Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey!
I had a feeling this wasn't going to disappoint and it certainly didn't. This is one of the very, very few CDs that I've ever bought that I've played repeatedly (and I mean repeatedly!) since the day it arrived.
In case you didn't know, it's The Misfits giving classic songs from the 1950s the punk treatment and with the exception of "Great Balls of Fire" (a bit of a...
Published on 9 Aug. 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing Line Up, Dissapointing Album...
Rubbish! Last decent CD was 1999's excellent, Famous Monsters. The idea is sound but this line up is poor & the vocals are dire!
If they'd recorded this with at least Michael Graves on vocals, it could have worked, but Jerry Only should stick to the four strings only!! His lead vocals are the pits!
There's none of the power that Famous Monsters had, especially...
Published on 1 Jun. 2008 by Adam Jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey!, 9 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
I had a feeling this wasn't going to disappoint and it certainly didn't. This is one of the very, very few CDs that I've ever bought that I've played repeatedly (and I mean repeatedly!) since the day it arrived.
In case you didn't know, it's The Misfits giving classic songs from the 1950s the punk treatment and with the exception of "Great Balls of Fire" (a bit of a dud I thought)they sound absolutely terrific. Only one of 'em clocks in at over three minutes! - my only complaint is that 10 short tracks doesn't exactly fill a CD (Mind you too much of a good thing and all that).
Misfits die hards will probably argue it's not really The Misfits but Jerry Only (orignal Misfit), Dez Cadenza (ex Black Flag) and Marky Ramone (ex, er, The Ramones) and guests have come up trumps here.
Go on, treat yourself and I can all but guarantee:
1. You won't be able to resist smiling (especially to "Monster Mash");
2. You won't be able to stop yourself singing along at the top of your voice (especially to "You Belong To Me")and;
3. You'll marvel at the backing vocals (including Ronnie Spector on a couple of tracks).
and, oh yeah, if you play it loud in the car you'll probably find it gets your adrenalin pumping so hard your heart will start beating harder. Mine did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant!, 2 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
When I first heard about this album, I really didn't have high hopes for it as it was jerry singing, and they were playing 50's songs. However when I actually listened to it it just sounded awesome!

1.This magic moment:
9/10
Brilliant start to album, pounding guitars and bass, jerry's vocals fit the style perfectly, also has some sweet backing vocals (although I can't remember who it is doing them)

2.Dream lover
9/10
Another blinding track, features more awesome vocals and rhythm guitar work.

3.Diana
10/10
Truly amazing cover, nice saxophone riff at the beginning and chorus, once again guitar sounds great along with everything else, some cool backing vocals on this one too

4.Donna
10/10
Superbly different take on the original, definitely the heaviest song on the album, jerry sings this perfectly for the style of music.

5.Great balls of fire
5/10
This is the only cover on the album that could be considered bad, or at least mediocre. Jerry's vocals just don't work on this particular song, they're too shouty and over the top.

6.Latest flame
8/10
Thankfully the album picks up again at this point, this track sounds pretty good for the style it's played in, and overall a pretty good cover

7.Monster mash
10/10
Definitely the best track on the album, the guitar and vocals just sound awesome, there are also some great backing vocals on this that really add to the song as well.

8.Only make believe
9/10
Really nice ballad song, great to sing along to, great deep vocals from jerry, superb chorus

9.Runaway
8/10
Another good track, bit overlooked by me sometimes sadly, still got some decent vocals

10.You belong to me
10/10
Superb closer to the album, another good sing along track, truly great sounding vocals, great listen.

So overall this is an awesome covers and misfits album, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unsurprisingly Delightful..., 8 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
How does Jerry Only do it? I doubt even he knows, wanting as he does merely to play some loud fast rock 'n' roll. Yet the apparent simplicity of this album disguises genius. The genius of being able to evoke the tone of THREE different eras (the innocent glee of the fifties/sixties that spawned the tracks provided here, the snarling punk of the seventies from whence the 'Fits sprang, whilst clearly sounding as fresh as the 21st century act that they are today). The genius of being able to retain the distinctive sounds of both The Ramones and Black Flag via the (excellent) work of their ex-members (Marky Ramone and Dez Cadena respectively). And the genius of being able to do all this whilst simultaneously defining the album as quite clearly a Misfits product. A contradiction? In print, most certainly, but this miracle needs to be heard to be understood. If you know the 'Fits, then reviewing each track is largely redundant. It's simply a collection of songs from wayback given the full Misfits makeover. Not heard the album? Just IMAGINE what The Misfits tearing through Richie Valens's "Donna" might sound like, and with sublime reliability, that's exactly what Jerry has provided. For EVERY SINGLE TRACK. Not one duff number. And if that's not enough, they've thrown in a DVD featuring live performances of 5 of the tracks, plus a performance of "The Day The Earth Caught Fire" with 'Fits disciples Balzac. A joy for 'Fits completists, novices and - well, anyone who EVER appreciated Rock 'n' Roll played with the joy and gusto with which it was intended. An instant timeless classic, but then again isn't that what The Misfits have been providing for over 25 years now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 50's classics done in The Misfits style., 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
An album of 50's pop covers was probably the last thing Misfits fans expected but that's what they did and, I might add, with great success. The band, in this particular occasion, are Jerry Only of the original group, Dez Cadena of Black Flag and Marky Ramone of The Ramones. I can't figure out if it's meant seriously or as parody. Certainly the speed and vocal delivery often belie the lovey-dovey lyrics. In any case it's very enjoyable, great to sing along to or blast on the car stereo. The DVD is very funny and a nice bonus to this edition. Highlights: This Magic Moment, Dream Lover, Diana and Monster Mash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'FIENDISHLY GOOD'., 5 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
WOW,WHAT CAN I SAY? I EAGERLY AWAITED THE POST THIS MORNING FOR THIS ALBUM AND IT HASN'T LEFT MY CD PLAYER YET.OK SO IT'S NOT A 'REGULAR' FITS LINE UP,BUT THAT DOSEN'T TAKE AWAY FROM THE QUALITY OF THIS RELEASE.JERRY ONLY HAS ASSEMBLED AN 'ALL STAR LINE UP'CONSISTING OF HIMSELF,DEZ OF BLACK FLAG FAME,AND THE ONE AND ONLY MARKY RAMONE ON DRUMS AND BOY DO THEY DELIVER.THE DISC KICKS OFF WITH 'THIS MAGIC MOMENT'WITH RONNIE SPECTOR ON BACKING VOCALS AND QUICKLY MOVES ON TO BOBBY DARINS'DREAM LOVER'.YOU ARE CARRIED ALONG ON A WAVE OF SIMILAR 50'S NOSTALGIA WITH THE LIKES OF DIANA,DONNA,AND A SLIGHTLY WEAK VERSION OF 'GREAT BALLS OF FIRE'.A CLASSIC ELVIS TRACK FOLLOWS IN THE SHAPE OF 'LATEST FLAME'WHICH REALLY IS DONE JUSTICE.A TRACK THE 'FITS HAVE RECORDED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS,'MONSTER MASH'COMES UP NEXT,AND I MUST SAY THIS IS THE BEST/FASTEST VERSION YET.ON THE SUBJECT OF SPEED,THATS MY ONLY(NO PUN INTENDED JERRY!)CRITICISM OF THE ALBUM,IT'S ONLY MAKE BELIEVE,RUNAWAY,AND YOU BELONG TO ME COME AND GO IN THE BLINK OF AN EYE AND,AFTER JUST OVER 24 MINUTES,IT'S ALL OVER.
TO SUM UP,IF YOU ARE A FAN OF THE MISFITS OR JUST A SUCKER FOR A CATCHY 50'S TUNE YOU WILL LOVE THIS.....I SURE DO.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing Line Up, Dissapointing Album..., 1 Jun. 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
Rubbish! Last decent CD was 1999's excellent, Famous Monsters. The idea is sound but this line up is poor & the vocals are dire!
If they'd recorded this with at least Michael Graves on vocals, it could have worked, but Jerry Only should stick to the four strings only!! His lead vocals are the pits!
There's none of the power that Famous Monsters had, especially with guitar & drums.
And the bonus live DVD is embarassingly bad!!!
Seriously, this band is dead - I'm all for a second chance (I'm a Metallica fan!!) but the set up is SO wrong.
Bring back Graves, Doyle & Dr Chud - it's the ONLY hope!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jerry Only Singing Love Songs................., 28 Jun. 2005
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
Well if you thought Astro Zombies, Teenagers From Mars or Nights Of The Living Dead were scary, you aint nearly prepared for the biggest fright of all - Jerry Only singing love songs.
Although it may take a while to get use to the romantic songs (i couldn't help interpreting 'You Belong To Me' in the same light as 'Helena' from Famous Monsters) when you eventually do i'm sure you'll come to except that this is a very good album. The usual distorted guitars are present, as are a variety of other instruments and a lot of backing singers, some of which are famous, others of which are a little annoying - the female backing singers in some of the songs do sound like middle aged Texans with that annoying, impossible-to-describe accent.
As you probably guessed this is not a normal Misfits album. The songs are not based around horror (except Monster Mash) and there are lots of guest appearances and extra instruments, something that would never have previously been seen. I can understand why that would put some of the hardcore Fiends off of buying it, but if you want something a little more upbeat then usual -especially with summer arriving- or feel like a blast from the past (I can't believe i just typed that) then this is definately worth buying.
The reason the album only got four stars is because it is a little short, clocking in at about 30 minutes but apart from that, I personally don't see any problems with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 4 Aug. 2003
By 
Steven Farkas (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Project 1950 (Audio CD)
I bought this album and I have to say I was not disappointed. My finger never went near the skip button and tracks like "Diana" and "Runaway" are great covers and typically Misfits.

Its nothing ground breaking, but its a very fun listen and a worthwhile addition to any misfits fans library..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Project 1950
Project 1950 by The Misfits
Buy MP3 Album£7.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews