Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Cracker, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. C. Neil "spirit of vambo" (Prestwick Ayrshie) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is Christmas (Audio CD)
Thank you Emmy and Tim for creating a great Christmas album. A perfect partnership have created a true piece of pop perfection. You will be grinning from start to finish when you hear this. There is not one bad track on this album and it looks and sounds fantastic. Power pop is given the wall of sound treatment which crashes and sparkles into the
21st century. It will warm you up on those cold December nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Festive frolics, 22 Nov 2011
By 
A. Morrell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is Christmas (MP3 Download)
Xmassy from the word go - this is fully in-your-face seasonal fare from Ash singer Tim Wheeler and singer-songwriter Emmy The Great, and makes no apologies for being so.

Despite the sleighbells and "wall of sound" production, the duo manage to keep the firmly on the right side of schmaltz, albeit with tongue firmly in cheek (on some tracks anyway!). However, away from the seasonal production, its the songwriting which stands out - particularly on tracks like Home For The Holidays, and Snowflakes. Both are instantly memorable and stand up as potential festive classics. They deserve huge amounts of airplay - even if just to hear something different on the radio.

Definitely an album that will stand up to repeated playing - even in years to come. Definitely one to buy if you love xmassy albums - certainly one to consider even if you dont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleigh Me, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Christmas (Audio CD)
Remember the really cold, icy weather we had in January 2011? While Emmy the Great and Tim Wheeler were snowed in, they started writing a Christmas album - and this is what eventually transpired. It's a slight 31 minutes long, and is part-tribute, part-parody of the Phil Spector Christmas Album and similar seasonal musical fare. The humour is sufficiently subtle that the album can be taken at face value if you wish.

Musically, it uses every Christmas Number One cliche in the book, including the Spector-like orchestrations (yes, there is a string section) and the thumping 1970s-style rhythms. Some of the songs take a pleasingly off-beat view of Christmas and all its trappings - Mrs Christmas is about what a miserable time Father Christmas's wife has at Christmas Time, and it includes a spoken voice-over as well! Other songs appear to have been written in about three minutes, but are highly enjoyable in the way that spontaneous music often is: Jesus the Reindeer is one such.

It's a light confection of an album, perfect for the holiday season. I wonder if "Home for the Holidays" will become a Christmas classic? Probably not, unless someone makes a video for it featuring Bananarama and Wham, but I love it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album-a modern classic, 2 Dec 2011
By 
M. Stringer "rockabilly rebel" (London,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Christmas (Audio CD)
Agree with the previous reviewers who mention the "wall of sound", the sponteneity of the songs and the spectrum of musical genres covered. I also agree with the other 5 star reviews-this is an exceptional album and I would not be surprised at all if it slow burns its way to being a classic in years to come. It really is very good. My personal favourite is the slightly melancholic "Christmas Moon", with a 50's feel to it, it's sublime and stands on its own merit aside from being a "Christmas" tune. All the songs are good though, there's no duff track. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real festive treat, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Steve Gallagher (cheltenham, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Christmas (Audio CD)
I've just received this through the post and slung it straight onto my car cd player. What a real joy! It is everything you'd want from a collaboration between these two, and their voices suit one another perfectly. Each track stands up well, although my favourites are the sub-Ash Wish I was Surfin' and the terrific Mrs Christmas, which wouldn't be out of place on the Phil Spector Xmas album! One very small gripe is that they could have squeezed a bit more music on than the half hour or so here, but what there is on this album is a group of tuneful and fresh Xmas songs that deserve to stand the test of time. Great fun, and let's hope this becomes an annual event!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Christmas (MP3 Download)
Lovely Christmas album, played endlessly over Christmas instead of all the commercial rubbish they play on the radio. A couple of upbeat songs but generally quite mellow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Christmas (MP3 Download)
A great change from the commercial Christmas tunes which we've all heard to death. Sweet, quirky, fun and wonderfully seasonal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is Christmas (Audio CD)
Excellent album! If you like ash you will love this too. Perfect for the Christmas blues. Some song will make you smile and laugh as they are alternative to the depressing Christmas songs you hear every year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Found by mistake - but great, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: This Is Christmas (MP3 Download)
Wasn't looking for this but the samples sounded good so thought I'd give it a try. Glad I didd - excellent seasonal music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph!, 23 Dec 2011
By 
P. Blair (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is Christmas (Audio CD)
A little bit Phil Spector, with even a smidgen of Wizzard thrown in too. Everything a Christmas album should be, plus surfing and zombies too. Hasn't been off our CD player since we got it early in December.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is Christmas
This Is Christmas by Emmy the Great & Tim Wheeler
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews