Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Bloody Affair
Before I commence to review these movies, may I first clarify that I would not particularly suggest purchasing this box set. On the site, it is actually cheaper to buy the two films separately, this set is simply the first two bundled in a cardboard box. Simply, I found this to be the most appropriate outlet to express my views of both volumes.
The first volume of...
Published on 23 Jan 2005 by countolaf2005

versus
172 of 181 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the box set I hoped for...
Folks, if you're looking for the extra special features, different edits, etc. then this is NOT the box set for you. This is just the two single DVDs bundled in lousy cardboard package and priced HIGHER that the two single DVDs together.
This is not a comment on the films, which I think are brilliant.
Published on 10 Jan 2005


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Bloody Affair, 23 Jan 2005
Before I commence to review these movies, may I first clarify that I would not particularly suggest purchasing this box set. On the site, it is actually cheaper to buy the two films separately, this set is simply the first two bundled in a cardboard box. Simply, I found this to be the most appropriate outlet to express my views of both volumes.
The first volume of Kill Bill is an exhilerating rush. Set through five chapters, we follow the Bride as she pursues the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad whose attempts to eliminate her at her wedding five years previously failed. This film is a mix, with two chapters of action, two of more subdued thrills and another of Japanese 'anime' animation. This combination works well making this a pleasurable movie going experience. Uma Thurman is a wonderful actress and Lucy Liu's O-Ren Ishii is a very interesting character. On its own, this film stands well, although there is a feeling of emptiness towards the end; something is missing. Of course, that something is the second volume. As a separate film, I would give this three and a half stars.
The second volume is a whole different experience. In the final five chapters (6-10) The action of the first is dropped (to a certain extent) and the film concentrates more on Tarantino's signature dialogue which although humorous and intelligent does not wholly redeem this film which is not a success on its own. Those who have not seen the original will most likely be confused. However, the ending is worth waiting for, even if the 'apocalyptic' final battle lasts little longer than five seconds. Daryll Hannah's exceptional performance may be the strongest reason to watch it by itself. Two and a half stars.
HOWEVER, when put together as a four-and-a-bit hours marathon this film is beautiful. The action of the first volume compliments the calm second perfectly, with an appropriate combination of spaghetti western and kung-fu movies in the whole shebang. I would suggest watching both in one go, without breaks, in order to fully appreciate this exceptional duo.
Buy the movies separately, and wait for the extras-packed boxset Tarantino has promised us all.
And to think, Tarantino originally said that the whole thing could be done in ninety minutes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


172 of 181 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the box set I hoped for..., 10 Jan 2005
By A Customer
Folks, if you're looking for the extra special features, different edits, etc. then this is NOT the box set for you. This is just the two single DVDs bundled in lousy cardboard package and priced HIGHER that the two single DVDs together.
This is not a comment on the films, which I think are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally in a box on Blu-ray!, 13 Feb 2009
Both Kill Bill Vol. 1 and Kill Bill Vol. 2 come in a high quality of picture and sound, so it's a real treat to watch the movies.
The Blu-ray's extras aren't very special but it's nice to have the making-of, some teasers and trailers, two songs by the 5,6,7,8s, the Kill Bill Vol. 2 Premiere Chingon Performance and one single deleted scene. Unfortunately the slipcase seems to me like a cheap cardboard box.
However, I'm very much satisfied with the purchase. If nothing else, it's because both movies feature German audio track as well as Englisch, Spanish and Italian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Films, Rubbish Boxed Set!, 9 Aug 2005
By 
Buy the films, but don't buy this boxed set!
Kill Bill Vol.1 and Kill Bill Vol.2 are both great films, sure, but if you want them buy them separately for 7.97 each - don't spend 35 on the box. Because that's all you get - a poxy cardboard box containing the exact same DVDs you can buy for 7.97 each!
When I read 'Boxed Set' I think Robocop or Hellraiser or Godfather. I want bonus disks or a clever fold-out box or something extra. Quentin says that all this is coming. I don't know when, but this is not it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages on DVDs, 11 Dec 2009
By 
T. Holzner (Mannheim) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kill Bill 1:

Dolby Digital 5.1: English/German/Spanish/Italian
DTS 5.1: Italian/German/Spanish
PCM 5.1: English

Subtitles: English/Italian/German/Spanish

Kill Bill 2:

Dolby Digital 5.1: English/German/Spanish/Italian
DTS 5.1: Italian/German/Spanish
PCM 5.1: English

Subtitles: English/Italian/German/Spanish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-Ray Double, 17 May 2010
By 
A. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Both film have great PQ but the great thing is the lossless sound, which coupled with the great soundtrack makes for a great Blu-Ray. The only annoying thing is the sleave. It houses both Blu-ray boxes independantly so I just got rid of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THIS BOXSET, 13 Aug 2005
By 
Bawno (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Before I give my brief review please take this advice: DON'T BUY THIS BOXSET!
The Kill Bill Collection Boxset offers nothing special. It is merely both the films in their original one disc forms in their original cases. Nothing has been added, except a cardboard box! You can buy both films on this site for 14 and you can even buy both films in high street shops for this price too. Don't waste your money splashing out on this boxset because at the end of the day that is all it is, both the normal films...in a cardboard box. You pay around 20 extra for a cardboard box! Don't bother.
(It's not even a nice fold-out boxset and doesn't even have an attractive front cover. It's just a BOX!)
Now, the review. Basically Kill Bill one is a very original well shot classic Tarantino film with an absolutely excellent ending when Uma Thurman (and her Samurai sword) take on loads of japenese gangsters (also with swords). It is brilliant, no other words can describe it. Great scripting, soundtrack, cinematography and awesome action make this film one of my all time favourites.
On the contrary Kill Bill 2 is completely scripted with only a few short action scenes which don't even compare to Volume 1. The whole thing is talking!!! Yes there are some damn funny bits and still a great soundtrack but Volume One is easily a lot better.
Still these are the best Tarantino films around and the action in Volume One truly is awesome. But...DON'T BUY THE BOXSET!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. N. Finch (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i think i paid about 7.00 for this and free postage, delivery was prompt, the packaging is not anything great but not that bothered because the films were great. Been wanting to watch these for some time and glad i found the bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Eng Mendes "Peter the Gamer" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Bill: Vol. 1 and 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great HD collection. Missing some additional extras but the movies are very good, specially if you're into comics, Japanese anime, and classic Asian movies you'll understand all the gags of the two movies and love the pace that is always present in Tarantino's movies!

A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice 2 movie bluray boxset for a tenner can't be bad, 30 May 2013
By 
Sam Todd "Samjr" (Lanarkshire,Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kill Bill: Vol. 1 and 2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Bought this a few weeks ago and quite happy with the purchase. Unfortunately soon after buying the Steelbook boxset arrived at only a few pounds more which i would rather have had but a good item none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Bill: Vol. 1 and 2 [Blu-ray]
Kill Bill: Vol. 1 and 2 [Blu-ray] by Quentin Tarantino (Blu-ray - 2011)
19.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews