Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Haunted returns!
I have to admit, I'm a Most Haunted fan. I have been since the day it started. Heartbroken that I thought it would never return, when I saw the Christmas Special, I was worried it might just be rehashed episodes or weird sub-MH which was like a terrible ghost of the original series (aka the latest Live- what happened?!).
However. Even though there is no psychic, even...
Published on 10 Jan 2012 by Victoria Reid

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. -off
This seemed like a hurried pilot trying to sell to a new tv channel, which obviously hasn't happened (Yvette had recently said on radio about a so-called new Christmas series), so they thought they'd cash in on the sale of a dvd. This would be ok if they put some details on the sleeve notes, telling you what you're going to get, but to charge this much for a single...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by Rafman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Haunted returns!, 10 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit, I'm a Most Haunted fan. I have been since the day it started. Heartbroken that I thought it would never return, when I saw the Christmas Special, I was worried it might just be rehashed episodes or weird sub-MH which was like a terrible ghost of the original series (aka the latest Live- what happened?!).
However. Even though there is no psychic, even though there is no scream-flounce-flap-Leslie, its new approach is excellent. In this episode there are piles of weird stuff and stacks of fearful what-was-that moments which make it that little bit more exciting.
If you're a MH fan and have been missing it, don't worry. It's no David Wells reunion but it's bloody good and worth every penny. I'm not just saying that either. Oh and the money is worth it just to hear Yvette mention that there would be a next time. Please! Let there be a next time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. -off, 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
This seemed like a hurried pilot trying to sell to a new tv channel, which obviously hasn't happened (Yvette had recently said on radio about a so-called new Christmas series), so they thought they'd cash in on the sale of a dvd. This would be ok if they put some details on the sleeve notes, telling you what you're going to get, but to charge this much for a single episode is a complete rip-off of their fans.
As usual they get into some interesting situations, but never pursue the happenings by using multiple cameras to film all angles, keeping a camera fixed on trigger objects e.g. the bell. They continue with their "Blair Witch" style of filming themselves screaming and swearing (at least it's not annoyingly bleeped out this time). With all their experience, this reaction wears a bit thin now, and funny how Yvette is able to control herself on the "Ghost Hunting with..." series.
This dvd is appearing all the more desperate and the events looking ever more & more staged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Spirits?, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
First of all, I wasn't pleased upon receiving the dvd to find out it only ran for 69 mins, the price should be much cheaper and the running time should be included in the description. Can't fathom why it's called "Christmas Spirits" as there is nothing of Christmas about the episode which was disappointing. The inclusion of Fred Batt, previously the Demonologist now the Historian, and Phil Whyman, Ciaran's predecessor, was not welcome and why oh why haven't they got rid of irritating, ear piercing Cath yet? I don't mind them doing a bit of screaming and shouting when they are startled or scared but Cath's often unnecessary screaming should be an arrestable offence as well as her whining! They could keep her as make up lady but please keep her off camera. I missed Ciaran and Leslie and I would like there to be a medium even if it is Brian Shepherd.

There were some interesting incidents but the lack of more camera angles let things down a bit. Surely they could find and afford a few cameras that would take in the whole room which would have come in handy in the rooms where the bell and books were kept.

All in all it was an OK episode, still needs improving, it's a big maybe but maybe if they got shot of Fred and his demonology the much missed David Wells would come back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Christmas con, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a Most Haunted fan since the very first series. I have become increasingly disappointed with the show recently, every show has the same contents : screaming, knocks in reply to questions, the team moving a glass around the table and lifting it with their knees.

I bought this 'Christmas Spirits' edition in hope that there would be something different about it. I was wrong. A complete let down, nothing new, only one show on the dvd and absolutely NOTHING to do with Christmas at all, not even a mention of it.
May I add that this was also filmed when the leaves were still on the trees, so where are the 'Christmas Spirits'?

What ever happened to trigger objects, movement sensors, emf readers and lock off cameras in sealed off rooms?
This is clearly yet another bunch of well planned set up scenes where the camera just happens not to have cought the action when it happens, and just a money spinner to top up the teams bank accounts this Christmas.
A complete waste of money, don't bother!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable, 1 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
I did enjoy this dvd. I was really glad that the team had made something new and recent. I am a fan of the show and this outing wasn't out of the ordinary for them but it still entertains you with what you have come to expect. Good for the library of the dedicated fan. Full of atmosphere and great to see MH team in action again. Hope to see more from them soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David's Review, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
Back after a long break with another investigation that doesn't disappoint with a great level of activity, particularly the bell ringing with no one near it. Most Haunted fans you must watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Haunted Christmas Spirits, 2 Jan 2012
By 
R. Childs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
If your a fan of Most Haunted this is a must have.This is a welcome return for the majority of the crew although there are some changes.Fred Batt takes over the role of historian from Leslie Smith,but unfortunately cannot replace the genuine enthusiasm of Richard Felix.Phil Whyman fills the role of sceptic and paranormal expert and acts as the voice of reason.Other than that the only other change to the normal team is that there is no medium.However,in my opinion,this does not detract from the investigation.

The location of The Rifles Museum in Salisbury is an excellent choice for this episode being a building with its own illustrious history filled with artifacts that have seen more than their own share of life and death.If you are going to find paranormal activity then this is a good place to search.

Whether you believe in spirits or not you cannot beat this for a good bit of entertainment and is just the thing for those dark cold winter nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed mh fan, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
I was really disappointed as the description does not apply to this mh dvd I feel as it is misold to discripe it as a christmas most haunted it had nothing to do with christmas at all and is never mentioned it was a good mh investigation but I bought it thinking it would be about mh investigation about christmas hauntings disappointed mh fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 12 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series, and this special is terrific fun! A wonderful setting, fascinating background and amazing things happening. Won't spoil it for other viewers. However, on the minus side, far too much swearing and screaming. Rather uncalled for in my humble opinion. As a Christmas special, it was a good idea. I did really enjoy this programme - no adverts thankfully - and it is a bit longer than usual programmes. This one I will watch again and again. Hopefully, there will be another series sometime, it seems there might from Yvette's little hint at the end. No Keiran O'Keefe either, putting his spoil sport spanner in the works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice return to form, 21 Jan 2012
This review is from: Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this DVD. This was the closest thing yet to returning to the old days.

Although it wasn't the best Most Haunted episode, it was a very good episode. I appreciated the fact that they sort of took back the old photography and filmed the building as it was without too many visual effects and color washes. I liked that. I will never visit these places and it would be the only way I could see a building like that without it being washed in different colors and distorted. To me, that was a plus.

I did miss the psychic part. I don't think the psychic part should be the main focus of the show like it did before, but it would have been neat at least to have, even a local psychic's commentary for a few minutes.

I liked how when they preformed a seance, they spelled out at the bottom of the screen what the letters were the glass touched.

But everyone seemed glad to be back together. It seemed like they were a little unsure of themselves on how to make this show. The editing was a little off and choppy, but I will take this direction Most Haunted is going in any day!

At the end Yvette announces that there are more investigations to come and they will be bigger and better than ever before!

There was a blooper section that in some spots was hilarious.
Yvette asks Stuart :Can you ask if there are any German spirits here.
Stuart: Are there any German spirits here?
Yvette: I meant ask in GERMAN

Cath did scream a little bit much, but if you watch her, she is actually hilarious in the dark. She can't see in the dark period and her reactions are sometimes quite funny. I remember in one live Silent Town Yvette tells everyone to stand still, and Cath stops short facing Cirian's chest about thisclose, and you can tell she doesn't know how close together they are, and he can't tell either because he's taller.

But the show did appear to be a pilot. And I look for things to get better from here, not that there was anything wrong with this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD]
Most Haunted: Christmas Spirits [DVD] by Yvette Fielding (DVD - 2011)
5.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews