Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different take on telling the horrors of WW1
I bought this book for my kindle and I was reluctant to stop reading this story. I will not detail the storyline as this will spoil it for those of you who have not yet read this novel. Basically it details the life of the foot soldiers of WW1 through the eyes of someone who was projected into this period of the 20th century. The author writes in a style that is easy to...
Published on 20 Feb. 2013 by AlyBongo

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Historically inaccurate
This is an interesting and mostly enjoyable read that is unfortunately spoilt by some of the gross historical inaccuracies. Obviously written for an American audience the language used by the Britiish soldiers is all wrong. Soldiers in the 1914-18 war would not have used some of the phases written and an English Cook making blueberry muffins just wouldn't have happened as...
Published 19 months ago by Andrew James Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different take on telling the horrors of WW1, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book for my kindle and I was reluctant to stop reading this story. I will not detail the storyline as this will spoil it for those of you who have not yet read this novel. Basically it details the life of the foot soldiers of WW1 through the eyes of someone who was projected into this period of the 20th century. The author writes in a style that is easy to read and uses quite simple language. This is not a criticism. It is more a style that suits the story telling. I will be travelling to Ypres and the Somme later this year and will certainly be looking for the battle sites noted in this short book. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Historically inaccurate, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting and mostly enjoyable read that is unfortunately spoilt by some of the gross historical inaccuracies. Obviously written for an American audience the language used by the Britiish soldiers is all wrong. Soldiers in the 1914-18 war would not have used some of the phases written and an English Cook making blueberry muffins just wouldn't have happened as blueberries weren't introduced to Europe until the 1930's. There are many more inaccuracies which you just have to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed - £6 wasted, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
How this can be said to be based on a true story I don't know. More like Goodnight Sweetheart I fear. A completely misleading cover!

While it is not a reference book, one does expect a degree of research to be done and therefore the use of the word duvet is just ridiculous. Up to page 58 and can stand no more of this utter nonsense. I will have to donate the book to a charity shop.

So very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sad, at times shocking but predictable towards the end of the book..., 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
The book illustrates the horrors of World War 1 but the plots a bit corny & adolescent in its ending & beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really portrays a believeable image of the 1st World War!, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
Really portrays a believeable image of the 1st World War! Although not a long book it is a real page turner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars known unto god, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
A super read from an author I haven`t heard of before. A tale that mixes science fiction with history to paint a very different picture of the Great War. I couldn`t put it down. I will certainly be watching for this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
A bit far fetched as an idea for a story. However, I found it to be one of those books I couldn't put down until I had finished. It's not a long story so it can be easily done in one sitting.
Brings to life the horrors of the trenches in World War 1 Allows you to understand, in a tiny way, what these men faced every day. Aspects of daily life I just didn't want to think about but always knew existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story - Thought Provoking, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I started reading this book and WOW, what a sudden turn of events. A novel but good idea, the war as it possibly was as seen through modern eyes. I would definitely recommend this book to all readers. Well done the author for taking us on a journey a lot of us would like to go on and return from safely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is amazing, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
I am Sam and Sam is me. In the fiction, Sam lost his great grandfather on 1st August 1917 at the Battle of Passchendaele. In the fact, I lost my grandfather on 27th July 1917 in the same area in an action linked to the preparations for that awful battle. In the fact and the fiction, neither has a known grave, both have been researched and are remembered 100 years later by family and on the Menin Gate at Ypres. In the fiction, Sam joins his great grandfather and finds the last missing pieces of his puzzle. In the fact, even extensive research can not ever fill in the one last missing piece of the puzzle and my grandfather's true last resting place must remain Known Unto God. For purists, the idea of time travel back to 1917 may not hit the right notes but anyone else reading this, especially perhaps knowing that they too have a loved one lost in similar circumstances, it is a very moving story, and you may, like me even shed a tear at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Known Unto God (Kindle Edition)
I was taken right in to the battles of this book. A must read for those who lost family in this area of conflict bringing home the horrors they went through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Known Unto God
Known Unto God by Darren Humby
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews