get to create your own character (in a really interesting hereditary manner) and go wreak havoc with or, more usually, against other players. Its multiplayer GTA on a grand scale.

I've been playing the game since just after release and I've barely scratched the surface.

I truly can't recommend this game enough, it's fun, engaging, expansive, varied, and just a pure joy to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sending this generation of consoles out on a high!, 8 Oct 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
GTA V........surely at the top of every gamers "to buy list" of 2013. Did it deliver? I can happily say yes! This is probably (in my opinion) the best current gen title ever made. Every from the story, which is gripping with its multi perspective points of view from three playable characters, to it unbelievable sized map has been perfectly created to bring to us the pinicle of open world gaming. After completing the amazing story in around the 30 hour mark I am still no where near finished with this game. The sheer amount of side missions an random activities os enough to make another game in itself! Value for money? Without a doubt! I honestly cannot think of a single fault with this game. The graphics are really pushing these (nearing there end) consoles to there limits. And it looks simply beautiful. It would be easy to mistake this as next gen title it looks that good an handles so well. If you dont own this game then believe me now.....you need this in your life. It is pure perfection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
One of the best games ever, esp. with the online game play .
Prompt delivery.
If you liked any of the other rockstar games, then this is probably worth trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My boys are thrilled with this game and play it morning noon and night. they love the car chases and the graphics are fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Ever!, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
GTA V has to be the best game that I have played on my XBOX.

Obviously the graphics, plot and game play are amazing. The characters are believable and well scripted. Trevor is my favourite at the moment. I find him hilarious and disturbing at the same time. I love the fact that you can play as three people. It helps you to explore the huggge map better and get more out of the game.

There are many more things to do than on previous GTA's. I am having a lot of fun completing the 'Strangers and Freaks' missions and other activities such as the Street Races and Triathlons.

I am missing certain aspects of San Andreas such as the Robbery missions, where you could bur-gal peoples houses and stuff. That was really fun... but I am not missing it that much. There is too much stuff distracting me to worry about that.

The only thing I have found that annoys me is that when your Garages are full you have to remove a car to put another one in. I did this and when I got outside the car I wanted to place in the garage had disappeared. I now ensure I have extra room in case.

I have not yet completed the game but I think have nearly finished the main missions, I am definitely going to be playing it after I have finished the main missions. And I am waiting for online of course!

This is the best game ever!

I am adding this bit onto the review as I finished the game a while ago.

I still stand by my review and I will say again that this is the best game ever. Apart from the trouble with online at first, where I was tempted to play something else. However, online is now fixed and I love it again.

You can do missions online, rob stores, join crews and continue creating havoc as you did in GTA IV. I have not yet fully explored online and its options but I do like messing around with my friends on it.

The only thing that did annoy me about online is the fact it takes quite a while to do the tutorial and set up a character. Although the modifying your character option is a nice touch I don't think it should be a required, meaning you should be able to pick a random character like on GTA IV. But that is me just being really picky...

The tutorial seemed a bit pointless to me as I was dying to play online and explore but I can't complain too much as it is a nice touch for new players who have gone straight to online without playing the main campaign. Although, I do not know who would miss out on that experience.

Overall, I still stand by my rating and recommend this to anyone who loves GTA and wants to experience awesome game play - online or offline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest X-Box titles ever, 24 Sep 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
WARNING - ****** THIS GAME IS ULTRA ULTRA VIOLENT, WITH LOTS OF GRAPHIC SEXUAL CONTENT, BLOOD & TORTURE ******
*************This is not a game for children.
Anyone remember how much of a storm "Hot Coffee" created in GTA San Andreas ? Well you can forget that ! This game is hardcore !
It was one of the best weeks of gaming that I have ever had after installing this, (*see below !) then spending my first glorious week exploring this wonderfully detailed and interesting city.
*************INSTALL - there are 2 discs, the Install disc (Install that one) and the game disc (DO NOT INSTALL IT !) Additionally, very old X-Boxes have been reported to crash after the first mission, due to the size of the place !
Lots of technical tweaks make this one of the tightest, and cleanest gaming experiences to come out of Rockstar studios.
The graphics are stunning, especially across the vistas, and only the occasional render lets the whole experience down.
There are reportedly 5 times the number of pedestrians, all as vulgar and rude as their contemporaries, and the level of variety is staggering.
My first day was spent at a nice measured and uninterrupted pace, but I hadn't unlocked the third character until a good 6 or so hours had passed ! This game is huge !
Oh yes, unless you had been living in a box, there are 3 characters to play this time, each with their own special abilities and individual plot arcs.
Franklin is the usual zero to hero hoodlum, who follows the standard GTA anti-hero formula, trying to earn his way out of "the hood". He is the cars specialist and can slow down time whilst driving.
Michael is pretty much Ray Liotta's character at the end of Goodfellas movie. He has sold himself out to the Feds, and is bored out of his skull in a witness protection program. His broken family life make The Osbournes look like The Waltons. Michael is the combat expert, and can slow down time in gunfights to perfect those head-shots.
Then there is Trevor. Oh my word.
Trevor may singlehandedly be the cause for most of the uproar that will come from the volume of violence in this game. He is crazy, psychotic, rude, offensive and hilariously, deliciously funny ! It took a while for me to get used to him, (if that's actually possible!), but he has proven for me to be the most enjoyable character in a video game to play. Ever. He is great ! His special ability......nah ! You wait and see !
This trio of characters has really made GTA 5 into one of the greatest games ever made (and GTA online isn't out yet, included with the game !). As it was in previous games, your character's behavior would seem a bit random. One minute he's sensitive, another cautious, then next a full blown psycho. By having three distinctly different characters, the mood of a mission can fit into the three character's story arcs.
Franklin's is a cautious journey from street hood to full blown gangster, Michael has the world weariness of having seen it all before and Trevor just has a blast doing the complete opposite of what anyone would expect, in his gun happy, full throttle, gore splattered way.
Everything in GTA 5 has a purpose, a meaning, and a place. There is so much to do off mission, and like other open world classics such as Skyrim or Fallout, just remembering what to do without getting distracted is an achievement in itself.
For the money, this is the best game on the X-Box that you can buy. It's still not perfect, which gives me a feeling the next gen version will be something totally unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of the Year!, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
For a GTA game the story was brilliant. Normally after about 2 hours you can become detached from the characters. But in GTA V that doesn't happen. Having three protagonists means the action never stops. The voice acting is on point and the way the characters behave is sometimes comical. This game is worth the hype unlike other AAA titles. If you haven't already bought this game, beg or steal to get a copy. This should be at the top of every gamers christmas list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel 101 (Get this on to PC dammit!!!!), 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When it comes to making a fitfth installation of a game the best so far, rockstar writes the book on it. After all it is not all genres that generate the more excitement than it did when it was kicking ass 10 (yes ten) years ago. If we look at the Halos, The CODs even the battlefields we can see interest waining as the feeling of deja vu comes again and again. But yet GTA 5 seems immune to this, and it is no coincedence the developers have displayed another master class, and I will explain why.

I won't bother with the stero typical review, its all probably been done a hundred times over, all i will concentrate on is how RS has kept gamer coming back for more.!!

1. Building on foundations - Many condemn gta 4 to being a step back compared to SA as it was completely stripped down in comparison. I do not... San Andreas was an end of an era and an end of a generation, GT4 was a rebuilding of this in two key areas a. A new graphics and physics engine that needed to be be built and tested in small scale. b. The online system, a new entity in the GTA world and something that has to definitely be handled smaller before going large.
GTA 5 has used the GT4 foundations to build a behemoth. They have improved on practically every aspect. The scale of the game, the shooting physics, the driving physics and yes the online play.
Basically they have learnt there lesson on everything before and showed maturity in listening to what people feedback.

2. Using a wining formula - It is no coincidence GTA is the leading selling game EVER. it has happened before and it was exactly the same thing.... San Andreas... this was also the highest sold game at that time and it was exactly the same formula, Massive title released at the end of a consoles life (for maximum penetration). Both title offered everything its direct predessesors did and much much more.

3. Pain staking detail - This GTA world is not vibrant... it is literally alive, stand around a busy junction doing nothing for half an hour and youll see a torrent of comical events. Robberies, car jacking, police arrest and yes people having a hysterical and random conversations, I even got hit on the pavement by a hit and run.
Watch the sun set and youll see your shadow move with the sunlight, and the street lights flicker on with brilliant lighting effect. Graphics is not perfect as pop up aliasing still occurs but hey, it really squeezing the most out of this old machine.

4. Non spaming the franchise - Rockstar in most part does two things differently with there franchise than the CODS, Saints row etc. And those are not to flood the market with their franchise game and ensuring that what they do release is 100% quality.
In the age of DLC being used to finish off mediocre franchise releases since developers are under time frame pressure Roackstar take a step back, tell their publishers to stick there deadlines where the sun doesnt shine and go about making the best game they possibly can, if only more people did this gaming would be in a much better place.

5. Doing something new - Well the heist element of the game the game is actually not new, it is something that came from the vegas robbery heist in San Andreas. But now it has been brought to the fore front. And what a fantastic thing too. There is nothing better than putting a plan together for it to culminate into a perfectly executed master plan. The system of choices (whether you choose the crap working colleagues that will mess up or the good ones that won't) is slightly too simplistic but the overall issue is fantastic.

SO other developer, get your pen out and take note. If you want your franchise to still generate the hype it had from before then this is how to do it. Its not rocket science, it is just simple things done well and love poured into the work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING AND FANTASTIC!, 30 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the BEST GTA EVER! The graphics are amazing and so real looking the map is huge, the characters are funny! Funnier than even previous ones have been. The usual foul (funny) language is there, the story mode is there the music on the radio stations is fab too..there is just so much to do and explore. I haven't even got to the Trevor part yet, I can't wait! :)

Driving up the mountain at night just looks incredible. The panoramic view is A-MAZING! I used to think GTA4 was superb but this just blows the others away in my opinion.

The ONLY one gripe I have is game-freeze. It froze once on the game mission ''Complications'' with Franklin, and I have a Xbox Slim with a big memory on it. Not a big deal, but it may become annoying if it keeps happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2126 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25c51c)

This product

Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360)
Grand Theft Auto V (Xbox 360) by Rockstar Games (Xbox 360)
29.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews