Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is now the third playthrough of this game I just love these open world games , so please keep them coming .
I'm a 55 year old women and receive enormous pleasure from this type of games they are so playable and don't rely on quick reactions That are not so good these days , I love to play all the quest so to make my adventure last as long as I can . Brilliant
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by PaD

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great game with Flawed Mechanics
OK first up - Oblivion is not Skyrim. It's 5 years old now, so I won't be comparing the two, just taking Oblivion on its own merits.

The basic premise of Oblivion is that a parrallel dimension, known as Oblivion, and filled with Daedra - demon like warriors hell bent on the destruction and ruin of Tamriel - is staging an invasion of the Imperial heartland. Led...
Published on 3 Oct. 2012 by Robert Say


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 9 Dec. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This is now the third playthrough of this game I just love these open world games , so please keep them coming .
I'm a 55 year old women and receive enormous pleasure from this type of games they are so playable and don't rely on quick reactions That are not so good these days , I love to play all the quest so to make my adventure last as long as I can . Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 7 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thsi game is a little underated as the prolific Skyrim has been released but Oblivion is definatly the best game in the series the gameplay is good the story line is great (no spoilers) and the joinable guilds the dark brotherhood, Theives, Mages and fighters are all good things to do, the size of the world is incredible a great game for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A HUGE amount of game for your pennies., 22 Nov. 2011
By 
A. Myles "Ali Boy" (Totnes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Oblivion has to be one of the all time classic RPG's, it's up there with Zelda-Occarina of Time and FFVII for sheer fame and lasting impressions.
It's now 2011 and so this game is now ancient, the graphics are hugely outdated and the limited voice acting starts to grate after a while but these issues can be ignored/forgiven due to the sheer amount of adventuring and content on offer, you can plow through the adventure in short order (which still takes a lot of time!) or you can be a completionist and go after every ruin/dungeon/sidequest on offer, either way you will not feel short changed for £15.

It's also nice that on the xbox all the game wrecking glitches have been ironed out and the patches are included as part of the initial game set up so if you're not connected to the internet you can still enjoy this adventure without any horrendous problems.

The bonus DVD is fairly interesting, it's not exactly bursting with massive production value but it is a nice touch and fan boys/girls will enjoy it, the printed map is also a nice bonus but to be honest it's of little use gamewise and will spend a lot of time in the box unless it's employed as a poster.

ONE IMPORTANT POINT: If you're an Xbox Arcade/4gb slim owner you will not be able to use the Shivering Isles/Knights of the Nine expansions as these require a hard drive to install, you can still stream the main game straight from the disc though.

Buy it, play it, love it. Then play Skyrim and thank god for game evoloution.
You can't go wrong for £15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but that's the fun!, 21 May 2014
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
I originally played this game when it first came out having never played an RPG before. I was instantly hooked by the quality of the graphics, the size of the map, the interactions with other game characters, and the sheer volume of both storyline quests and other random tasks you can take part in. It's an enormous, gorgeous looking game and one hell of an achievement.
Since then, I have played other RPG's but in my opinion Bethesda always make the most enjoyable games. I always feel part of the story - others I've tried such as Two Worlds and Sacred 2 were woeful in comparison. So while I absolutely loved Oblivion, when I moved on to Fallout 3 & Skyrim, they raised the bar to the nth degree.
I was aware of the flaws in the mechanics, the interactions, and some of the bugs in the game, but I actually found them funny. So rather than them having a genuine detrimental effect to my enjoyment of the game, they added to it! For example, a beggar speaking in a squeaky voice one second asking for a spare coin, the next sentence they spoke would be in a powerful, booming voice. Stupid, but funny.
Having since moved from PS3 to Xbox, I decided to buy this again and play through everything from start to finish, hoping that my experiences with Fallout 3 and Skyrim wouldn't spoil the enjoyment of the game. At the start, I found myself thinking that the flaws, especially the levelling system which was as daft as ever, were denting my enjoyment somewhat. But over the space of a couple of hours, it all clicked back into place. Some elements of the game are superior to Skyrim - such as detect life & night-eye enchantments, and the alchemy part of the game I enjoy more.
Oblivion doesn't have the polish of Skyrim - it's a more raw game that's for sure - but it has good storylines to follow, some genuinely interesting random tasks, and the DLC is fun (although this version doesn't include all available DLC - there are some you can buy from Xbox marketplace).
As for value for money, less than £20 for a game you could easily get between 150 & 200 hours of gameplay if you want it to, it's an absolute must. It's not perfect by any means, but learn to love the flaws and it'll give you a few chuckles as well as good fun gameplay & longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Skyrim ?, 21 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
Better than Skyrim ? I think so.

You might not be able to do as much as you can in Skyrim but this game is so good that it doesn't matter that you can't dop as much.
This is one of the best RPG's I have ever played, I can't wait to start on the expansions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good game, 24 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
it is a very good game with lovely add on's.i would tell people to get this game. to anyone who has played skyrim first i would really get this game to get a better understanding of the game The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Game of the Year Edition (Xbox 360)=]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever, 5 Jun. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
I originally remember when this first came out and only got it 2 years ago, however, its a brilliant game with a brilliant atmosphere with so much to do. The campaign is detailed and fun along with the hundreds of side quests you can do. It also gives you the freedom of where you want to go along with being able to create a character, what you want to say and picking factions to join which have their own campaigns, making the game have lots of freedom and changing the atmospheres of its world. The expansions are extremely brilliant as well with the colorful and scary atmosphere of shivering isles which, once again, offers a main campaign and fun side quests. The Knights of the nine expansion is also fun with more followers and another campaign which involves new enemies.

Brilliant game! Brings back some good gaming memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game., 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
This is a very good game, but you must forgive the gaming graphics as they are a good for years old now. This is only because we have all been spoilt with games like COD, Mass Effect, and GTA etc etc. But you must be mindful that it could potentially take over your life. I started playing this and played for about 30 Mins and only got out of the cell and found myself exploring and getting use to how the game works. So it's fair to say I'm no were near finished, but at least I'll get my moneys worth. Speaking of cost, this is a no brainier as you get the Anniversary addition with the additional content included. Great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so this 5th Anniversary Edition is perfect as the complete Oblivion game for me, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
Had the original release of this game years ago, and never completed all the quests. Also did not buy the expansion packs first time around, so this 5th Anniversary Edition is perfect as the complete Oblivion game for me. A bargain at this price, the main game has countless hours of game play, and with both Knights of the Nine, and Shivering Isles, included on Disc 2 (install those before you install the main game content) this is the definitive version of this classic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just when you think it's all over ..........., 10 Nov. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition (XBOX 360) (Video Game)
My partner bought this for my 51st birthday this year. I had had a breakdown and had not been working for 4 months and he thought it might help. His choice was based mostly on the review by PaD who is a 55 yr old woman. This game is simply awesome, amazing, unbelievable, fantastic and just when you think it's all over ..... there's more. And more. And more. The graphics are clear and the scenery is beautiful. The game has something for every mood. If you need to kill something you can pick quests to do just that or close oblivion gates. If you just want to admire the scenery and sound effects just wander the hills, mountains, lakes, go swimming, look at the night skies (truly breathtaking at times), you can do that. You can have "housekeeping" sessions, just selling things you have found and increasing your fortune and skills. I too have difficulties with the games that need skills with the controller, but this game allows me to be skilled in killing, casting spells, and "persuading" (bribing) people to like me to give me more information. As was said on The Big Bang Theory many people play games so that they can feel that they have achieved something in their lives. Well that is true but this is the most enjoyable way to do that. Buyers beware though, you may be found with "Cheeto's" in your hair!!!!! You will not be sorry you have bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews