Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little book for a quick read
I honestly only downloaded this because it was free - but, as I've discovered with many free Kindle books, it was actually surprisingly good.

The story opens on the main character, Wendell, who's sat at the beach people-watching as he contemplates his currently-out-of-work situation. It isn't for lack of trying or lack of interviews, but it appears that...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by H

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
Other reviewers have found a lot to blame in this short story.
I agree that it was not everything it could have been, that the ending was abrupt, that some twists in the plot were a little skipped over but all in all I found it kind of sweet and satisfying enough.
It is not a masterpiece but it is a pleasant read.
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Furio


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little book for a quick read, 1 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
I honestly only downloaded this because it was free - but, as I've discovered with many free Kindle books, it was actually surprisingly good.

The story opens on the main character, Wendell, who's sat at the beach people-watching as he contemplates his currently-out-of-work situation. It isn't for lack of trying or lack of interviews, but it appears that because Wendall is deaf, that companies don't want to employ him. (Incidentally, Deaf is capitalised almost whenever it is written, which I found to be quite odd. I wasn't certain if it should have gained Proper Noun status, as if it was a title - however, the book is set in America, and this could be perfectly normal over there).

Caleb owns a chocolate shop, and is looking for a new member of staff, unlike previous interviews, Caleb adapts to Wendall and conducts the interview using the written word and offers him the position. Caleb even starts to learn sign language to make things easier, and makes the chocolate shop deaf-friendly.

Wendell and Caleb both have a passion for chocolate, and other passions start to simmer when there is an accident with some apparatus that ends up with Wendell covered in melted chocolate!

The two do end up together, and the sex is quite sweet with more affection than lust. it is very gentle and loving - rather than hot and steamy. However, anything other than what was written would have seemed highly out of character and highly inappropriate for Caleb and Wendell.

If you're looking for lust and barely-controlled passion, then this isn't the book for you. If you're after a nice little short story, with a little bit of gentle loving, with a quickly moving plot and a little twist at the end, then this book is for you.

All in all, a nice little read and a lovely way to spend an hour of my time. I'll be looking for other things this author has written.

Give it a go - its certainly value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Free, but not a very good story, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book because it was free and I admit I was enticed by the cover image. Unfortunately the story is quite poor. I found it interesting to read about a protagonist who is deaf, because there aren't many instances of characters with disabilities being portrayed in a positive light in fiction, but otherwise it was pretty shabby. Two people meet, they are instantly attracted to each other, they lose no time in having hot sex (this scene goes on for a few pages), fall in love immediately, AND the closeted one comes out to his parents with a happy result! It was embarrassing to read such a badly-written work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Furio (Genova - Italy) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
Other reviewers have found a lot to blame in this short story.
I agree that it was not everything it could have been, that the ending was abrupt, that some twists in the plot were a little skipped over but all in all I found it kind of sweet and satisfying enough.
It is not a masterpiece but it is a pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprised by this one. Interesting, not just about the sex, but about love and acceptance., 21 Feb 2012
By 
ROROBLU'S MUM "ROROBLU'S MUM" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
This was a well-written, interesting short tale featuring a young deaf gay guy, with a love of chocolate, who just happens to find a job in a chocolaterie. A job isn't the only thing he finds, as he finds friendship, acceptance, loyalty and the start of a possible HEA with the owner.

This wasn't a full-on romance, but it was erotic, and down-to-earth and I got the impression it might have been a bit close to the author's heart, he being a deaf gay guy himself. It had a definite HFN at the end, which showed signs of turning into the HEA, with the deaf guy having the chance to be there for his new lover coming out.

Well done and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very sensual!!, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, a short novella with a very simple two character arc. Plays out nicely...bringing the reader into their world without being over sentimental!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book, very sexy but good story line too, very believable. Can highly recommend as value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointment, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
Just could not read this with any concentration. Was so simplistic and without subtlety. Maybe I should take up writing and see how difficult it must be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a sweet little story, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
This is a sweet little story, a little too sweet for my tastes but if you like the sugary type romantic stories, then you should love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wasnt what I was looking for, 7 Jan 2014
By 
Miss C. Cox "@Bigsister2009" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
For a while now I have been looking for free kindle books possibly real life or fiction with deaf people in it. Gay romance books arent my cup of tea but I liked that he learned sign for him and gave him a Job.Im deaf myself and like to believe anything is possible. maybe ill read more by this deaf author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good name for good read, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luscious Love (Kindle Edition)
It turns out that "Luscious Love" is the name of a chocholate factory and the story does start out a bit slow but when it picks up- WOW. Suffice to say I have never had my body covered in liquid chocolate and then licked clean. It is worth reading through the slow opening trying to push the two main characers togethet to see what transpireswhen they do get it on, and off, and on. Get the picture?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luscious Love
Luscious Love by Zach Sweets
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews