Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever
As we have all come to expect: this is yet another example of Ani Difranco's undeniable genius shining through. Fans of her epic symphony-orchestra work may be a little disappointed, but if you're like me and prefer her gentle late-90s/early 00's material then you will adore this. I think it is probably most comparable to Up Up Up Up Up Up, what with it's soft but deep...
Published on 16 Aug. 2006 by Alice

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lost the plot years ago
It's almost impossible to believe that this tuneless, self-indulgent drivel has come from the same person who gave us groundbreaking, awesome albums such as Not A Pretty Girl, Dilate and LPC. There's been plenty of dross albums from Ani of late but they have always been rescued, to a varying extent, by a couple of gems. But there's nothing here at all - just a painful...
Published on 14 Oct. 2006 by realmusic4me


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 16 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Reprieve (Audio CD)
As we have all come to expect: this is yet another example of Ani Difranco's undeniable genius shining through. Fans of her epic symphony-orchestra work may be a little disappointed, but if you're like me and prefer her gentle late-90s/early 00's material then you will adore this. I think it is probably most comparable to Up Up Up Up Up Up, what with it's soft but deep bass-lines and subtle but cutting lyrics.

Strong fans will remember her comment on Living In Clip about Righteous Babe girls complaining "what happened to your politics?" and moaning that her lyrics were becoming too personal and emotional. Her last album focussed massively on her (then) recent divorce, but those RB girls will be glad to see Ani returning to her vicious verbal political attacks on Reprieve. The word 'Reprieve' itself means "to cancel or postpone the punishment of" and Ani Difranco has been involved in a lot of work to destroy the death penalty in America, speaking on anti-death-penalty DVDs and often condemning the practice. This entire album is massively concerned with political issues such as that, from environmental issues to the death penalty to peace-making to (and yes, there is a little of it) women's struggles.

After struggling not so long ago with a damaged wrist, it is good to see Ani Difranco back and writing songs as breath-taking as she always has done. One of her best offerings to date and a must for all fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yup, once again, I'm hypnotised, 15 April 2007
By 
bugrit (North Yorks) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reprieve (Audio CD)
This is the recipe as before with Ani singing her songs the way she wrote them. Ms DiFranco combines a singing and songwriting talent that has the confidence to strip itself naked before it even contemplates asking you to listen. After that, the songs go on to tell you everything you could ever want to know about their writer but it's not what you might call "heart on sleeve" stuff. It's more plain speaking and Ani telling things like she sees them.

There aren't many artistes that can do that as effectively as Ani DiFranco does.

Buy this album, just because it's magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Challenging but rewarding..., 5 Nov. 2006
By 
This review is from: Reprieve (Audio CD)
This is a little less accessible than other Di FRanco albums but I urge you to listen to it twice. There is so much to unravel in these compositions. Give it time, you will love it as much as the rest of the catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and haunting, 24 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reprieve (Audio CD)
Beautiful and haunting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing album from Ani, 15 Aug. 2006
By 
R. Wright "Crazylilfairy" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reprieve (Audio CD)
I only got this album today, I have been looking forward to it coming out and I am not disappointed. Its a little softer than dilate but it has some fab songs and her usual poems

I recommend Ani difranco to anyone who hasn't listened to her. If you have not heard an ani album try Little Plastic Castle or dilate, both are brilliant introductions to one of the best female artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lost the plot years ago, 14 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Reprieve (Audio CD)
It's almost impossible to believe that this tuneless, self-indulgent drivel has come from the same person who gave us groundbreaking, awesome albums such as Not A Pretty Girl, Dilate and LPC. There's been plenty of dross albums from Ani of late but they have always been rescued, to a varying extent, by a couple of gems. But there's nothing here at all - just a painful lack of the melody, energy, beauty and spikiness that enfused her earlier work. This is an insult to her fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reprieve
Reprieve by Ani Difranco
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews