Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not like the others
, i love derek's writing - but i found this very hard to get into, i know he is good so i was persistant - by chapter 20 i couldn't put it down. I think i just couldn't follow who each character was in the begining.
Published on 27 Jan. 2012 by annie

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great until the denouement then beyond belief.
I really enjoyed this book until suddenly after reading 70 odd percent of it on kindle it all began to go pear shaped.

Just as it seemed to working towards an interesting conclusion, the author suddenly loses all credibility and people aren't who you thought they were which is fine if it's only one or two but not when it appears to be almost everyone. How on...
Published on 9 Feb. 2012 by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not like the others, 27 Jan. 2012
By 
annie (lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
, i love derek's writing - but i found this very hard to get into, i know he is good so i was persistant - by chapter 20 i couldn't put it down. I think i just couldn't follow who each character was in the begining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 13 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
Well, this was great! There were so many twists and turns in this one and I was kept on the edge of my seat all the time. I hope that Derek has more titles soon as I really enjoy reading his work. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great until the denouement then beyond belief., 9 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book until suddenly after reading 70 odd percent of it on kindle it all began to go pear shaped.

Just as it seemed to working towards an interesting conclusion, the author suddenly loses all credibility and people aren't who you thought they were which is fine if it's only one or two but not when it appears to be almost everyone. How on earth the author could come up with an ending which stretched credibility to such a point (and went on for far far too long) is beyond belief (literally)

If a character had suddenly revealed themselves as an alien or to have superhuman powers it would have been more believable.

What got me the most was that fact that there was no hint of lack of writing ability or style until three quarters of the way through the book.

Maybe someone finished the novel for him, or he just got bored, or he had so many possible endings, couldn't decide which one to put in and so put in them all.

As for a hitman who is videoed at a murder scene, admits to the authorities he is a killer and they let him go without even questioning him ?? Or how he 'outruns' the FBI at an airport when he is in a wheel chair? - Or how did so many people get access to a red carpet event when they were on the run, and even waved a gun to threaten a tv reporter live on air as they went in and no one stopped or searched them, or even asked for their ticket?

I could go on (and on)but that would be too much like the end of this novel.

It was in all disappointing, as it was quite readable up until that point.

Still three stars for the first three quarters, but none for the conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mince is still mince even if it's free mince, 20 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
The Truant Officer

IT'S TOTAL MINCE!

This is the first review I have written for a book. As I am now 58 and have read thousands of books in my life, this is not a good thing, in this case.

'The Truant Officer' must be the worst book I have ever had the misfortune to waste my time on. I'm sorry, Mr Ciccone, but simply - and, boringly, frequently - twisting the plotlines to spring one 'surprise' after another does not a good story make.

This book started badly and went on a dire downward spiral. I only stuck with it to the end so that I could justify submitting a review based on the whole work. One example of supreme daftness sticks out: crazy Russian assassin confined to a wheelchair having had his knees shot through chasing people on his wheelchair. The writer clearly intended the chase scene to be tense and threatening and exciting.It wasn't.

If 'The Truant Officer' were a film, that would have been the point when the whole of the audience would have done one (or, perhaps, both) of two things (i) burst out laughing and (ii) run for the exits.

I can think of no redeeming feature to this book. The characterisation is poor with the characters being barely credible as people. The action is frenetic, bizarre and chaotic. The dialogue is stilted and artificial. The plotlines are unbelievable and constantly changing by a stream of incredible plot shifts.

Rather than exciting and stimulating the reader, this ground-shifting technnique merely serves to create a thoroughly disjointed and unplanned feel to the book.

I hope the author has a thick skin because he'll need it.

I don't mean to be destructive but if the choice is between reading this or doing anything else including, say, staring vacantly into space for hours, do the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars twists, turns and death, 5 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
Too many twists and turns; so many unlikely events and so much death! It was a fun read to while away a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More turns than a wonky roller coaster, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
T. Gardener "red giraffe" (essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
I am an idiot. Well according to the majority who gave this one star. I can see where they are coming from. The basic plot line is that a pilots wife is kidnapped by a gang who have been operating in the area as part of an initiation ceremony. Except it turns out that the wife, who was a teacher was kidnapped by one of her students.
Except he is not one of her students. The pilot teams up with the kidnappers girlfriend who is... well never mind. Alongside this is a Israeli pop goddess and a feud between two mafia families.

On the positive, it is an easy story to read, not too taxing, the characters can be somewhat one dimensional, there is plenty happening.
The problem, and this is where I think the one star reviewers have an issue is that there are so many plot twists and turns the story can lose some credibility. It is the written equivalent of everyone in a film pulling off a mask in the last scene to reveal a different identity.
It is worth a read, especially at the price, and if like me you don't take your reading too seriously will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible and incredible, 19 July 2012
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
I guess if you truly want an expose of the Russian Mafiya you should look elsewhere. Also if you want a perfectly paced artsy crime thriller then again there are other options. On the other hand if you want a 60 page an hour comicbook gallop through a rollocking , twisting plot high on incident, for free then this does the job brilliantly. As nuts as a Topic and peanut butter sandwich it entertained me for one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ho hum, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
B. Lowe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
I abandoned this novel about a quarter of the way in. After a promising start it quickly went down hill as the plot became more contorted and the action less believeable. Full of implausible characters and unlikely scenarios there wasn't ernough there for me to think it was worth the effort to read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Struggled to finish, 6 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
Really struggled to finish this one. It became more tedious and far fetched as it progressed, I just wanted it to be over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and not what I expected, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truant Officer (Kindle Edition)
Well worth the effort!
Good use of characters, interesting twists and kept me eager to find out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Truant Officer
The Truant Officer by Derek Ciccone
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews