Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bushido brilliant
I loved 13 Assassins for its powerful insight into the way of the Samurai, forsaking everything for the creed of the warrior. So when Hara-Kiri came out I was eager to see how Takashi Miike would follow up such a class act. Well the critics said it was dark and oh boy were they right! Fed up with being conned for money by paying off suicide posers, the ruling class make...
Published on 1 July 2012 by ROGER C

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harakiri is Harakiri, yet it still lacks reason to be remade (3D or no)
Harakiri is Harakiri is Harakiri, so it will always have power as a Jidaigeki movie. The problem is the best scenes were removed from Kobayashi's 1962 classic, whether that is the break in the Hanshiro's story, the stunning imagery of the fight sequence in the cemetery or the ending which had power in its swiftness. In their place, Miike's take feels stage-y, a costly...
Published 20 months ago by Rob Simpson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bushido brilliant, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
I loved 13 Assassins for its powerful insight into the way of the Samurai, forsaking everything for the creed of the warrior. So when Hara-Kiri came out I was eager to see how Takashi Miike would follow up such a class act. Well the critics said it was dark and oh boy were they right! Fed up with being conned for money by paying off suicide posers, the ruling class make an example of one such impoverished Samurai only to reap the whirlwind when his friend comes along with a similar request. Sharply focussed and leaving nothing unobserved this tale of honour and revenge spirals to the inevitable bloody showdown. Not for the fainthearted, with scenes best viewed between the fingers, this is yet another stunning testament to the unbending way of Bushido and the unique genius of a great film-maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dishonourable Discharge!, 14 April 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
A respected house get fed up of samurai calling round every five minutes trying to blag them out of cash. Claiming they're hard done by and are gonna have to commit suicide if turned away. Then one day, they make an example of a young samurai after he knocks on their door with another story of woe, resulting in him committing suicide (rather nastily) in their courtyard.. But with the arrival of a stranger shortly after~ward we learn of the true story behind the young samurai's predicament..
As you probably guessed, this isn't exactly a heart~warming and fun tale of fate, honour and vengeance for all the family, coming from the barrel of director Miike, but it is however nicely shot, well filmed and suitably downbeat.
I thoroughly enjoyed 13 Assassins, but those of you expecting a similar film should read a few more reviews, coz this is hardly action packed, heroic bloodshed! It's much more of a character drama set in 17th century Japan. I was aware that this was a remake, however I don't believe I've ever seen the original, so cannot comment on whether this is better or not. Usually not, as far as remakes are concerned. Personally I preferred 13 Assassins and its theme of 'a few stood against many' and its visceral violence but that's just my uncultured side coming out, again!
Picture good on the dvd, which is what you'd expect from a new film. Extras none on the dvd, which is what you'd expect from a new film just bought for a £1.
3.5/5 stars rounded up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed that, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn`t expecting a film like this, so was pleasently surprised by the film a bit slow at some times don`t expect a action film although there is some good action at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understated dignity, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
The story is of a poor young man, who, in trying to get money to pay for medicine for his desperately ill baby, become the subject of the cruelty and sport of the privileged. He suffers a terrible death and, without him, both his wife and child also perish. The young man, and his father-in-law are lowly remnants of the Samurai class, and the father-in-law undertakes to avenge the deaths of the little family. He succeeds, but in doing so sacrifices his own life. As you would expect from Takashi Miike, this a gloriously understated and powerful film, a song to the dignity and honour of the Samurai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people think that Samurai Films are all about the killing and fighting. No, they are Japanese period dramas and that's what this is. A compelling story of a man and his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars slow-burn samurai story, more drama than action, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
This morality tale, that leaves us thinking about its lessons, is a classy tale of poverty, love, honour, cruelty and revenge set in fudal Japan. The costumes and scenery are faithful to the period, the acting is very good, there is not much action (but there are some moments of acutely distressing suicide, japanese style), until a climactic fight in the closing scenes.
This director is maturing nicely, with his last two films approaching the brilliance of Akira Kurasowa's films of fudal Japan. I look forward to more from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy. Great Story. Great Film., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai is a sad and hart felt story that can only be told by Japanese writers and Japanese actors. It's not all fighting and karate it's a story of soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hara-Kiri, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
This film came as a complete surprise to me and a very great one as well. The film is telling the story of two Samurai, a father and his step son. It is a well told tragedy and a real sad tale.I would recommend this film to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A total Miike Takashi style, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
I am an absolute fan of Miike Takashi so you can said that I am a little biased to all the films he made. When I heard that this movie is coming out in DVD, I immediately made the preorder. I love all his movies and if you are his fan as well, I suggested that you get this disc right away. If you have watched the old version before, this is no much of the difference with the old version but this one is more straight to the point instead of the dramatic version of the previous one. Well, you can never compare a masterpiece with the remake. If the previous one is a masterpiece, you can never expect a masterpiece to be born again through this simple remake. Stop expecting and start enjoying. This is Miike Takashi that brought you Audition and 13 Assassins. Not the director that was nominated for the movie 'Kwaidan' in 1965. Besides that, always keep in your mind that Miike Takashi is a CULT director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Warriors Code, 26 Jun 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] (DVD)
Following on from the excellent 13 Assassins Takishi Miike now remakes another classic samurai story. Hara-Kiri is the tale of a man who asks to commit ritual suicide in a lords premises. Doing such an act will garner greater honour. However, he is told that this is not the first time that this request has been made and that such people usually do this as a bluff to gain money in hard times.

The film starts with this and then intercuts with the previous ronin (masterless samurai) who requested it and tells his story. This is then intercut with the tale of what brought him to this stage before the final reckoning. Of course the stories are linked and of course this isn't coincidence.

Miike has beautifully shot this film and the whole tone is one of low tones and a time of honour. Its a morality play in essence though with the final scene showing exactly what the honour is. There is violence (one part was particularly bloody) but not much of it. Don't expect a long fight scene as was in the previous effort.

The film works due its style, acting and direction. Miike's stamp is all over this and its a fantastic achievement. How he does these films in such a quick time I never will understand. It isn't an action film however. So don't expect that. But expect a thoughful morality play of feudal Japan and a look into why the honour code let so many down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD]
Hara-Kiri : Death of a Samurai [DVD] by Takashi Miike (DVD - 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews