Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars10
3.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
4
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2012
Although the story line is quite good his knowledge of Roman history is a joke and as for the grammar well what can you say, ruff instead of rough, barley instead of barely, drug instead of dragged, (thats an American way of saying is it not) the list goes on. Did he not have a proof reader! if so he needs to sack them. Please Mr Brown if you intend to write another book on Roman history research the facts first.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Book reads as a collection of very short essays, poorly strung together with no real direction combined with frequent errors in spelling and grammar. Would not recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Good plot but the spelling in this book is shocking, needs a good proof reader or even just a spell check. Some research would have helped as there are a lot of inaccuracies about weapons used by Roman soldiers and about relationships portrayed between Senators and mere centurions,This may be a work of fiction but factual inaccuracies are very annoying and make it all but unreadable unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
A well written riveting read, full of action and told with much skill and extensive knowledge of ancient times by the author. Where this book falls down are the constant spelling mistakes, misuse of the simplest of words and near complete absence of grammer. For a book that costs the same as it's paperback counterpart these errors are not only dissapointing but actually make what should be an enjoyable read into an almost unintelligable spouting of babble. Come on Amazon hire some proofreaders!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Historically incorrect. Grammatically incorrect , but plenty of action. This author does not know his history!!! I found it very irritating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
This is not a high brow read which is going to add anything to your knowledge of the Roman legions, in the genre which is dominated by Simon Scarrow, Harry Sidebottom and a host of other excellent wriiters who have given us memorable reads.

Forget about the grammar, the unusual mispellings and structure which had lead me to believe that the author was not a native english speaker or that they had a spell checker switched on for serbo-croat because calvary for cavalry was repeatedly used implying someone had selected change all as an option.

OK, the historical innacuracies such as a group of centurions being sent on a 'dirty dozen' type mission, the use of chariots as a sort of jeep, the unusual 'orders of battle', the vagaries of location and timeline which reference people and things which the story predates -put them aside, that much loved organ the 'Grauniad'a nd 'Hollywood' have done them all and are still loved. The fact that the Author refers to his influences as Louis La Moore rather than Louis Lamour tells me his/her eye for detail is not crystal clear.

The grace notes which make you identify with the story if we know the period are not there, it is in effect an adventure story transposed into the 'Roman' period described in a 20th century refernce point a bit similar to a range of modern TV series such as 'Hercules', Robin Hood et al.

The important thing is that beside all of these points, which others will scoff at I enjoyed the story, he/she kept it moving and the characters were enjoyable in the super soldier mould. The pages turn well enough and the story made a pleasant break from my other reading which includes Josephus - Histories and Tacitus.

I had a couple of rainy days to pass and the book helped.

I have read turgid stories that were incredibly accurate so enjoy it for what it is not what it isn't.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
A great read from the first page to the last, the characters are well developed and the story keeps the reader wanting more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Enjoyed the story, kept me reading.
If a book can do this for me I'm happy enough with the content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2012
I read a lot of historical fiction and although this book is full of historical errors it is after all fiction. The book is also littered with spelling and grammatical errors but I can forgive that for the pace at which it is written. These errors started out as annoying, but I found them quite amusing in the middle, and damn right funny towards the end. The author is after all American,
This is a whole series of stories packed into one book. It never slows down from the beginning to the end and is very easy to read. The characters are well written without going into the superfluous details. The only downside is the predictability of one set of characters deaths, but I can forgive that.
A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
Liked it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.