Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars132
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2011
This concert exceeds my expectations by far. The line-up of star guests is impressive, the orchestra is fabulous and Bocelli himself simply stunning. Condidering that the concert was aimed at a 60,000-strong audience, the balance between opera and non-classical material is just right.

Andrea's rendition of 'Amazing Grace' is just that - amazing. All the opera arias and duets are sung with great passion and style by both Andrea and his guests, and Andrea sounds better than ever. Another wonderful performance is 'Aranjuez'. The mix of old favourites and new surprises is spot on. Beautifully done, yet again, Andrea!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 November 2011
Five ENCHANTING Stars! What a night of marvelous music by Andrea Bocelli & friends on the Great Lawn in Central Park before an enthusiastic audience! On this 2011 recording, the 53 year old master tenor virtuoso, the biggest selling artist in classical music history, sings many of his most famous and marvelous operatic arias and once again demonstrates his ability to 'cross over' with ease, with an all-star international cast of individual guests, supported by maestro Alan Gilbert and the New York Philharmonic with the Westminster Symphonic Choir. All performances are uniformly excellent and range from tour de force arias from well-known operas by the likes of Verde and Pucinni to inspired familiar religious favorites ("Amazing Grace" and "Ave Maria"), jaunty popular English and Italian hits, songs from movie soundtracks, and a movement from Joaquin Rodrigo's masterwork concierto. Indeed, the operatic arias "La donna è mobile", "Di quella pira", "O soave fanciulia", "O Sole Mio", a fabulous "Vicino A Te S'acqueta" with Grammy-winning Puerto Rican soprano Ana Maria Martinez; and the showstopper of Act 1 "Libiamo Ne' Lieti Calici" (with the trio of South Africa's Zulu soprano phenom Pretty Yende, Ana Maria again, and Welsh bass-baritone Bryn Terfel) are sublime performances. In addition, there are other performances of note: the soaring version of the Golden Globe-winning duet with Celine Dion of "The Prayer", and Andrea singing the English lyric to the haunting Ennio Morricone love theme from Sergio Leone's epic spaghetti western "Once Upon A Time in the West". Other favorites are the lively, but bumpy duet with Tony Bennett on "New York, New York", Chris Botti on trumpet and David Foster's piano on "More" (the theme from the movie "Mondo Cane"), and Scottish violin star Nicola Benedetti's blazing passages on "En Aranjuez Con Tu Amor" from Rodrigo's "Concierto de Aranjuez". And perhaps best of all, Andrea's true solo 'goose bump' show stopper "Nessun dorma" which elicits screams from the audience on the altissimo passages as the choir joins in later. What a great night of music! Bravo, Andrea and friends! My Highest Recommendation. Five MARVELOUS Stars! (17 tracks; Time ~ 73m:10s)
0Comment|64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
Bought as a present for my wife, we both thoroughly enjoyed the dvd Bocelli as usual an excellent relaxed performer supported by super entertainment stars, it all captures what must have been a fantastic atmosphere in NY. Will watch and enjoy many times. Cd is now stored in my wifes car Cd player, no chance of borrowing that.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nowhere near as good as his "Vivere" album because the quality of the recording is very poor with unnecessary background noise and poor output, it sounds like it was recorded from the back of an auditorium to give the impression of "being there" , I know it was a live recording but I've heard plenty of good live recordings where the artist is better represented. Also I personally didn't like the screeching female artist who accompanied him on one of the tracks but that's just my opinion - if you like Andrea Bocelli you'll probably be disappointed with this album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
I can't stand most other music but have been a big fan of Bocelli voice since mid 90's and given this CD at Christmas 2011, have been playing this regularly ever since along with the other 90+ CD's I've collected. You can also see the NY concert and hear these tracks on youtube. As a second present that Christmas, I was given 3 tickets to see AB in Liverpool Echo Arena in Nov 2012 - I had to wait 11 months to get to the Nov concert! - Was sat about 60 feet from the great man himself surrounded by 15,000 in the audience. AB voice just blew us all away and Echo Arena is a big place! Half way through he walked back out on stage by himself with a guitar, sat down and unaccompanied, sang Paul McCartney's 'Yesterday' - 15000 scousers' were beside themselves. If AB had dedicated it to the Hillsborough families, I reckon he could have just asked to be Liverpool Mayor or Liverpool FC Manager that night and he would have had the job in a jot...Liverpool loves Andrea Bocelli and he can come back any time he wants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I could listen to this CD all day every day as the music is beautiful and has many special artists featured.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
Again, after ordering this item, the confirmation came, and it was delivered promptly and efficiently. It is a wonderful concert, with many of my favourite songs by a great artist and other contributors which I love. I have most of Andrea's CDs and they never disappoint, there is always something new and fresh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2011
This album exceeds my expectations! It features a great cast of star guests, and Bocelli himself is simply stunning, both in his operatic arias and his non-classical performances. I can never understand why he is treated with such venom by some classical music critics. Perhaps they just cannot accept an artist who has a style and sound all his own. Fortunately, most of us don't need the critics to make up our minds for us!
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This CD is Excellent. The CD was a birthday present for a family member who was Highly Delighted with it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
yes got this for mother in law she loves this man he is a great singer so proud of him
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)