Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars nice one Tom
I love all Tom Hardys films and he just gets better, he is a good actor and plays the part well. Keep them coming Tom, can't wait till the next one.
Published 14 days ago by san

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re Released True Life account of the French Foreign Legion that really does not star Tom Hardy.
This is a 2002 film that has been re released to shamelessly cash in on the increasingly deserved success of screen hunk, Tom Hardy (`Warrior' etc). It places his name up front but he is not the star. This is the film of the auto biopgraphy by Simon Murray - `Legionnaire'. Murray is played by Paul Fox, who must be related to a side board his acting is so wooden. His...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Tommy Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Re Released True Life account of the French Foreign Legion that really does not star Tom Hardy., 4 Jun 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a 2002 film that has been re released to shamelessly cash in on the increasingly deserved success of screen hunk, Tom Hardy (`Warrior' etc). It places his name up front but he is not the star. This is the film of the auto biopgraphy by Simon Murray - `Legionnaire'. Murray is played by Paul Fox, who must be related to a side board his acting is so wooden. His previous acting highs have come in the TV soap `Coronation Street' and the voice of Corff the bartender in video game `Dragon Age II'!

Well the plot goes that he gets rebuffed by a lady and in stiff upper lipped fashion he runs off to join the romance of The French Foreign Legion as his hero is Errol Flynn. His timing is pretty off as this coincides with the Algerian awakening for independence and as France has just been kicked out of Vietnam there are not that many places for him to be sent - so Algeria it is.

First he has to suffer boot camp and it is really not a very nice place at all and is actually done rather well. There he meets Mr Hardy playing Dupont a Frenchman. The film follows the ever increasing fractionalisation of the authorities in Algeria as Mr Murray becomes a sort of tourist historian. He goes for walks in the souks and visits mosques to learn about the Islamic culture and it is all a bit cringe worthy, I actually thought this is all a bit history for dummies at one point.

There is some action with explosives and shoot outs and an almost love interest with a certain Nicole - who phoned in her performance. It was all a bit too trite for my liking, if you know zilch about that period of history then this may have more merit as it is there is nothing new to learn here except maybe that if you get jilted then instead of running off to join the French Foreign Legion you may want to consider on line dating as an alternative.

Fans of Tom Hardy will not be that impressed with his on screen time either and there are much better films out there; `Battle for Algiers' being a classic and the less well known `Intimate Enemies' is well worth checking out. In English and some French this is a good book that has made an average film, but if you are still interested then I would advise going pour la rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not very good, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Hercule Poirot (Deauville, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
I happens to know Simon Murray, and that is why I bought this DVD. We also served together in the legion, but this movie is very disappointing. I reckon Simon should do a remake and stick closer to his real life story. For instance, Tunisia would look a lot more like eastern Algeria than Marocco does,and which is where this movie was shot. Also, Simon finished his 5 years as Caporal Chef (chief corporal), two green and one gold chevron, in the movie he had suddenly jumped the ranks to Sergeant Chef, 3 gold chevrons. Come on, Simon, the truth is much more interesting than this rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so film of a classic book, 10 April 2010
By 
Mulwharchar (Hereford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Legionnaire', Simon Murray's account of his service in the French Foreign Legion between 1960-65 is one of THE classic military memoirs. He joined during the fag end of the Algerian War and witnessed some interesting times as the French began to fight amongst themselves and Algeria spiralled into chaos in the run up to independence in 1962. Unfortunately you won't get much sense of this from 'Deserter'. Sure, it's a handsome enough production, shot on location in Morocco, which makes the most of its modest budget but the problem lies in the acting, particularly in (I stand corrected) Paul Fox as the lead. Murray was by his own account a callow, naive youth but Fox certainly puts the blank in 'kepi blanc', and Tom Hardy is far more convincing as his friend (and ultimately nemesis) Dupont. The film briefly covers the 1961 army coup attempt and the fascist OAS terrorism in which Legion deserters played a leading role, but the main impression is of Murray as a bystander rather than a participant in history; his 'excursions' into Islamic culture, for example, are toe-curlingly embarrassing. I'd recommend Murray's book unreservedly but the film (which he had a hand in producing) is really only for die-hard Legion enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your time, 16 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
This is up there with the worst movies I have ever seen. To begin with, the fact that the DVD says '2012' is false. It was released some years ago and is clearly just remarketed on the continuing success of Tom Hardy. The acting is very, very poor. Even Tom Hardy struggles to get pass marks for his limited ability to put on a French accent. The story line really lacks any impact (aside from maybe the last couple of minutes) or direction and I was very disappointed on the whole. I am a massive Tom Hardy fan and this was the sole reason I bought this film. If this is the same for anyone else, please take my advice and do not waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice one Tom, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
I love all Tom Hardys films and he just gets better, he is a good actor and plays the part well. Keep them coming Tom, can't wait till the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the watch, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible film. Expected more as it has Tom hardy in it but was one of the worst films he has been in. Is a very slow story line with no excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lame, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
Theres a reason why you haven't heard of this film... its awful!

Very little characterisation, tenuous plot, cheaply shot.

Even my Tom Hardy obsessed girlfriend fell asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO CUT YOUR LOSSES, 10 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
The year is 1960. Simon Murray (Paul Fox) joins the French Foreign Legion because of his romantic notions. It is an iron clad contract for 5 years during which he is sent to Algeria where the Arabs are fighting for Independence. Like "Full Metal Jacket" the film takes you through the rigors of training with cruel and sadistic trainers. The diverse group of trainees bond together. Simon supplies us with some boring first person narration to the background of some melancholy French tune.

Simon makes it through training, and life gets better...almost. He gets a "Dear John" letter and wants to leave. In town he discovers the locals hate the French and want their independence. His romantic notions have placed him on the wrong side, one that he is committed to be a part. His ideas of life become confused and tested in the reality of life and conflict. There are French and Algerians who are on both sides of the independence movement, primarily for economic reasons.

In many ways this movie mimics the US involvement in Vietnam, and just about any war against colonization. There is a major exception to this film in that...well I will let that one go as that becomes the twist in the tale. And even though it may be history, it was history I was unaware.

The acting was acceptable. The film jumps from scene to scene. You don't know how one scene ends before you are in a scene you wonder how it began. Perhaps this was deliberately done by the director so the audience can feel the confusion of the main character, or maybe it was just poor writing and editing. This is one of those areas where one person sees genius and another sees idiot.

The action is light. The drama involves mostly men. There is next to no humor. Excessive first person narration with a mediocre sound track. A story that is theme heavy.

No-f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Most of the actual killing is off camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre fare, but Hardy does play a prominent role, 12 July 2013
By 
K. B. Madsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with many other reviewers that much better films about legionnaires - or indeed about anything - have been made. Actually, the portion of the film focussing on the training is not altogether uninteresting, but the script is otherwise quite bad, the characters' motivations totally unclear most, if not all of the time.

In defence of the marketing of the re-release, I will say that it's not entirely unreasonable to feature Tom Hardy as noticeably as they have done: his role is quite essential, and he has almost as much screen time as the main character. So anyone wanting to buy this purely to see him should go ahead. Just don't expect much of a movie experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hardy, 31 May 2013
By 
Mrs. Ella Powell "Elk" (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deserter [DVD] (DVD)
Im a big fan of Tom Hardy anyway so this film was a treat for me.The story line was good and kept me interested till the very end and its based on a true story so was more enjoyable.This film is before Hardy started getting popular so now he is an even better actor but for hardy fans this good for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deserter [DVD]
Deserter [DVD] by Martin Huberty (DVD - 2012)
5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews