Customer Reviews


1,115 Reviews
5 star:
 (642)
4 star:
 (256)
3 star:
 (132)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny yet poignant.
This book made me laugh and made me cry in equal measure.

The pain that Paul Connolly must have experienced throughout his chilhood was palpable.

And although part of me was repulsed by the violence and the malevolence that Paul displayed, another understood and urged more of the same in order for him to gain some sort of recompense from the ills of...
Published on 5 Jun. 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed
Bought the book on the strength of the reviews, and sadly was disappointed. The recounting of systematic abuse in the state care system is harrowing and desperately sad. As a narrative, I found it conflicting and repetitive. Although there is a lot of positive reference to a life turned around and explicit rejection of the idea of the author being a criminal, there is...
Published on 3 Feb. 2012 by S. L. Bradley


‹ Previous | 195 96 97112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A true heart felt life story, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
A very moving story, written from the heart about a boys journey to a good life with a happy ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read in a long, long time., 28 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Chosen at random and so glad I did. Loved it from start to finish. Telling everyone I see about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
I Enjoyed reading this story it is well written and I would recommend it to others to read as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Good book to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
M. A. Hudson "milly.h" (cheshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anger, violence, fear, pain, hope, elation., 11 Feb. 2012
By 
Donna Fenley (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book as I have a habit of buying one "expensive" Kindle book and then a few cheaper or free ones at the same time. Initially this book didn't look my kind of thing but I am so glad I downloaded it. I literally couldnt put it down and have recommended it to friends, female and male as I think it will appeal to anybody. What I love is that the "hero" is a bit of a rough diamond - he had a truly horrendous start in life and rather than a rags to riches tale, it is a story of grit and determination, of many mistakes but much learning and growth as a result. It beggars belief that such treatment of abandoned children happened only a few short years ago - and happens still of course. This is such a moving piece of work. Please read it. You won't be disappointed - although you might be disappointed in some of the dregs of humanity in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Great read couldn't put it down for a second I managed to read it in just one day it was that good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
Very good read one of those books you don't want to put down when started. Thank you so much great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars True story, 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. G. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Against All Odds: The Most Amazing True Life Story You'll Ever Read (Kindle Edition)
A vivid story of life as a Cockney Jew in London. Enjoyed every page, in fact couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 195 96 97112 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews