Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
To a quinquagenarian, in age (for me) of musical famine, this album contains complete sonic beauty. This is surprising to me since I'm not an album person and individual tracks fall or stand on their own. The vocals, arrangements and orchestrations have been worked intelligently and sublimely to produce a wonderment.

Hallelujah!
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Declanworld

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
Liked one of the tracts so expended but don't play the whole often..........................I'm afraid even thopugh I find it folky
Published 18 months ago by Norma Bean


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (MP3 Download)
To a quinquagenarian, in age (for me) of musical famine, this album contains complete sonic beauty. This is surprising to me since I'm not an album person and individual tracks fall or stand on their own. The vocals, arrangements and orchestrations have been worked intelligently and sublimely to produce a wonderment.

Hallelujah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different take on Christmas, 2 Dec 2011
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
Having read the description of this album before it was due out I knew I had to have it. It arrived last weekend & I've listened to it lots since then.

I wouldn't call it the usual type of Christmas CD full of jingle bells & tales of Santa Claus but it will definitely get you in the mood for Christmas.

The album comprises some Christmas songs & other non-Christmas-y songs but the mood is very much of cold Winter days & spicy mulled wine - I was most disppointed that it wasn't actually snowing when I looked outside & it feels like a hug in a big woolly jumper.

Tom Smith's voice is very deep & works well with the more sombre songs on the album. Andy Burrows' voice is totally different & to me, sounds a little Beatle-esque on some songs. They work beautifully together.

Buy it - you won't be disppointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, Christmas, but different, 6 Dec 2011
By 
R. NEIL (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
I heard some of the tracks in session on the radio on the way home after the 'last long trip' of the year so maybe I was in a good mood! I was impressed with the sound and the idea enough to buy the CD and on another listen to the tracks I'd already heard and a first listen to the others I am very happy with this.

As one other reviewer mentions, this is a different kind of seasonal CD which has the 'feel' of the season rather than being an outright Christmas CD. There are tracks on it which will be played at other times of the year as well. Lyrically and sonically very good indeed. What's more (or maybe less), at just 35 minutes long, the 10 track set does not outstay its' welcome.

For me, Christmas this year started with the arrival of this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new classic, 7 Dec 2011
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
in my humble opinion, (for what that`s worth) this is one of the must have albums of the year. granted, it may only be played during the festive season, but it`ll soon become your soundtrack to the festive season.
haunting, astmospheric, beautiful, and refreshingly different to the usual reguritated christmas fodder that gets churned out every year. funny looking angels is forever going to be associated with the smell of a real christmas tree, an open fire, a generous whisky mac and good company. love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great alternative Christmas sounds, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
Bought this based on the reviews and it exceeded them all - the original songs are great, melodic, sometimes moving but fun too. The covers , particularly 'Only You' are fantastic. Always liked The Editors - must look again at We Are Scientists now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
I rarely buy new Christmas albums and am a bit of a stickler for traditional stuff but this is wonderful and will now be a regular one to play at the festive season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
Great album. Heard it on the radio and bought it straight away from Amazon! Absolutely fab tracks and just a brill album .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas music just got good, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
A few years ago I might have been the sort of person who'd buy an album by Razorlight or Editors - although I never did - but my days of being an avid music buyer are gone. So it says a lot about Funny Looking Angels that I bought the album on the strength of hearing 'When the Thames Froze' on the radio and seeing 'In the Bleak Midwinter' opening the tracklist.

The only similarity between Smith & Burrow's record and those of their respective bands is Tom Smith's haunting voice that dominates maybe half of the tracks, with even these ranging in style. The others feature a mix of Burrow's contrasting vocals, with some festive harmonies in other places. I won't even try to box these tracks into one genre, nor describe the ways in which this isn't your typical Christmas album. It's melancholy in places, upbeat in others, with more than a few lyrics to raise a smile or warm the heart ("like your favourite film / it's a wonderful life / you've seen it a hundred times / but you don't get bored...")

It's a pretty short album at only 34 minutes, but almost every minute is perfect. Two beautiful cover versions of 80s songs sit right in the middle of the album, while the whole recording is sandwiched by two traditional 'Christmas album' tracks.

Only 5 days after release, it's perhaps a bit too soon to say whether I'll still be listening to this come New Year. But at the moment Funny Looking Angels is really getting me in festive spirits, and I see this being an album I return to again and again each year as the long nights and frost draw in. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
Heard When The Thames Froze on radio today (James Cordon selected it on French and Saunders) and just loved it. Rest of album is just as wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Gift, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Looking Angels (Audio CD)
was asked for this album by a smith & burrows fan. was pleased with it by all accounts.
Great tracks on album. Especially good at Christmas, as there are about 3 Christmassy tracks
on album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funny Looking Angels
Funny Looking Angels by Smith & Burrows
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews