Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius at its best
Shane was and still is a genius song writer the favourite cd in this' brilliantly 'cheap box set is red roses for me.If all you have heard is fairy tale of new york and sway your arms round at christmas its maybe not for you(not pulling the song down just stating a fact)The rawness of the first album nearly shows the way they used to be live,very irish folk oriantated.The...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by lee moran

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed
Another addition to Rhino/Warner's popular and economical, but actually often flawed Original Album Series, which pulls 5 albums from a single artist together into a very compact 5CD box-set. This effort draws the spotlight on The Pogues, a rowdy Anglo-Irish act, who in their 1980s pomp were led by rock-and-roll survivor Shane MacGowan. At their best the group matched...
Published 6 months ago by S. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars genius at its best, 4 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Shane was and still is a genius song writer the favourite cd in this' brilliantly 'cheap box set is red roses for me.If all you have heard is fairy tale of new york and sway your arms round at christmas its maybe not for you(not pulling the song down just stating a fact)The rawness of the first album nearly shows the way they used to be live,very irish folk oriantated.The second album was another superb work of a genius word smith but i think after the album if i should fall from grace with god it doesnt have the same grittyness in the latter cds,but that is only my opinion.For the second hand price that it is for these 5 cds its well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings and Titles - Streams Of Whiskey?, 31 July 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I saw there was no track listings on this 5 CD set.
Often the sets in this this series have extra tracks and are remastered making them a good buy for someone who may already have a couple of the CDs already.

I'm sad to say there are no extra tracks and it has not been remastered if it did then it would sell like the proverbial hotcakes.

If you only have these on vinyl then you really are onto a winner.

Now I just wish Island would emulate this excellent idea of reissues.

I appreciate that this may be of no use to anyone because it's negative BUT it just may be of use to someone who is tracking down a couple of tracks and they may be unfamiliar with the Pogues' Output.

The CDs are
Red Roses For Me,
Rum Sodomy & The Lash,
If I Should Fall From Grace With God,
Peace And Love,
and Hell's Ditch,.

TRACK LISTINGS:

Disc: 1 Red Roses For Me
1. Transmetropolitan
2. The Battle Of Brisbane
3. The Auid Triangle
4. Waxie's Dargle
5. Boys From The County Hell
6. Sea Shanty
7. Dark Streets Of London
8. Streams Of Whiskey
9. Poor Daddy
10. dingle Regatta
11. Greenland Whale Fisheries
12. Down In The Ground Where The Dead Men Go
13. Kitty

Disc: 2 Rum Sodomy & The Lash.
1. The Sick Bed Of Cuchulainn
2. The Old Main Drag
3. Wild Cats Of Kilkenny
4. I'm A Man You Don't Meet Every Day
5. A Pair Of Brown Eyes
6. Sally Maclennane
7. A Pistol For Paddy Garcia
8. Dirty Old Town
9. Jesse James Navigator
10. Navigator
11. Billy's Bone
12. The Gentelman Soldier
13. The Band Played Waltzing Matilda

Disc: 3 If I Should Fall From Grace With God
1. If I Should Fall From Grace With God
2. Turkish Song Of The Damned
3. Bottle Of Smoke
4. Fairytale Of New York
5. Metropolis
6. Thousands Are Saling
7. South Australia
8. Fiesta
9. Medley
10. Streets Of Sorrow / Birmingham Six
11. Lullaby Of Landon
12. The Battle March Medley
13. Sit Down By The Fire
14. The Broad Majestic Shannon
15. Worms

Disc: 4 Peace And Love
1. Gridlock
2. White City
3. Young Ned Of The Hill
4. Misty Morning, Albert Bridge
5. Cotton Fields
6. Blue Heaven
7. Down All The Days
8. USA
9. Lorelei
10. Gartloney Rats
11. Boat Train
12. Tombstone
13. Night Train To Lorca
14. London You're A Lady

Disc: 5 Hell's Ditch,
1. The Sunnyside Of The Street
2. Sayonara
3. The Ghost Of A Smile
4. Hell's Ditch
5. Lorca's Novena
6. Summer In Siam
7. Rain Street
8. Rainbow Man
9. The Wake Of The Medusa
10. House Of The Gods
11. 5 Green Queens And Jean
12. Maidrin Rua
13. Six To Go
14. The Glen Of Dispair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JAYSUS, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The lyrical tenacity and story telling brings to life the lifestyle of these characters presented to you in a mix of styles based on traditional Irish music mixed with punk, unique for the time and not bettered, Mumford and Sons are the rancid upper middle class pox on the underside of a slice of bacon from Kilburn in comparison to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars all the pogues you'll ever need, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
In 1984 my friend Annie in Holland Park told me to listen out for a London Irish band called The Pogues . I was sceptical since she was a Stones addict and I had always suspected their fame was more due to the skill of the recording engineer than musicianship . Curiousity aroused , I listened and was blown away . Great songs . Great playing . At this price it's a no brainer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless timeline of Pogues, 5 May 2014
By 
D. P. F. Parker (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Original recordings in cheap packaging and great value price. Replacing old vinyl cheaply and easily. Superb collection and value collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the pogues?, 13 April 2013
By 
Simon Young "Scymon" (Bexhill-on-sea, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (MP3 Download)
love the pogues? then youl love this excellent price for so many albums with some extra song add when compared to the original vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than all the Best of's, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The albums of the Pogues including the Joe Strummer one..
Tracks that don't appear on the Best of's are well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 17 July 2014
By 
RK (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Great to have all the music together and an absolute steal. Shows the quality of the Pogues that there isn't a bad track in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
For someone like me filling in the gaps in their ex vinyl collection, an ideal buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Album Series - The Pogues, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
This series of 5 albums for 9.99 just can't go wrong. One box, 5 albums and they do not take up as much space as two cased CDs. This is a terrific way to boost your collection and also a nice way to listen to the albums that first came out in vinyl format. I enjoyed the albums when they first came out and now I have the five best Pogues albums on disc. And just as enjoyable.

There are many titles in this series to tempt you with and I also purchased Ricky Lee Jones on this series and sat back and enjoyed the music. I forgot how good she was.

So check out the artists on this series and buy with confidence as you will not be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by The Pogues
Buy MP3 Album13.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews