Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different paranormal for you
As soon as I received this book to my kindle and started reading I was hooked. The writing is so rich and absorbing that it was difficult to put it down even for a few minutes!

Firstly the main character, Arelia, is someone I can relate to. From a poor background she and her Gran-mere have had to work hard just to keep a roof over their heads. Everything in...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Charlotte Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very good read
Very good gripping read, a little predictable, characters are likeable and an all round enjoyable read! Onto the next one!
Published 15 months ago by Amy Sheppard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different paranormal for you, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
As soon as I received this book to my kindle and started reading I was hooked. The writing is so rich and absorbing that it was difficult to put it down even for a few minutes!

Firstly the main character, Arelia, is someone I can relate to. From a poor background she and her Gran-mere have had to work hard just to keep a roof over their heads. Everything in Arelia's life is about survival so its no surprise when she decides to take the job offer of summer work at the Darkwood Estate.

Her best friend, Sabrina, comes from the other side of the fence, the rich side. While Arelia is very proud and would never accept any monetary help from Sabrina, her best friend still shows her kindness in different ways. Yes, Sabrina is spoiled beyond belief. Her work ethic is nonexistent and she has only one wish. To meet and eventually marry the heir to the Darkwood estate. The only problem is that Lucas, gorgeous and mysterious as he is only has eyes for Arelia. But why?

The characters in this story are brilliant and well developed. Ivan, the most annoying waiter, the irritating guests such as the Dumpty's, and Ms Mae and her secrets. All of them pop out of the book with such life that you feel like you're really in the house experiencing it all first hand.

And I can't not mention the food! I'm from England. I've never been to New Orleans. I have no idea what a pain perdu, buttermilk drop, shrimp gumbo, or any of the other delicious sounding foods are. I had to google them just to see pictures. The mentions of the food made even my mouth water!

The scenery of the Darkwood Estate is described exquisitely and was such an excellent backdrop for this amazing book. Arelia has a mysterious past that she has little knowledge of. Spirits talk to her as though they've known her for years, yet she doesn't understand why they come to her. Lucas singles her out and pays great attention to her. But he has a mysterious past too. And only Arelia has the ability to discover the truth and help him.

What I liked most was the fact that the author had clearly done a huge amount of research about Voodoo, the Spirits and the history that comes with it, especially that of the slave trade.

All in all, I loved Bound. I'm now reading Punished (Book 2) and I can't wait to find out what happens next! And Lucas? He can have my heart any day!! This is a must read for anyone who loves Paranormal Romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 2 Mar 2013
By 
i_heart_the_doc (west midlands UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
Really great read, had me hooked from the start. Can't wait to read more and find out what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
I love this book it's awesome and I love supernatural things I would read the series and show my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
I like the fact that this book was written around plantations and superstitions. A working holiday, which turned out to be totally different from what was expected. Interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Down in Darkwood, 22 Feb 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
Oh, I love books about New Orleans, especially if they somehow incorporate voodoo and history into them.

So I hoped to really enjoy "Bound," the first novella of Kira Saito's Arelia LaRue series -- it has voodoo, ghosts, snakes, a gorgeous old plantation and lots of atmosphere. Sadly, it also has a massively unattractive heroine, no real ending and some major writing flaws that badly need to be addressed.

Against the wishes of her grandmother, Arelia LaRue takes a job at Darkwood Plantation with her best friend Sabrina (who is every rich blonde slut cliche crammed into in one character). Within an hour of arriving, Arelia discovers that the Darkwood cook is her great-aunt, that she has special voodoo powers granted by the loa Erzulie, and even gets a visit from said loa.

She also encounters Lucus, the handsome and charming scion of the family. Arelia immediately hates him because he's rich (seriously, that's the main reason), but for some reason he's very interested in her. And as she learns more about Darkwood, it becomes clear that an ancient power still holds the place.

I really had high hopes for this novella. Kira Saito loads the novella up with haunting Southern atmosphere and a truckload of voodoo stuff, ranging from appearances by the loa to a gris-gris-making class. Honestly, there's a lot of potential here, and I was disappointed when the rest of the novel didn't stack up.

One of the biggest problems is pacing -- Saito rockets through the story at light speed, pelting Arelia with massive revelations about her powers, family and history in a very short time. There are no quiet moments where the characters can breathe, no foreshadowing before they learn anything. Saito really needs to learn how to stretch out her story, learn to develop the characters and setting more.

Also, too much celebrity name-dropping and labels. There are a few continuity issues -- at one point Arelia makes a promise to matchmake a couple of loa... but unless I missed something, she never did. I don't think it's safe to break that sort of promise to a loa.

However, the biggest problem is Arelia herself. She is AWFUL. She comes across as a paranoid, gullible, bipolar mess. It's hard to see why a guy as nice and pleasant as Lucus is attracted to her, because she's constantly sneering at him and telling him what a horrible, worthless person he is because... he's rich. In one fun scene, she actually throws lumps of mud at him.

The other characters are a spotty bunch. Sabrina is a vile character which has no real purpose except to be vile, and most of the guests are forgettable. But Lucus is rather charming, Ms. Mae is intriguingly ambiguous, and the neglected "poor little rich boy" Ben is rather sweet.

Kira Saito has an intriguing premise and loads of atmosphere, but the nasty main character and too-fast writing need to be fixed before it can count as "good."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bound, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this story and it deserves this rating and I'd recomend it. The story line was well paced and the characters were well developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
Really good would recommend to everyone wish it wasn't so short and the end of a paragraph wasn't so cutthroat ending also I wish Sabrina wasn't such a cow. Also voodoo Kid kind of creepy although ho they do it I less evil. I love that Lucas ha vulnerabilities as well I makes home seem more human an I hate it when the Gus are big shots who don't show any emotion except on rare occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very good read, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
Very good gripping read, a little predictable, characters are likeable and an all round enjoyable read! Onto the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
OMG I read this in one night it was that interesting I'm just happy there's more books like this because I am hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bound, An Arelia LaRue Novel #1 YA Paranormal Fantasy/Romance (The Arelia LaRue Series) (Kindle Edition)
really got into it, the series is brilliant, would reccommend to those who like haunting romance novels with a twist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews