Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read!
This book was a really good read! I love anything to do with Tudor/ Elizabethan times and this book didn't disappoint. When I first started reading I wasn't sure whether it was my kind of book as a lot of it was an account by Thomas Howard (who I previously disliked). However it was excellent and written in a very different way to others in this genre. Loved it!!
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by HannahN

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very disappointing
I should have realised the level that this book is pitched at when I saw on the back it states perfect for fans of The Tudors (television series).
Basically this book is a medieval soap opera and not a very well written one at that. There are some glaring mistakes where twentieth century jargon is used. This jumps off the page at me and is very irritating.
It...
Published 12 months ago by Ms. P. Allom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Tudor England, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Kindle Edition)
Easy way of learning history. I can imagine being there as long you have plenty of money that is. Would'nt like to be a peasent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Kindle Edition)
Could not put this down it really was good ,most informative and interesting ,well worth buying ,hope any one who reads this enjoy's it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable book. Recommended. A terrible age to live in it would seem, full of the brutality of the time balanced with the romance of the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great author, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was in a really good state when i received it.
I loved the story and really enjoy the way the story is written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Howard & the Chipmunk....., 22 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I think this one wins the prize for the worst book I have read in some time. The language was poor the characters two dimensional, there were errors of grammar and spelling, an excess of sensibility, characters managing to change eye colour, a poor grasp of Geography (Katherine of Aragon was imprisoned in manors in Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire - hardly in the 'North'!) and of course, a chipmunk blithely skipping his way through late medieval England......

A work of historical fiction should really hang on a framework of historical fact, with the author fleshing out the story and characters for the reader. This book doesn't even seem to have an internal logic as characters just do things because the author decides, not because you as a reader think that is what that character would do. But then again, characters are so poorly drawn you can hardly care what they do! The biggest impression I gained from this was that the author believes Thomas Howard was hard, ambitious... and cried all the time...... Child (and mother!) mortality rates would have been much higher in this period, and babies of status would have been taken away from much direct contact with their parents at a young age that this really rather modern outpouring of sensibility doesn't seem to ring true.

The use of Miss and Mrs to differentiate a woman's marital status is also relatively new, so that was all poorly researched rubbish! The majority of women would have been referred to as 'Mistress' (which both Mrs and Miss derive from of course!), as characters are in the Merry Wives of Windsor (for example). It may seem a small point, but it's an example of either sloppy research or careless writing.

This is fine if you want a bit of a brainless read dressed up in historical costume - or if you enjoy spotting errors - but to anyone who likes proper historical fiction, I cannot recommend it. Go and find yourself something by Anne O'Brien or Elizabeth Chadwick or Sharon K Penman instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No zero star hence 1, 26 Jan 2013
A truly awful writer. This lady needs a lesson in English literature and language if she is to 'avert' another catastrophe. Aversion appears to be the only word in this lady's dictionary !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book tremendously. Could not put it down. Very well written and very lucid. I would gladly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Kindle Edition)
A real page turner. The story of the Tudors told from the perspective of the Howards. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars she was looking for an author that would be easy to read and she loves it, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my wife, she was looking for an author that would be easy to read and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rivals in the Tudor Court (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant as ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rivals in the Tudor Court
Rivals in the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette
£1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews