Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Is Going On
The series has at it's base a lawyer or soliciter, Harry Venn, played by Philip Glenister, who starts looking for a man from his past, at the request of a beautiful soliciter, Gina Hawkes , played by Thekla Reuten. Hawkes is searching for a missing alibi witness for her client. Philip finds that he is now going back 20 years to a crime committed by his brother, Mark. Mark...
Published 9 months ago by prisrob

versus
28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disagree!
Whilst I think that Glenister is an excellent actor, I feel that the storyline of Hidden left a lot to be desired. Yes, it was a complicated plot, which is fine to use the brain sometimes but it basically went nowhere, which was, to me, a shame, considering all the excellent support actors.
Published on 31 Jan 2012 by J. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disagree!, 31 Jan 2012
By 
J. Green "Jeffrey" (Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst I think that Glenister is an excellent actor, I feel that the storyline of Hidden left a lot to be desired. Yes, it was a complicated plot, which is fine to use the brain sometimes but it basically went nowhere, which was, to me, a shame, considering all the excellent support actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Is Going On, 11 Nov 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
The series has at it's base a lawyer or soliciter, Harry Venn, played by Philip Glenister, who starts looking for a man from his past, at the request of a beautiful soliciter, Gina Hawkes , played by Thekla Reuten. Hawkes is searching for a missing alibi witness for her client. Philip finds that he is now going back 20 years to a crime committed by his brother, Mark. Mark died in that crime, and Harry has been looked at as the driver in the get away car. Harry is not without sin, as he was in prison as a teen, he has a son who is a teen, and he has not been a good father. Harry seems to have many women and several exes. He has had success as a small town soliciter in the big murky city of London. Harry has the unshaved and unkempt look that is so popular. He has several colleagues, all hoods of some sort or another, but are good at cracking codes in computers and getting info that is needed.

Into this mess, we find David Suchet who plays Sir Nigel Fountain, a judge who seems to be politically motivated. He is the caretaker to Gina Hawkes, who went to live with him after her parents were killed. This quickly becomes a political thriller with murders amongst the daily activities. We are not sure what is going on as the tension increases, Harry and Gina start working together, but all remains murky and mysterious.

This thriller could have been so much more mysterious if it did not keep going back to the flashback of Harry, his brother killing two policemen and the drive away. This series has four episodes and there were at least five of these flashbacks, all the same per episode. Very tiring and seems to be a filler. The series was well acted and for the most part well written. I just wish I knew what was going on. If this is not renewed, we may never know.

Recommended. prisrob 11-1--13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hidden Ending; Don't waste your time, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
The first three episodes build on a tense and exciting plot. Many threads and plot lines are set up and we were very excited to see the fourth and final episode. How utterly disappointing that the fourth and final episode ended without ever drawing any conclusions, without ever explaining what had happened. It felt as if the series was originally meant to be twice as long but funding was cut and the writers and director had to cut off in the middle of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Annoying ...very annoying, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
There was an excellent series somewhere here but this wasn't it. It had everything going for it - Phillip Glenister in his first role after Ashes to Ashes, David Suchet, plots and conspiracies and should have been a winner.

Very quickly you move from intrigued to irritated. There are so many loose ends ( actually you could make a series about the loose ends), so many inconsistencies and it looks like someone didn't a good job with the continuity. Basicially a story about a state sponsored coup that had been long in the making you are left asking a few hundred questions including

why were the lawyers killed
why did Cockburn spend 15 years on a plot
what was the plot
why were Dutch lawyers involved

The list just goes on...

Very very frustrating. Worth seeing Phillip G and david S do their stuff but not a lot else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping thriller! Well worth a watch, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
I wasn't expecting to like this as much as I did - it was taut, tense viewing, and rare that smart political thrillers come along from BBC (not since State of Play?). Great cast - the actress Thekla Reuten should be in more! - and Glenister shrugs off Gene Hunt to play Harry Venn impeccably. Highly recommended. Bring back Venn for series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Without Phil I wouldn't have bothered, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
This is alright-ish. It seem to meander a bit and the conlusions are sloshed about rather than served up on a cold plate, so you have a sense of wondering if it answered all the Q's. Phil Glenister is massive as usual, but to be honest not his best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underwhelming, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
Saved by a talented cast but the production is dark, wordy , takes itself so seriously to the point of boredom. I nearly stopped watching after the first episode but Phillip Glenister kept me going. It picked up slightly but not enough to make me want to re watch There is no wit in this story or writing except what The actors inject into it. Ronan Bennett is seriously not entertaining. It's not terrible and I know it's not meant to have humour but it shouldn't make you fall asleep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Vacuous, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
This series was superficially stylish crud, and a waste of Glenister and Suchet's talents. There are plenty of good British TV drama series to catch up on without wasting time and money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars was unsure at first but really got into it, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
As I think another reviewer commented it is a little complicated at first and it certainly requires your full attention. By the end of the first episode I guess I wasn't hooked, and it took me about week before I got round to watching the second one. However I then proceeded to watch the remaining three episodes back to back, I just couldn't stop watching. Phillip Glenister is as great as always, I'll admit he is the reason I watched it in the first place, and once again he did not disappoint.
Overall a highly recommend series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars looking forward to rewatching, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hidden [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great drama. Quite complicated so am looking forward to rewatching it so I can pick up on all the bits I missed on first time viewing. Plus always good to see Philip Glenister!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hidden [DVD]
Hidden [DVD] by Niall MacCormick (DVD - 2012)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews