Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars212
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2012
Thought the first two were awesome but thought the third noticeably drifted away from what made the first two special.

For American Pie 4, saw it last night and the viewing I was going to see was sold out abuot 45mins before the film started so got tickets for a later viewing. Even at the last viewing the screen was still busy.

I was excited to see them all back together, but I didn't know what to expect. I know Hollywood loves destroying sequels and I didn't know how they were going to create a story line out of characters that really haven't been together in forever.

Fear not. I though this movie was almost as good as the original. Two hours of non-stop cracking-up, but none of it was forced. They brought back all the characters, but in a way that didn't seem thrown together or in-genuine. It was about 2 hours long, but not once did I think this was dragging. They did a nice job explaining where everyone has been and it didn't really seem awkward.

The best part of it is, the story is about all 5 of the original guys, and their relationship with women and sex at their current juncture (31 years old). Each have their own issues (too married, have kids, hate their jobs, hate their lifestyle, etc.) and the movie is kind of about them all resolving their that over the course of a reunion weekend. It's the American Pie which is most similar too the first one. All the old couples from high-school (Oz/Heather, Kevin/Vicky, Jim/Michelle) re-hash their past feelings.

Another great thing about the film is that Stifler's character is written back in the style of American Pie 1 and 2, which I loved. His part is not over bearing like the Wedding. Kevin, Finch (and Oz) play much bigger roles than they did they did in the third.

There a couple new characters but none of them are annoying or take up too much of the story, all those parts are well cast. Jim's Dad and Stifler's Mom are hilarious on screen together. Jim's Dad is the funniest he has ever been- but again- not in an over the top way. All in all, it's a well-written, well-rounded film with some good plot twists. Tons of references too the old films. Literally, all of the obscure characters from the first two make an appearance at some point.

If you are a fan of the American Pie films (especially 1 & 2) your going to LOVE this movie.
11 comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Surely no-one goes into the cinema expecting this movie to be as good as the original, (because obviously it isn't). That said if you enjoyed the first three instalments you should still enjoy, "American Pie - Reunion."

Its caught pretty much all the original cast, (that I can think of anyway). They mostly look the same, (I won't be rude here) and the majority of the gang have settled down except for Steve, "Stiffler," who perhaps has even regressed! (He is still behaving like a high school student and perhaps in some respects hasn't sold out).

There are, (of course) some funny threads, one such involving Jim and his former neighbour, (now aged eighteen) who he used to babysit. (She takes a particular shine to him).

It doesn't waiver much from its proven formula and there's a lot of misunderstandings and wrong goings on!

Perhaps its a film for younger people now, (the cinema was full of young people) but I'm sure people who watched the original will still enjoy this part of the franchise.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
At first I thought this was going to be an attempt at making some more money and getting the very most out of the characters, but it turned out to be an extremely hilarious slice of pie!

Enjoyed every second of it and was hurting with laughter by the end of it, if you enjoyed the first few you might just consider this one even better, a must see!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
Now, you have probably read other reviews about this film but I have to say this, it really is a great film.
Whatever you do, do not think this is another stand alone " American Pie Presents " film because it is not, it is a true sequel to the original trilogy and one thing that stood out was the cast, not there acting or anything like that, just the cast. Every main and side charcter with any relevance to the series was there, I was happy reading the cast list because there were a few members of the cast that were absent in 2 and 3, which kind of made this film feel like a true reunion and what a reunion it was.
Stifler was still the moronic jock he was in highschool and in a way, hadn't changed, he truly was the Stifmeister which really made the film great for me.
Jim was still his..... well, to be honest, he still is that awkward guy from the originals that usually gets into some kind of mess the guys need to help him with [ super glued hand to balls in 2, try's to get a drunk, naked 18 year old girl back to bed with her father downstairs ] which is always funny.
Kevin is a stay at home dad/architect which means he gets ribbings from the guys about being the wife of the house because his wife brings in the money and obviously he has to deal with Vicky, his ex, who is quite nice.
Finch plays himself out to be a man of culture and knowledge who travels the world with adventure in site but actually is just a guy who steals a motorbike from his boss at staples.
Oz is a rich sports telecaster with a promiscuous model girlfriend and doesn't know waht to do with is life and his ex.
So, the main guys are great as always, married life is really portrayed in the films openings with a more than teasing starter of a bouncing bed which is basically just Michelle rocking the baby in her arms with Jim next to her doing work on his computer and it goes on to show the guys lives now.
I can't do this review without mentioning one of my favourite couples in the film, is it Jim and Michelle, Kevin and Vicky, Os and Heather, Stifler and Finch's mum [ yeah, thats right, PAYBACK ] Well, it is none of these, it is the Milf bros, they had an argument and lost contact but in this they rekindle their friendship whilst chanting milf with tears in there eyes hugging as they watch Stifler and Finch's mum on the football field going at it.
The film was great and really showed how they had grown at the start of the film and regressed into their former teenage selves.
Sadly, there time had to end, but with this Blu-Ray, you can relive the reunion of the decade that is, American Reunion [ or American Pie : Reunion for those who never knew this film was being made last year and has just jumped on the bandwagon and has never seen any of the original trilogy ]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Now that the gang are older and have had some experience in the real world, their characters have also slightly changed, though not dramatically. Instead of being all about the humour and crude jokes, this film does try to add in something a little more meaningful throughout. Unfortunately though, this does take away from the smooth running of the plot and makes it feel a little disjointed at times. The more dramatic moments take away from what this film should have been - a pure comedy. I didn't mind these moments too much though but I don't think that they were particularly needed.

Although the characters are older, some of them are still as immature, Stifler in particular. Where the other characters have grown up, gotten real jobs and lives, Stifler is still the same man he was thirteen years ago. Many of the jokes in this film do revolve around Stifler and his 'I can do what I want and get away with it' attitude and while they were funny, there didn't need to be as many. I do love Seann William Scott as an actor though and he is really funny in any role that he takes on so it was nice to see him go back to one of his most famous roles.

When it comes to the rest of the cast, I was slightly disappointed with some of the character development. Kevin, played by Thomas Ian Nicholas was seriously disappointing. Kevin is now a stay at home architect that is devoted to his wife and watching girly TV shows. Honestly, his character was so boring that I wish he hadn't been included in the film again. I didn't particularly like him the first time around though as he just wasn't as fun as the other characters and this hasn't changed over time. However, it was nice to see him and Tara Reid on screen together again. Jim and Michelle, played by Jason Biggs and Alyson Hannigan respectively, will always be my favourites of these films. In reunion, they are obviously married but now with a child. I loved the different situations that these characters found themselves in and they were just as funny as in previous films. Both actors do a fantastic job in reprising their roles and I am so thankful that they both signed on to do this film.

American Pie - Reunion doesn't really bring anything new or original to the big screen but it is still really, really funny. The gags are somewhat predicable for the most part but that doesn't take anything away from the humour. It takes quite a lot to make me laugh out loud at the cinema but this film made that happen numerous times and the other people in the cinema joined me in doing so. I think, for fans of the series of a whole, then this film will be a hit. If you didn't like the other films too much then you are probably not going to like this one either. I loved it though and was really glad that I went to see it instead of waiting for it to be released on DVD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2012
first the bluray bit, Audio is fabulous with clever mix of HD soundtrack and the filmed audio... the transfer is good but not great, there are a few scenes that are a bit grainy and occasionally the background colour and detail gets a bit washed out, but this may be a limitation of the cameras used to film, not sure really. secondly the film itself,,, its funny but not as funny as the first and third films but its has a warmth that is not present in previous films and its a different beast entirely. The gentle script and pace of the film was a surprise but this is to its benefit. They could not make a 4th film in the same vein as the previous installments and bravo for being brave enough to trust the fans of these films. Granted some of the character development is a bit clumsy for the minor characters and it does at times have a "cameo" feel to some scenes but thats a minor gripe. This is a great movie....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
The Reunion is funny but it brings nothing new. You get the same type of humor as seen in the previous American Pie movies. The same awkward talks between Jim and his dad and the boys are getting in trouble as before.

I liked that the producers kept the old gang intact and the fans still can enjoy watching Jim, his dad, Michelle, Kevin, Oz, Finch, Stifler and Stifler's mom.

The film has a lot of hilarious moments and Jim gets himself in trouble again when he tries to safely bring back home his eighteen years old, former neighbour who has a huge crush on him.

In conclusion: a good comedy with lots of funny moments. If you enjoyed the other films from the series do not miss this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
As I have all the previous American Pie movies (including the American Pie Presents: ... series) I couldn't wait to go and see this movie in the cinema, and it didn't disappoint. It was nice to see all the original cast members from the first two movies.

I would recommend to any one who has seen any of the other movies. Still packed with laughs and fun. I also think that the ending to this movie perhaps hints at another movie to be made .... (there is only so many of these films they can make before they get a bit boring and reptitive) but I think that another would be a good idea to call it an end at.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Over a decade has passed and the gang return to East Great Falls, for the weekend.

They discover how their lives have developed as they gather for their high school reunion.

Has life treated Michelle, Jim, Heather, Oz, Kevin, Vicky, Finch, Stifler, and Stifler's mom the same as it did back in 1999? In that summer, it was four boys on a quest to lose their virginity.

Now the girl Jim used to babysit is a cute high school senior looking for the perfect guy to lose her virginity to......

The first thing you do is marvel at how the film makers have got literally everyone back one more time. Then you realise that not everyone in the film has had much success since (William Scott is probably the most famous now) and then you realise how little a lot of the cast have screen time.

The film is about nostalgia, but the primary goal is to show the strain on Jim and Michelles marriage.

They go back to basics with the humour, and most of the time, the jokes fall sadly flat. It appears to be pretty mundane stuff, until the actual reunion happens in the final third, and it really makes up for the blandness of the first two acts.

Elizabeth, Reid, and the guy who plays Sherminator, didn't have to be in it, they bring nothing to the film apart from 'ooh look how different they look'.

But if the rest of the film were like the last act, it would have been a classic comedy.

The final act saves the movie, it will make you cheer, and even bring a tear to your eye
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
Okay, so i'm gonna say this.
I have not seen this film since it was out at the cinema, which was a fair while, i went to see it on Opening Night and i LOVED IT!.
I found the second American Pie quite disappointing. Because it felt like it had been done for money purposes and was't really funny!.

But with this one, it did't feel like that. It was actually Ten Years later, They were actually older and seemed like they had't seen each other in real life for a while.

It starts out with Jim doing what he did ten years earlier but instead of his dad walking in, his Son walks in and it goes on with them all having there own lives but meeting the ones they fancied in High School.

Oz has a job he always wanted but a girlfriend he does't really love, up turns Heather with a Jackass boyfriend ten years later and surprise surprise Oz falls back in love with her.

It continues with a load more hilarious gag's such as Jim in the kitchen with a see through Pan and Stifler with some high school girls.

They may be older, but they are still exactly the same as they were 10 Years before.

Brilliant, what a way to finish the Series!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)