Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2004
"What a ride !"
I had the pleasure of listening to Mr Duke give a public presentation at NASA Florida in September 2001, quite by coincidence. Stopping to listen only because he was an Appollo astronaut, I was quickly taken by his charm and down to earth (excuse the pun!) style of presentation and at 66 years old, quite possibly the most intelligent person I have ever listened to!
This fellow seemed to be in just the right place at the right time for numerous world famous and history making events! He was CAPCOM for the Appollo 11 moon landing, was on the backup crew for Appollo 13 and was involved in the mission to get those guys safely home to name but two incidences.
Charlie Duke has a LOT of personal experiences to share with anyone who is interested in his life adventures. If you are interested in the Appollo space program, or simply cannot imagine what it would be like to sit on top of six million pounds of fuel when someone pushes the 'go' button - then this may well be the book for you!
If this isn't enough, he also relates (in a very frank and honest manner) how a life such as his affected those people around him. The book seems to be a personal gesture to everyone who has helped him achieve these fantastic deeds. Giving insight into what it was like for his family - particularly his wife Dotty - to live with the dangers that HE faced.
Want to know how much money an Appollo astronaut earned while on a moon mission? How they went to the bathroom? How they slept (both in transit to the moon and while on the moon itself)? All these questions and more are answered in a very open manner.
The book is basically this mans life story from childhood dreams to some of the highest accolades anyone can achieve. Never have I been so inspired by anyone as much as this man - a charming and interesting fellow in ALL aspects - I sincerely hope I get another chance to meet him in person!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
I was lucky enough to have 'an audience' with the very charismatic Charlie Duke and feared that this written autobiography might be a let down after hearing such an inspiring talk from the man himself. Having completed the book, I am pleased to report that it conveys just as much enthusiasm, humility and pride in his incredible experience as he did when speaking in person.

One cannot help but be awed by this man's achievement - for someone who has walked amongst the stars, Charlie Duke seems a special kind of person with his feet firmly planted on the ground.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2015
Charlie and Dotty Duke provide an easy-reading but detail rich autobiography that focuses mostly on Charlie's Apollo mission but ends with his adventures after Apollo as he tried to find an occupation that would keep up with his relentless drive for challenge and excellence.

It is commendable how the cost of this drive on Charlie's wife, Dotty, is described and not in any way glossed over for fear of tarnishing the image of an all-American hero.

Finally, reading how Dotty and then Charlie discovered faith in Jesus Christ and what incredible experiences that bought with it is truly inspirational.

A fantastic read for anyone with an interest in Apollo history, Christianity, or both!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 28 April 2013
I have now read most of the Apollo astronauts' memoirs, and this is certainly a worthy addition to them. Perhaps inevitably, it shares some similarities with others: the fairly humble beginning in Thirties America, the love of flying, the military career, the decision to apply for selection as an astronaut, and so on. What makes it different is its practical viewpoint. For example, have you ever wondered how the crews managed to put their space suits on in what were not exactly spacious surroundings? Or climb (backwards) through the lunar module hatch on to the exit ladder, when the hatch was hardly wider than they were? Such things may seem mundane, but were of course vital to the success of the mission. Charlie Duke explains how these and other essential tasks were carried out, often using humour to illustrate his points.

In conclusion, this book could be thought of as an everyman's guide to visiting the moon. Of course, Charlie Duke is by no means everyman, but he manages to explain things in a (dare I say?) down to earth manner that almost lets you feel you are there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
As a child if the sixties I very much grew up with the Apollo program and as far as Mr. Dukes career goes this was a cracking read. I did however find the religious part a bit heavy going but that's just me as I'm really not a god person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Fascinating story of the road to a moon landing, interesting account of early years as a test pilot. And of course first hand knowledge of walking on the Moon is always interesting. But, the religion, oh dear the self obsession and religion, the all about me, me, me and my religion. The fake proof of god personally looking out for this rich white boy and his equally privileged wife. You would think there was little else going on in the world, it's all about Charley and his personal god (who I imagine must look exactly like Charley in the mirror, to Charley) in the later part.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
ENJOYABLE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
WHY ARE ALL COPIES OF THIS BOOK SO ABSURDLY EXPENSIVE?!

It's just dotty!

I'd love to read it but I can't this much!!! Come on megasellers, help me out!
77 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)