Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm misquoting here, but its Zorro with Ninja skills and Japanese weapons meets Lady See-more-leg on a dangerous mission
Its a terrific romp that the Spanish should be proud of. Who cares if it bears no relation to fact, and has the wonderfully happy ending now deemed cheesy. If that is cheesy pile it on!

Its very enjoyable and even the sub-titles don't disappear too quickly. I started learning Spanish two years ago and thought I'd test it. I was amazed at how much I could...
Published 15 months ago by Mrs. Suzanne R. O'shea

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passes two loooong hours.
I was intrigued to see in another review that this film is based on a Spanish series. That makes sense after watching this. Within about 10 minutes of the film it felt as if I'd missed episode 1 or the previous film. There was no context and little clue of who was related to whom. The film too seems to suffer as so many do by a lack of budget. It purports to be set in...
Published 20 months ago by That mysterious someone


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm misquoting here, but its Zorro with Ninja skills and Japanese weapons meets Lady See-more-leg on a dangerous mission, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Suzanne R. O'shea "suzyoshea" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
Its a terrific romp that the Spanish should be proud of. Who cares if it bears no relation to fact, and has the wonderfully happy ending now deemed cheesy. If that is cheesy pile it on!

Its very enjoyable and even the sub-titles don't disappear too quickly. I started learning Spanish two years ago and thought I'd test it. I was amazed at how much I could understand anyway.

I hope they do a sequel! Or even prequels would be good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passes two loooong hours., 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
I was intrigued to see in another review that this film is based on a Spanish series. That makes sense after watching this. Within about 10 minutes of the film it felt as if I'd missed episode 1 or the previous film. There was no context and little clue of who was related to whom. The film too seems to suffer as so many do by a lack of budget. It purports to be set in the reign of Philip IV at a congress between Philip himself, Louis XIV and Charles II of the UK, but on the whole it feels a bit cheap.

There were too many characters with their relative statuses and relationships being unclear. I was completed surprised that Margarita was a 'lover' of the King's brother/cousin. I got the impression at the beginning (dipping clothes in a lake) that she was some sort of peasant girl. We get a load of peasants at the end too, referred to by names, who just add to the glut of names and characters.

There's a strong nationalistic theme throughout with the common people uniting to fight off the foreign invaders. The underlying message seems to be we're all different, but ultimately unified as Spaniards. The Red Eagle refers to the (occasional) central character the Red Eagle, who tends to drift in and out of the main events. On the whole the film is bit of a mess, which tries to do too much with too many people without ever being really convincing.

The acting isn't bad and some of the set-pieces for fights are decent and for less than £3 (April 2013) you can't really complain. In summary the film isn't awful, but suffers through lack of context and being over-ambitious. It's worth a watch, but set your expectations on low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 16 Mar 2013
By 
R. J. Chippendale (Nottinghamshire.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this a lot. It is from a very popular TV series in Spain.
It is well acted and well directed. A good story line. Very funny in places. Great action scenes.
As usual no film jargon.
Worth looking at how it was made. Very entertaining. It is subtitled - but I do not mind.
Will watch again.
Worth the money. RJC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent film, exactly what I wanted. Lots of blood and thunder as one would expect from the era in which the storyline was set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
It was a great dvd it is great that they r on line and u can buy them thank u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All right in its kind, 17 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
Spanish flick with unpredictable ending. Not very convincing but the acting is very good and the scenery beautiful.
Extra features in Spanish with no subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my kind of fun, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
plenty of blood and action good acting and direction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
Just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average movie, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
an ok film Cover gives the impression its set in differant country. For the money not to bad a film at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] (DVD)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD]
Kingdom of Blood: Legend of the Red Eagle [DVD] by José Ramón Ayerra (DVD - 2012)
£1.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews