Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the earworms do their work...
Cards on the table, I'm a massive Field Music fan and was looking forward to this LP immensely. I don't think I'd have given it 5 stars after the first listen - it's so overwhelmingly complex that only a few songs stood out. It was only after the third listen (not so difficult as it's a bite sized album) that it all began to make sense and now I'm completely hooked. It's...
Published on 19 Feb 2012 by Marty McBrundlefly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Field Music - Plumb
The Sunderland brothers, Peter and David Brewis return with a mix up to their line-up and their fourth studio album. The ambition of this album is commendable, if you are willing to let it grow on you but it's unlikely to be love at first listen.

Plumb has an English feel though it's a departure from the London lo-fi shoegaze or the indie clubbing early...
Published on 11 April 2012 by Serena Doherty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let the earworms do their work..., 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
Cards on the table, I'm a massive Field Music fan and was looking forward to this LP immensely. I don't think I'd have given it 5 stars after the first listen - it's so overwhelmingly complex that only a few songs stood out. It was only after the third listen (not so difficult as it's a bite sized album) that it all began to make sense and now I'm completely hooked. It's like, forget trying to learn to play Field Music songs, they're such musical innovators you need to learn how to listen to them! There's just no-one else out there doing what these boys are doing at the moment. Brilliant album. Think I saw another review compare it to 2nd side of Abbey Road and it does have the same relentless restless quality, one catchy pop hook after another dispensed with almost careless abandon.

I know you shouldn't really feed the trolls but it's odd that both the 1 star reviews happen mention the Mercury Prize. Feels almost like an ill-concieved smear campaign by some other band's junior PR knob end...because I'm sure the Mercury judging panel pay very close attention to the Amazon customer reviews when they make their selections. To be honest I had no idea that Field Music were in contention and much as I'd love them to get a bit more exposure, one gets the feeling that the Brewis Bros would probably be a bit uncomfortable with the whole thing, especially as they've said they're thinking of going on to some more solo projects after this. And as for the fact they both mention 'repetitive' (!) - this album is anything but. The songs so avowedly avoid the traditional verse/chorus/verse/chorus structure that it's a bit like the first time you listen to Love's 'Forever Changes'; hard to get your head around at first but ultimately richly rewarding.

I don't necessarily know if this record would be the best place to be introduced to Field Music - if someone had never heard of the band before I might instead point them towards the compilation of their two solo LPs Field Music: The Week That Was/School Of Language Still amazingly catchy and complex songwriting but each record has a more cohesive sound with not as many stylistic turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plumb: Field Music - NOT just like everyone else!, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
I am thoroughly enjoying this latest recording from Indy band Field Music. With harmonisations that bear comparison with the Beatles (several of the songs here make me think of Revolver era tracks from the Fab 4), and a series of quirky and inventive backings that bounce and trip along in an easy going manner that belie their complexity this is an album that bears repeated listening. Lyrically a little downbeat with tales of heartbreak and loss, but done in such a charming and stylish fashion, and with a dry sense of humour that you feel uplifted at the end. Definitley a rather individualist album, thre aren't many people oput there making music like this at the moment. It has a somewhat English feel and sensibility to it, which for me just adds to the pleasure.

A very good listen, one that I would recommend to fans of recent Herman Dune offerings and the like. 5 stars, I am loving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Great Vinyl, 24 Feb 2012
By 
B. Jury "benjury" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plumb [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Very impressed with this album. If you're here then you already know how good the music is, with all the different flavours going on.

The vinyl itself is very impressive. Its a 180g so feels just perfect, not gate-fold, but the sleeve is not the normal run of the mill white bit of paper affair, but is printed in colour with the lyrics.

The audio is fantastic, testament to that are the words on the sleeve "In order to preserve sonic fidelity, this record has been mastered using significantly less compression and limiting than most contemporary records. For maximum please, please turn your stereo system UP!" If only more companies followed suit.

Oh, and did I mention the Vinyl was PURPLE?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A different idea of what better can be'., 21 May 2012
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
Heard 'New Town' on 6 and tried it out. It's REALLY good. Kind of like a contemporary Gentle Giant but with far nicer clothes. Always a good sign when I play it too much in the car and keep neglecting to play other new CDs. The couple of duller tracks, 'Pilgrim St' and 'From hide and seek' are, of course, the less adventurous. Other than that, nothing hangs around for long, which makes for a sparkly and extremely melodic roller coaster ride. 1% guilty pleasure, 99% top stuff. Should be interesting to see what they're live, later in the year. Fascinating to see the 'this is dull stuff' comments - go on - mention what DOES float your boats then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 April 2012
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
Bought this on a whim and haven't stopped listening to it, excellent album and will seek out their past work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mutant children of XTC, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
This is the 4th album by the Brewis brothers, Peter & David , who are based in the North East of England. It has garnered widespread good critical reviews, and crams 15 tracks into just 36 minutes. The overiding comparison for me is with XTC, with intelligent articulate songs with distinctive frequent time changes, sometimes dense production, spikey angular guitar moments interspersed with melodic vocals and some classy arrangements with violins and cello. There is lots to take in, and even after half a dozen listens, new aspects reveal themselves in this fascinating complex smorgasbord. A couple of times 3 or 4 tracks run into each other, and initially you are not clear whether this is still the same track taking a different twist, or a new song. There are a few sound effects, like chiming clock tower bells at the opening of A Prelude to Pilgrim Steet. Choosing Sides starts off with a deep synthesiser refrain that reminds me bizzarely of the alien tune from film Close Encounters of the 3rd Kind. The snippet of track 12, How Many More Times , is just beautiful acapella vocals. Sometimes they seem a bit too clever for their own good, which perhaps alienates the casual listener, and where they keep it simpler , it maybe better. An intriguing collection that repays repeated listening, where the complex arrangements become more familiar. You are drawn into stories behind some of the songs, like being late on frustrating jouneys on Sorry Again Mate; economic pressures of day to day life on Who'll Pay the Bills; and trying to understand complex theories (I keep Thinking About) a New Thing. So wideranging subject matter, standing out as distinct and different from most of the standard pop fodder, but keeping things a bit more staightforward might be even better in the future to appeal to a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More XTC then Beatles., 16 Feb 2012
By 
C. Pearson "cpwolves" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
Field Music have created their finest album here. The melancholia of lyrics looking back to simpler times is a counterpoint to playful rhythms and fun tunes; clearly they aren't afraid to experiment and have musical ideas to spare.
After repeated listens, like any great album you gain more and more from each track - best album of 2012 so far as far as I'm concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Hopes Are Fulfilled, 26 Sep 2012
By 
bish (Northampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
Having read the rare negative reviews of this album I still feel I have to bump the ratings up a bit.
Being a Kinks, Small Faces, Hollies, ELO, XTC (my nearest and dearest) and Blur fan I was wondering where my next fix of quintessential English music would come from.
This year I discovered Field Music (thanks to 6 Music),bought the entire back catalogue and found the legacy I have yearned for has been continued in a glorious way.
All the influences I have mentioned above are continued in this wonderful album - I won't faff around going into individual track reviews (I'll leave that to more musically educated individuals than I) but if you get my drift from my favourite line of music then you will know where I'm coming from - HOPE YOU WIN THE MERCURY LADS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Field Music - Plumb, 11 April 2012
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
The Sunderland brothers, Peter and David Brewis return with a mix up to their line-up and their fourth studio album. The ambition of this album is commendable, if you are willing to let it grow on you but it's unlikely to be love at first listen.

Plumb has an English feel though it's a departure from the London lo-fi shoegaze or the indie clubbing early naughties revival. Yet the jam-packed 15 song, 35 minute album is just shy of chamber pop as well. If you're looking for the sound of fun and interesting British music, you've come to the wrong place.

Instantly you can hear the influence of The Beatles which is always a bonus. There's not much that's similar to Field Music floating about at the moment either. Their sound however needs a few listens to trudge through its complexity to the goodness so fans and newbies alike will have to give it some time.

There are creative song arrangements but you can get lost in Plumb, the first few songs can easily bleed together. The album's extra layers and texture make it stand out from the standard northern guitar band style but four albums in; it probably isn't friendly to first time listeners.

Check out my review here [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic as ever, 1 Mar 2012
By 
M. Evans "Novice Mathematic" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plumb (Audio CD)
Field Music make fantastic albums and Plumb is no exception. It's not the longest at around 35 minutes but the quality far outshines the quantity. This is an album by a band at the top of their game, the harmonies are excellent and the songs structures, ideas and musicianship constantly keep you guessing. Field Music are one of the few bands that I will buy music from before I've read any reviews or heard any singles etc and after this album that isn't going to change any time soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Plumb
Plumb by Field Music (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews