Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Actual CDS
Thought the names of the CDs on this bargain basement reissue would be of use
They are
1. CD1 - Baby The Stars Shine Bright
2. CD2 - Eden
3. CD3 - Idlewild
4. CD4 - Love Not Money
5. CD5 - The Language Of Life

I see my co-reviwer has stated the tracks are in a random order from the original.

I will attempt to get a...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying Mistake
On my version, the tracks on Eden are all in a random order (and it isn't just my CD player). All other albums are fine.
Published on 19 Mar 2012 by David Murray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Actual CDS, 20 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Thought the names of the CDs on this bargain basement reissue would be of use
They are
1. CD1 - Baby The Stars Shine Bright
2. CD2 - Eden
3. CD3 - Idlewild
4. CD4 - Love Not Money
5. CD5 - The Language Of Life

I see my co-reviwer has stated the tracks are in a random order from the original.

I will attempt to get a correct track listing and post later.

(Post Script. I got in touch with Rhino records after 'going around the houses' and they sent an e mail saying 'they have no way of contacting the artists'
This is a bit strange really because if they sell the CDs all they have to do is look at the case and copy?
I have pointed out that a listing may just generate more sales for them... but they honestly give the apperance they cannot be bothered.

So if you already have a couple of EBTG Cds and were wondering if the tracks are remastered or have extra tracks or even if you are woried by my co-reviewers clai that the tracks 'are in the wrong order' I am not able to help you.

I already have a couple of EBTG Cds but won't take a chance in buying this set just yet.)

The name Everything But the Girl orginates from the slogan from a Hull Furniture store at the end of Beverley Road.
The firm had a large banner with the name on.

Both Tracy and Ben attended Hull University and obviously saw the sign..

It was that prominent you couldn't miss it!
The fact that the store was opposite the Zoological Pub the end of the University's notorious 'Zooie Run' where students would tour Hull' Beverley Road and have a drink in each and every pub on the way was coincidental!

The pair even mangaged to get firsts each in their degrees!!!!

Post post script here is the track listings!!

I see three people have rated this as 'unhelpful'.
Seemes you really cannot please some people can you??

Track List:
[Disc 1]
Eden
1-1 Each And Everyone
1-2 Bittersweet
1-3 Tender Blue
1-4 Another Bridge
1-5 The Spice Of Life
1-6 The Dustbowl
1-7 Crabwalk
1-8 Even So
1-9 Frost And Fire
1-10 Fascination
1-11 I Must Confess
1-12 Soft Touch

[Disc 2]
Love Not Money
2-1 When All's Well
2-2 Ugly Little Dreams
2-3 Shoot Me Down
2-4 Are You Trying To Be Funny?
2-5 Sean
2-6 Ballad Of The Times
2-7 Anytown
2-8 This Love (Not For Sale)
2-9 Trouble And Strife
2-10 Angel

[Disc 3]
Baby, The Stars Shine Bright
3-1 Come On Home
3-2 Don't Leave Me Behind
3-3 A Country Mile
3-4 Cross My Heart
3-5 Don't Let The Teardrops Rust Your Shining Heart
3-6 Careless
3-7 Sugar Finney
3-8 Come Hell Or High Water
3-9 Fighting Talk
3-10 Little Hitler

[Disc 4]
Idlewild
4-1 I Don't Want To Talk About It
4-2 Love Is Here Where I Live
4-3 These Early Days
4-4 I Always Was Your Girl
4-5 Oxford Street
4-6 The Night I Heard Caruso Sing
4-7 Goodbye Sunday
4-8 Shadow On A Harvest Moon
4-9 Blue Moon Rose
4-10 Tears All Over Town
4-11 Lonesome For A Place I Know
4-12 Apron Strings

[Disc 5]
The Language Of Life
5-1 Driving
5-2 Get Back Together
5-3 Meet Me In The Morning
5-4 Me And Bobby D
5-5 The Language Of Life
5-6 Take Me
5-7 Imagining America
5-8 Letting Love Go
5-9 My Baby Don't Love Me
5-10 The Road
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Five, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The first five albums from the hugely underated Everything But The Girl. Great songs sung by one of the best voices of the 80's and 90's. Huge variety across these cd's from their early work to the big hits later on. But for me far and away the shing star is the middle album 'Baby the Stars Shine Bright' Tracey Thorn and orchestral backing a match made in Heaven. Come on Home, Don't Let the teardrops etc all fabulous from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What value!, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
You either know/like ebtg or not and if like me you have a gap in your CD collection as you have them mostly in vinyl then this is exceptional value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything But The Girl, 28 Mar 2013
By 
C. Browne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Excellent value CD collection including all EBTG albums; only drawback is that the basic packaging means that there are no CD notes/lyrics or other info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
Have always wanted a number of Everything but the Girl albums and this series was absolutely spot on. Recommend to anyone if you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
A must have for anyone reading Tracey Thorn's autobiography. Both were a real pleasure.... A real slice of pop history extremely well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
I recommend this to anyone who likes Everything But The Girl, Tracey Thorne . Complete cd's of 5 albums .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Jill (North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Series (Audio CD)
The best set of cd's from my absolute favourite duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Series
Original Album Series by Everything But The Girl
Buy MP3 Album£14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews