Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent HD storage choice but a bit bulky and expensive
This case holds 6 3,5 hard disks and 3 2,5 ones. While I'm happy with the purchase I have to say there are a few drawbacks. One is that the case is a bit big for what it is. It could have been smaller. Secondly, there are only 6 hard disk bags for 3,5 HDs in the case and none for the 2.5 ones - I don't really get why. Anyway, the quality of the case is good, I think the...
Published 19 months ago by MICHAEL G. PANAYIOTAKIS

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Aluminium' box.
Ever since Apple started making computers with aluminium cases, 'Aluminium' has become a word used to describe just about any computer related item that is incased in something light grey and apparently metallic regardless of what it is actually made of. The same is true of this Hard Drive protection case which is actually a metal framed case with grey plastic panels. Is...
Published 13 months ago by Tired Techie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Aluminium' box., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Ever since Apple started making computers with aluminium cases, 'Aluminium' has become a word used to describe just about any computer related item that is incased in something light grey and apparently metallic regardless of what it is actually made of. The same is true of this Hard Drive protection case which is actually a metal framed case with grey plastic panels. Is this a problem? Probably not, and many would argue that a solid aluminium case would probably vastly inflate the price above and beyond what anyone would want to spend on a box to hold hard drives. Besides at thirty-ish pounds for a plastic box with foam in it, the price is already pretty inflated.

On the packaging, this is actually described as a HDD transport box and using all my cunning I deduced this was down to the presence of a plastic handle which makes it great for carrying around or 'transporting' but not so good for stacking up ontop of another similar box for storage. Not that you'd necessarily want to because the top of the case doesn't have much foam padding and the drives stick out a bit from their foam encasing. Combine that with thin plastic on the top which couldn't really deflect anything heavy and if you were unlucky enough for something sharp/heavy to hit the top of your box, you could be in trouble. This is unlikely, but considering this is a box for multiple (and presumably important enough to protect) HDDs, in other words, a slightly protected basket to put all your eggs in, you might be a bit disappointed the box isn't better. They COULD have actually used aluminium or at least thicker plastic. They COULD have used an extra layer of foam with cut outs for the disks so that all the disks are surrounded, not just the bottom 3/4. They DO give you a set of Anti-static bags to put your drives in (nice touch) so it wouldn't have been a huge job to a put a few tabs on these bags so you could easily pull your drives out of the extra padding. They COULD have even used a handle that folded away flush in an inset so you could actually stack the box or at least put something a little hardier on top of it.

But I'm quibbling here. The box is okay. It has nice, satisfying clasps to close the box securely and make you feel like you're transporting something rather more exotic and interesting than a bunch of hard drives. It's better than other Icy Box products I've bought (though follows the same pattern of costing rather more than it really should).

Go for it if you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent HD storage choice but a bit bulky and expensive, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
This case holds 6 3,5 hard disks and 3 2,5 ones. While I'm happy with the purchase I have to say there are a few drawbacks. One is that the case is a bit big for what it is. It could have been smaller. Secondly, there are only 6 hard disk bags for 3,5 HDs in the case and none for the 2.5 ones - I don't really get why. Anyway, the quality of the case is good, I think the disks are adequately protected (don't expect too much though - this isn't shock-proof!) and provides a solution to store you disks instead of leaving them around unprotected.

Ah, yes, it could have been cheaper as well. Nearly 40 pounds for a simple case is way too much to ask. I had to buy one since I couldn't find another solution for storing my disks and I haven't regretted it but still..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says. Top foam a bit thin., 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Does what it says, holds quite a lot of disks and seems to protect them pretty well. My only concern is the foam on the lid, which is quite thin and is all that's protecting that end of the disks.

Will only hold bare drives, don't expect to get drives in hot-swap caddies or similar in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great solution for spare hard drive storage, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
I purchased this item from another online store but wanted to write my thoughts as it really has helped me out, I was looking for a hard drive storage case for a while only finding bags that took one or two disks, I work in both an office and from home so have a hard disks i need to move between the two. This product is great for this because not only does it fit 3.5" drives there is space for 2.5" as well and it also comes with handy anti static bags to keep the hdd's extra safe. The price/quality ratio seems very good to me as normally aluminium cases like this are very expensive. All in all a great solution for storage or transport of hard disks, a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap..., 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mike Valeriani (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
I don't think I've ever see a product as cheap as this! Plastic handle, it makes you wonder if it will hold the full wait, or if it's going to snap. Surely it won't last for long. One of the two locks won't stay locked. Basically I don't think it's worth £31. It feels like it was made in China for less than a pound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but missing some key features, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
In the absence of any other similar product, I read the reviews & ordered one anyway....simply because I have several spare HDs cannibalised from redundant/obsolete PCs.

The product contents says "9x anti-static bags", but as others have said, there are only 6, clearly for the 6 3.5" drives....can't be that hard to provide 3 x 2.5" ones?

The absence of a lock for the box seems a glaring omission, if you're going to use this to transport drives....can't cost much to fit one to MkII, surely? The catches don't even allow you to use a wee padlock/cable lock to secure it. The catches aren't exactly tight, either...I'd certainly not carry this by the handle on the lid....if it opens, your drives are (shattered) toast!

However, all I want it for is to store 6-9 drives safely, away from dust & knocks, so for me it's still adequate for that task.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Solution, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
An excellent internal HDD storage solution. Definitely provides peace of mind!

A few issues;

1) Case comes with 6 anti-static bags for the 3.5 inch HDD slots, but none for the 2.5 inch slots.
2) The foam padding in the lid of the case is rather on the thin side, so probably wouldn't take a dramatic fall all that well.
3) The catches which secure the lid feel somewhat flimsy and easily unfasten. It would definitely benefit from having something a little more heavy duty.

Overall a great product for general travel and protection, though probably wouldn't stand up to any vigorous action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Study, 17 Jan 2012
By 
Max Ellis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Nice bit of kit. Stops me worrying about how knocked about my drives are getting. Comes with antistatic bags that fit very snugly about the drive. Bought it to use in conjunction with the icy box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated by others, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
This protection case is of comparable build quality to similarly priced flight cases for camera and electronic equipment, which are made of similar materials - certainly not aluminium panels.Whereas such cases typically have quite soft segmented foam, the padding in this case is more robust, so it is unlikely to break down under duress and the drives within will remain separated. Thus it is good and fit for purpose. It is not described as a fireproof safe and it is not a substitute for off-site backups!

What lets it down and loses a star are the latches which are not stiff enough to be reassuring and the absence of locks on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icy Box IB-AC626 Aluminium Protection Case for 3.5 and 2.5 inch HDD (Accessory)
Unlike some of the other reviewers, I don't find this to be pricey. It's a good quality case and has saved me from storing my spare used and new drives in old cardboard boxes. I repair PCs on-site and this adds an air of professionalism that you simply can't match with cardboard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews