Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rom Com since What Rats Won't Do
I love this film, i rented it for some light entertainment and ended up watching it about 3 times and have just bought the DVD. It's a romantic comedy so you can't expect anything ground breaking but the cast is wonderful and it's full of little gems, lines and moments that really set it apart for me.
Published on 10 Dec 2012 by Rachel

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised
I've been trying to track down a cinema showing of this film without success. I'm a fan of Sally Phillips and was interested in seeing her first feature film. Additionally, I really rate Kelly Macdonald and was intrigued to see her in a British film, given her main work has been US based most recently. The premise of the film is slightly flimsy - world famous actress...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Widget68


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
I've been trying to track down a cinema showing of this film without success. I'm a fan of Sally Phillips and was interested in seeing her first feature film. Additionally, I really rate Kelly Macdonald and was intrigued to see her in a British film, given her main work has been US based most recently. The premise of the film is slightly flimsy - world famous actress (Alice Eve) wants to marry cynical writer (David Tennant) without paparazzi intrusion. Their first wedding is scrapped when a photographer is found in the church, so they decide to reschedule and hold the wedding on a remote island. The Kelly Macdonald character returns to the island after a period away on the mainland; sworn off men, she agrees to help out with the wedding by acting as a decoy bride to fool the paparazzi. Lot's of silliness ensues, however there are some fun set pieces, and Tennant and Macdonald do their best with a script which needed some tightening. The scene with the deaf couple worked really well, and Phillips shows promise as a screen writer. Critics have really panned the film, however I watched the film with my husband who thought it was "entertaining" (which for him is high praise indeed). Buy it if you like light romance and need to check your brain out for an evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rom Com since What Rats Won't Do, 10 Dec 2012
I love this film, i rented it for some light entertainment and ended up watching it about 3 times and have just bought the DVD. It's a romantic comedy so you can't expect anything ground breaking but the cast is wonderful and it's full of little gems, lines and moments that really set it apart for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinderella and her Time Lord (kind of), 27 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
This is a lovely, gentle Cinderella story, with the kind of fairy tale happily ever after ending all little girls who've ever had a crush on a handsome prince (or time lord) will just adore. Very satisfying to find a rom com I could watch with my mother without blushing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
Asolutely fab, laugh out loud. I really enjoyed this film. A nice feel good movie for the weekend with some really good witty lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but fun, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
Watched this over the holidays and though very predictable and quite quaint was still good fun and worth watching on a cold evening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel good movie!, 1 May 2012
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
A little cheesy but sometimes thats what you need! Leaves you with a feel good feeling.well worth a watch.sunday afternoon,comfy couch and this movie ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chick Film, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
Any David Tennant fan would love this film, the story line is very light hearted ideal chick film, well worth buying top marks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie star wants to get married without paparazzi, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Laura Isabel Furtado (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, this is my opinion, of course not everybody will love it, but it's a comedy / romance movie and I loved the combination. I like intelligent characters and the situations in the movie are interesting.
Known story: movie star wants to get married without paparazzi, specially one that follows her everywhere. She and her manager try to arrange situations to distract the paparazzi and keep them away. Even a "decoy bride" is hired. More than that, it's spoiler.
I have to say that I really liked all characters in the movie, just simple people living their lives, of course there are problems, but they have a good way to deal with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for Sunday afternoon, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
Enjoyable, but needed more budget (apparently it was drastically cut in production). Good cast, pleasnt viewing for a relaxing afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as it thinks it is!, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) (DVD)
It was a pleasant enough way to spend a couple of hours, and Kelly Macdonald is excellent as always. David Tenant is OK but the plot could have been far more imaginatively developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011)
The Decoy Bride [DVD] (2011) by Sheree Folkson (DVD - 2012)
£7.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews