Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Unthanks - Take on Hegarty and Wyatt. Result = resounding success
The Unthanks seem to positively relish the challenge of expanding their "folk" boundaries into areas so diverse that the label becomes meaningless. This year's brilliant "Last" contained wondrous cover versions of artists as diverse as Tom Waits and King Crimson. In "Diversion Vol 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & the Johnsons" they now take on the lifting beauty...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Red on Black

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Ok but
I guess if you had been to the concert it would be Ok as a record. but not having been to the concert there are no stnad out must have tracks here.
Published 11 months ago by steve perryman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Unthanks - Take on Hegarty and Wyatt. Result = resounding success, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
The Unthanks seem to positively relish the challenge of expanding their "folk" boundaries into areas so diverse that the label becomes meaningless. This year's brilliant "Last" contained wondrous cover versions of artists as diverse as Tom Waits and King Crimson. In "Diversion Vol 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & the Johnsons" they now take on the lifting beauty of the transcendent songs of Anthony Hegarty and combine then with the songs of that hardy English genius Robert Wyatt a man not afraid transcend the musical boundaries of jazz, soul and incorporate avant-garde impulses (see separate review of his "Greatest Misses")

This new(ish) album by the Unthanks recorded in pristine quality at the Union chapel in December 2010 bring out the best in the two sisters who carve a slightly unbalanced game of two halves. Actually there are more Wyatt songs on here (9 out of 15) but you can barely see the joins. It all starts with Hegarty's big ballads that are tailor made for the voices of Rachel and Becky and "Bird Gehrl" rises skyward as a superb opener. What a song to start on, but the Unthanks hold no fear and "You are my sister" is sung as duet with those superb Northumberland voices whispering the words over a Adrian McNally rolling piano accompaniment. And what better way to follow it than with the equally great "For today I am a boy" this reviewers favourite on the album thus far. The Wyatt songs are equally treated with due reverence but given that Unthanks treatment which inevitably diverges from the originals. The facts that you can't see the sister's clog dancing on the chirpy "Dondestan" does not detract from its exuberance. Alternatively a slowly forming "Lisp Service" rolls out in dark formation with haunting strings and a suitably dour vocal. The jazzy blues of "Stay Tuned" confirms what a brilliant Wyatt song this (even if he did cover it) and one of the best vocals on the album follow. It is a great version of "Sea Song" however which draws you in and that will place a heavy toll on the CD players repeat button. Its seven minute plus of some of the best musical excellence heard in 2011 and how you envy the lucky few who saw this feast of music live. Throughout the banter between the songs demonstrate yet again that the sisters are far from their own self portrait as "miserable buggers". "How many have you seen us before" they ask before Rachel tells a story of how Becky wanted to be a dog as a young girl until they realise that the story has other possible connotations and fall about laughing.

Ultimately the Unthanks continue a journey in current British music which is so unique that's its almost unchartered. The Independent has called this album "a feast of vulnerable balladry with a political heart". There is nothing wrong with that at all particularly if it cements the already heady reputation of these Northumberland musical explorers. One for Santa's list I would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Dave Gilmour's cat (on Dave Gilmour's boat) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
An enchanting set of songs. Just when I thought the Unthanks were starting to lose the freshness and vitality that made The Bairns so special, they come back with this exceptional live album. You do not need to know the Robert Wyatt or Antony & The Johnsons originals they cover here to enjoy listening to this record, which creates a particular mood of its own. Seductive and also deeply melancholy, this is really a rather wonderful thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many Thanks Unthanks, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
I am biased - I love the Unthanks, from their full on traditional renditions of traditional fayre to their atmospheric broody evocations of old and new material they are a delight. I have never got my head around Antony and the Johnsons but this recording is opening me up to their music. Robert Wyatt is and has always been a musical 'one-off', at times soulful, surreal, deeply emotional and romantic and of course political in it's widest sense. The Unthanks version of Sea Song, Becky's rasping vocal unlike any others, is simply beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting , Awesome , Brilliant!, 16 Jan 2012
By 
M. D. Pithie (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
This is the fourth Unthanks cd I have bought so I am biased.
This really works extremely well on both the Robert Wyatt and the Antony and the Johnsons sets .

I particularly like Sea Song , being a big fan of the Wyatt original.

The whole album is awesome , as the Unthanks drift from the shores of trad folk music and make music which is increasingly eclectic and wholly exquisite.

Fans of folk music ,Kate Bush, Bjork and more will find something to savour here.

Lets hope they record the songs of Jeff Buckley , Portishead, or the Cocteau Twins next....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unthanks review, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
An amazing album! The sisters' voices are so pure and their renditions of 'Antony and the Johnsons' and 'Robert Wyatt tracks are heart-rendering and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Northern Gem, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
I bought the Diversions Vol. III for my father for his Birthday last year and bought his the first two volumes this year. My family hail from Newcastle-upon-Tyne which is where I believe the Unthanks come from and this Northern Identity is reflected very strongly in their work; which I adore. They have incredibly melodious and harmonious voices and each volume is simply a joy to listen to with some of the most heart-breaking lyrics I have heard to date. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Ok but, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
I guess if you had been to the concert it would be Ok as a record. but not having been to the concert there are no stnad out must have tracks here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent unthanks, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
I love the songs of these two sisters. They are always well sung and put together and they always give a polished performance. Haven't seen them live yet but intend to at first opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmmm, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diversions, Vol. 1: The Songs of Robert Wyatt and Antony & The Johnsons- Live from the Union Chapel, London (Audio CD)
I utterly adore the other three cds. This one is a disappointment. A song which goes: You are my sister, I love you, I hope all your dreams, come true - that is not what I have loved these lasses for. It's an embarrassment. And I really am not into the matey chat between the songs. What I have loved is the irony, the intensity, the harmonies, the musical inventiveness, the geordie accents, the very long songs and the very short songs, the funny ones, the sad ones, the clever ones. If you want a hearty night down at the folk club this may be for you. What I say is, Girls, get yersells back to the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf1df930)

This product

Only search this product's reviews