Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE RETURN OF THE BIG BANDS........
Lets be honest,supergroups are like chocolate teapots,a waste of time and the dont survive very long,so most are(rightly) treated with suspicion.These boys however buck that trend and might actually just survive,flourish and go onto to bigger and better things

Having seen them,in the flesh.in Glasgow last year,i was looking forward to this,its worth the...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Mr Blackwell

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst record in years
I bought this as a huge Joe Bonamassa fan. I wish I hadn't its dreadful it has no redeeming features at all. Joe should stick to what he's good at and leave the Whitesnake impressions to others. If you like Joe Bonamassa dont buy this it will shatter all your illusions and the tuneless racket will probably give you a headache!
Published 21 months ago by Bunny


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE RETURN OF THE BIG BANDS........, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
Lets be honest,supergroups are like chocolate teapots,a waste of time and the dont survive very long,so most are(rightly) treated with suspicion.These boys however buck that trend and might actually just survive,flourish and go onto to bigger and better things

Having seen them,in the flesh.in Glasgow last year,i was looking forward to this,its worth the wait,from the opening intro to the last crashing chords of Purple's Burn,this is a superb release,tracks such as 'Black Country' and Beggarman' which,for me,on the debut,were ok,lacklustre,sound alive,more developed and completely enhanced in the live arena.Highlights are plentiful,truth be told there isnt really a weak moment,other fab tracks would be 'Crossfire','Cold','Song of Yesterday' while 'Burn' just leaves you breathless wanting more

All 4 members are on fire and at the top of their game,actually this really is a band,not a collective of superstars and ego's,i've listened a couple of times now,i keep getting an over riding sense of Deep Purple,the whole performance sparkles and evokes memories of the 70's big bands,especially Purple,at long last Hughes has found a home for his talent,here's hoping this is the start of a great run with this band and not a putting to bed,given their other careers,Bonamassa specifically.

Sound quality pretty decent,i assume(not having seen the dvd,its a straight audio lift),i do hanker slightly for the days when producers knew how to record drums,i would have loved this even more had Bonhams drums been a little louder/higher in the mix,but thats a small negative,this is a great release and well worth investing in.

ps my copy lists 'i see your spirit' as opening disc 2 but is actually on disc 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the best ... live, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
Both studios albums are fantastic. But this double live CD is more than the sum of its parts: the best songs, the live feel (although the public is hardly heard), the perfect SOUND, and an incredible energy transmitted directly from Glenn Hughes and all. Bonham drums are thunder. Bonamassa is ... god once again. Sherinian is a bit low key. The whole thing is Amazing. One of the best live albums I have ever heard, and I have thousands of CDs. Plus, cherry on the cake, an amazing live version of "burn", where Glenn shows he still has it all, intact, and Bonamassa quietly but surely impersonates Blackmore with his personal zest. MUST HAVE ALBUM, TOTALLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Live Album from Black Country Communion, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe [VINYL] (Vinyl)
To be honest, I never expect much from live albums. However, "Live Over Europe", is one of the exceptions. Sound quality: Great! Songs: Great! This truly is a supergroup in every sense of the word. Glenn's singing is fantastic as is his bass playing. Before BCC, I'd only heard Joe Bonnamasa doing the blues albeit very good blues. Derek Sherinian is just an amazing keyboard player. And then there's Jason Bonham. He is every bit the drummer his father was and then some. All of the songs are top notch and then the piece de resistance, a blistering cover of "Burn". I'm playing this album at least once a day. Nice to hear Glenn so obviously happy in this setting. Pick it up, you won't be sorry. And if you can find it on vinyl, even better. Cheers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BCC - Live Over Europe, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
Bought the two studio albums so no surprises on here. However if you've seen the band live you'll get a good reminder of how good they are as musicians. The cd gives you a good feel of being at a concert. If you haven't seen them then buy this and you'll hear what you missed. A good opportunity to get a couple of Joe Bonamasa tracks. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BCC live, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
One of the great new bands in rock for sometime. All the individuals can play there own parts and really come together as a strong rock band. Long live BCC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a magnificent live album...., 11 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
....a wonderfully paced live concert album that captures the excitement and virtuosity of this modern day 'supergroup'.Let's all hope they are 'built to last'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I So Wanted To Love This.......!, 9 Mar 2012
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
With the exception of the opening track of the first album, I loved the maiden issue from this (so called) supergroup. The follow up, wasn't bad, but for me, was too Zepplinesque and therefore derivative....so now we come to this Live double CD offering which I really, really wanted to love, but find myself just a little bit disappointed.
The opening "overture" sets a false mood in that everything sounds fine and clear but, once we get into "Black Country", that's when the problems begin - the sound being a little muddy, which is strange because Bonham's drums have clarity, so does Sherinian's keyboards but Bonamassa's guitar seems to be a little low down in the mix and has a bit of a muffled sound......as does Hughes's bass (and maybe just slightly out on it's tuning(?) - and as for the vocals...well, they don't have quite the edge that I've come to expect over many years of listening to the man - but again, is this down to the mix....I am no sound engineer, but I know what sounds good and what sounds bad....and this falls somewhere in between the two!
The band themselves certainly seem to be enjoying themselves, as do the crowd, and in fairness, it probably was a better sound experience on the night than this recording bears witness to.
If you're into electric rock with a blues tinge...this will doubtless already be in your collection or on your wishlist - and that's all fine and dandy, just bear in mind that this is not the finest of recordings and doubtless most won't care...but for me, if you are going to put out a live one, then make sure that the sound is good - after all if Bonamassa can put out live recordings of the calibre of "From Nowhere In Particular" then why can the "quality control" department not use the same yardstick when it comes to one from BCC?
BUT, for the price, this is a VFM album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 5 Mar 2012
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
I have never written a review on here before but after hearing this album today I felt obliged to spread the word. This is quite simply one of the most amazing live albums I have ever heard. I would easily put it alongside the greats like made in Japan and live and dangerous. Buy it now. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLack Country, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
It follows the year I ''discover'' this great group they disband.. Still I can enjoy this CD and the few others released to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 'supergroup' that is worth the title, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Over Europe (Audio CD)
Having come to this BCC album as a Joe Bonamassa fan I saw a 1* review on Amazon from a Joe fan who didn't like it, but I have to beg to differ. It is not a typical album for him - but if you look at who the 3 other group members are it was never going to be. It is hard rock with a blues edge. Great guitar, great drums, great vocal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaeb0cd44)

This product

Live Over Europe
Live Over Europe by Black Country Communion (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews