Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story...Different Concept...Enjoyable Read
The Light Within Me by Carly Fall is a paranormal romance story, the first of six novels about The Six Saviours.

Noah is a man with a mission, one that has quite literally taken over his life, for years. Leaving his home, his family and everything he's known, to travel far away with five of his warrior brethren, to recapture 12 of the most dangerous men on...
Published 7 months ago by M. Skerritt

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Potential
First off: hooray! This is NOT a book about vampires. However, it does have the gang of six incredibly hunky males, that somehow populate most vampire/demon series.

The story follows Abby, a crime scene reporter, who asks to interview private detective Noah - who happens to also be the leader of a group of aliens, sent to earth a couple of hundred years ago, to...
Published 20 months ago by T. B.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story...Different Concept...Enjoyable Read, 29 April 2014
By 
M. Skerritt "onemorechapter" (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The Light Within Me by Carly Fall is a paranormal romance story, the first of six novels about The Six Saviours.

Noah is a man with a mission, one that has quite literally taken over his life, for years. Leaving his home, his family and everything he's known, to travel far away with five of his warrior brethren, to recapture 12 of the most dangerous men on Earth.

Abby has never felt like she fitted in, anywhere. She has a job, an apartment and a cat, and she's desperately lonely. Her mother died when she was just 10, and with no family around, she was taken to an orphanage. She worked hard, went to college, but she was just going through the motions, never quite feeling like she was living, purely existing.

Then she has a chance meeting with Noah, and the overwhelming feeling of contentment and safety envelopes her in his presence, and her life begins to change, but is it for the better?

Noah's meeting with Abby was not a wise decision, but it would be the best decision he ever made, if only he could keep the warrior within him at bay, and choose to live and love.

I really enjoyed reading The Light Within Me, it's a fascinating read with strong characters all round. The concept of aliens living amongst us on Earth, and being around us without us knowing is intriguing. The fact that these beings are here for a purpose, helping to protect humans from pure evil is also a great concept.

The love story that ensues between Noah and Abby is lovely. They have an immediate warmth and attraction to each other, yet their characters remain true to themselves whilst forming a new bond together. Both characters share an innocence within their new relationship that makes it all the more endearing.

The other characters within the book are all crucial to the story. The relationship between the Warriors is based on trust and the knowledge that they can't go home until the mission is complete; and even then the return home is not guaranteed.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend The Light Within Me by Carly Fall, I'd say it's a 4 star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars romance, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This was a wonderful to read,it was a brilliant price,very well written with a great storyline..I would recommend to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book and story as a stand alone story and enjoyed the theme..I'm looking forward to the other saviors stories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Aliens? NO!, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am glad it was free otherwise I would have really hated paying for this mess.

The characters are awful- the language what the writing thinks a man would say has so many curse words in every other word in a single sentence is unbelievable.

The heroine with her woe-is-me I am so different but I have never made a real effort to do anything about annoyed me to no end.

The thing is this could have been interesting and good but it just wasn't done well.

If you like the whole paranormal romance with the woe-is-me female character and the sexy mysterious bad boy then yeah read. If you want something with more then don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'll be reading the rest in the series now..., 24 Sep 2013
By 
Stella (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well, that was a nice surprise. This was downloaded earlier in the year as a kindle freebie and a lot of times with the free ones you get what you pay for, but this one was pretty good.

I was a bit concerned going into it as it it had a definite 'Brotherhood' feel to it. I thought it was going to be like the BDB series which I really didn't like and I only made it through the first one of those but I shouldn't have worried, it was fine. One of the similarities that got me fretting were the 'Saviors' themselves. Six of them, Alien Warriors in human form, each taller and more pumped full of testosterone than the next. Living together in a secret silo underground and only venturing out to fight crime and rarely to mingle with the mere humans. Turns out they were actually kind of likeable and I'm looking forward to finding out more about them in the rest of the series.

For those that hate insta-love I'd steer clear of this one as there's plenty of that and if you don't like your leading men to be cavemen types I'd give it a wide berth on that score too... Me? I'm not keen on the "Me man, you woman. Assume the position" muscle bound hero's but Noah wasn't toooo much of that. He got a bit over-dramatic with the 'she's mine' carry on at times but he was really just a big lug and it didn't get on my nerves as much as it usually does.

Any mention of their home planet and customs and language and mostly anything at all to do with that part of the story didn't really ring true and I started to question the mechanics of it all so I tried not to dwell on those bits too much as it was pulling me out of the story. It was just the planet-y stuff I glossed over though, the actual Saviors were interesting in how they differed from humans. I really liked how that was done.

Verdict? The story was good, I liked Noah and Abby and I'll definitely work my way through the rest of the series. I'm just hoping the vampires that were mentioned in passing will get a little more page time, I'd be interested to see how they fit in to it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising good read, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded the book by accident and toyed with the idea of removing it, as it was not my normal genre that I would read. Glad I never removed and took a chance and actually read it.
I liked the story, it read well, the author had a tendency to repeat information and include extra information that I thought was not necessary and only suffice to extend the book. Where this happened, I skipped the paragraph(s). Hence why I gave it only 4 *. Not sure if I'm drawn to continue reading the other books in the series, due to the problems I've stated above. It was free, so from that point of view I would recommend the book to a friend, however I would not have paid for this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent free read, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Others have given the synopsis, here is my opinion

This was an excellent free read and the first book of a series of 6 books.

The characters are strong and the story engages you very quickly and draws you in. I really enjoyed this first book and will buy others in the series.

If you like your romance wrapped up with some suspense, a bit of Good vs evil and some great characters, then read and enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new author for me to follow - yipee!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am amazed at this book being free, but think it's a brilliant strategy because like many other people I guess, I downloaded it on the basis that if it was rubbish I'd not lost anything. There's no point in my rehashing plot details as other reviewers and the synopsis have already covered that: let me just say, it's great.

A light read, but well plotted and developed, with characters that are really likeable and a relationship that's romantic, while the "sex scenes" aren't particularly graphic and not over long. If like me you hate soft porn ruining an otherwise good story (go buy erotica if that's what you want is my motto) then this book will be just up your street - the sexual encounters are brief and germane to the storyline development and the story itself never runs out of steam. I've bought the following 5 books already because I enjoyed this one so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong Potential, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
First off: hooray! This is NOT a book about vampires. However, it does have the gang of six incredibly hunky males, that somehow populate most vampire/demon series.

The story follows Abby, a crime scene reporter, who asks to interview private detective Noah - who happens to also be the leader of a group of aliens, sent to earth a couple of hundred years ago, to neutralise some escapee prisoners/bad-guys from their home planet. Abby and Noah are instantly attracted to each other, but Noah's got a bit of an issue with commitment, what with being an alien and all. Oh yeah, and if he falls in love, his life expectancy drops to normal human range, instead of 2,000 years or so.

Anyway, while on earth, the aliens have adopted human form. The baddies are serial killers and worse. The good guys live undercover, hunting them down. (A minor issue I had, was that to illustrate just how nasty the bad-guy-aliens are, we are supposed to believe that they were, in human form, Jack the Ripper, Charles Manson, Saddam Hussein, etc. etc. I was uncomfortable with this, and I don't think it was necessary. ) After 200 years, the goodies are now closing in on bad guy #7, in Reno... who is, in turn, closing in on Abby...

The writing is okay and the storyline quite engaging, though my attention did wander a little (more character depth, or tighter editing needed, I'm not sure). I suspect I've been spoilt by some of the more mainstream offerings around: will maybe buy from this author in the future since I suspect that, with a little more under the belt, they could deliver a very good read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok for some but ......, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Light Within Me (Six Saviors Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Well. I've tried to get into this book but it just didn't work. First off, there were too many inconsistencies. Like the hero & heroine agreed a time of 7am and a few pages down it was mentioned they agreed on 9am. Also, the age the hero started training did not add up. I mean, if you have to add numbers to your book, make it tie back. It was distracting because I was trying to make the numbers add up. Also, the name of the planet is just too latin for my liking with the inhabitants of said planet with English/latin/biblical names (no mention of how they came to bear such names). The story had promise but too much time is spent name dropping, talk about how hot the guy is, how insecure the heroine is etc. In fact, the book is downright boring. Plus a few factual cases were mentioned with the author insinuating that they were alien/colonist and their offspring could be as evil as the parent. That did not sit well with me. There was no action, romance was nil (at least to the point I gave up). The good thing is that it was free so that is ok. I do love alien sci-fi books, but please make me imagine/live through the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews