Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully surreal for both kids & adults...
Hallmark have been making elaborate made-for-TV productions for some time, but this dark retelling of Snow White is certainly unusual. This is a fairytale the way The Brothers Grimm would have told it, full of life but disctinctly surreal.
John [Tom Irwin] and Josephine are a poor couple living in a forest. After the birth of a daughter, whom they name Snow White,...
Published on 24 Oct. 2003 by Priyan Meewella

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deserves at least three stars !
This is a fairly well made version of Snow White, it's not high budget or anything amazing but me and the kids enjoyed watching it and would definitely watch it again. The lead actors all do a good job and the sets and costumes are great,I can't say anything bad about it.
If you like fairytales or you're looking for something to watch with children then, for the...
Published on 13 Mar. 2012 by mummy spoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully surreal for both kids & adults..., 24 Oct. 2003
By 
Priyan Meewella "Phoenix" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Hallmark have been making elaborate made-for-TV productions for some time, but this dark retelling of Snow White is certainly unusual. This is a fairytale the way The Brothers Grimm would have told it, full of life but disctinctly surreal.
John [Tom Irwin] and Josephine are a poor couple living in a forest. After the birth of a daughter, whom they name Snow White, Josephine dies. Trying to protect his child, John becomes trapped in a blizzard. Weeping for his infant, his tears free the Green-Eyed One, a horrifying creature trapped in the ice. Out of gratitude, he grants John a wish, convincing him to wish not only for food and shelter, but to marry a Queen. For the Green-Eyed One has a sister to marry off, and John is granted a lavish castle with the formerly hideous, but now beautiful Elspeth [Miranda Richardson], who soon becomes jealous of her step-daughter's beauty.
Screen writers Caroline Thompson and Julie Hickson are clearly not content to follow the established version of Snow White and embelish their story with a number of new elements, which certainly keeps things interestingly original. It has its own unique charm with a host very well designed characters. Interestingly, both writers have worked with Tim Burton (Hickson and Burton even dated for a time) and the darker influence that mingles with a plot that is generally sweet is sometimes reminiscent of Burton's style, though perhaps not quite so dark. The result is something mellow, without being too taxing to watch.
Queen Elspeth is certainly the most interesting character, due to a delightfully wicked performance by Miranda Richardson. Irwin fails to invoke much sympathy from the audience, and while Kreuk certainly looks the part of the innocent princess, she often lacks screen presence, leaving her character bland and without personality, and making it difficult to empathise with her. Far more enjoyable are the seven dwarfs (Wednesday, you will note, is in fact rather tall to the dismay of some purists, but we discover he is accepted by the others because of his child-like mind, suggesting "height" is not solely about appearances, but is rather about one's mental attitude). Named after the days of the week, and donning colourful clothing, these are quirky but intriguing characters, which much amusing banter between them.
The visual effects are sumptuous throughout, putting some big budget productions to shame through its careful usage, in a particular all effects involving the mirror. The Queen's circular room of mirrors is great, entrapping and distorting characters. The medieval costumes are always perfect, with long flowing sleeves and a perfect fairytale appearance. Sunday's subtle costume and makeup to reflect his half-statue/half-man appearance is excellent. The dwarfs ability to "rainbow" and teleport is also an interestingly conceived idea. The cinematography is equally wonderful, capturing scenes perfectly, and using a palette of bright and bold colours to great effect. Also noteworthy is the Green-Eyed One's makeup, which is truly terrifying, fitting this dark tale of sinister plot twists.
Despite some superfluous threads, such as the glass shard and Snow White's love interest who serves little purpose but to be turned into a bear and wake her at the end, this is a beautiful production, and it is wonderful to see a darker, "Grimm"-er version of this classic tale which is intended for childrens' viewing, not just adults. The whole family can truly enjoy this (in part due to Richardson's performance which even adults cannot find dull!) although the very youngest of children may not appreciate its surreal atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars snow white, 1 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
An excellent and refreshing version of this classic. Enough twists to make it different, but also very recognisable for a child familiar with the story. The dwarfs are named after the days of the week and each wear a colour of the rainbow they can all form together. It is good enough to watch together with your child, very magical and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once again the Evil Queen steals the show from Snow White, 30 Sept. 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
"Snow White: The Fairest of Them All" is one of those retellings of a classic fairy tale that is probably going to impress adults more than the kiddies, although you will find some problematic elements in this 2002 television movie. This version is closer to the original tale told by Jacob Ludwig Carl Grimm and his brother Wilhelm Carl Grimm, but Caroline Thompson and Julie Hickson's teleplay comes up with some inventive elements, most of which work. But much as I like the veteran character actor Vincent Schiavelli, a six-foot-five-inch dwarf is a bit of a reach for me.
Anyhow, once upon a time, John (Tom Irwin) and Josephine (Vera Farmiga) were living happily together in the forest when they had a beautiful baby girl then named Snow White. However, Josephine dies soon after leaving John alone to fend for his baby. John buries his wife and starts on a journey to find food; at his darkest moment he is about to give up when he happens to awaken a genie known as the Green Eyed One (Clancy Brown), who will grant three wishes aa a reward for his release. John's first wish is for milk for Snow White. His second wish is to have his wife back, but this is beyond the Green Eyed One's power. Instead, he will provide John with a new queen and a kingdom to go with it. However, what John does not know is that his new queen, Elpseth (Miranda Richardson) is really his own hag of a sister (the crone is played by Karin Konoval), transformed into a beauty. Snow White crows up to be played by Kristin Kreuk (a.k.a. Lana Lang on "Smallville") and when the spell starts to fade and Elpseth's beauty begins to fade, the story takes a dark turn.
"Snow White: The Fairest of Them All" is a much darker version of the story than the beloved Disney classic, so by no stretch of the imagination is this the first version of Snow White you would want any child to see. This is a dark version of the tale that takes place in a much more dangerous world, although the entirely reworked dwarf part of the plot (they are now named for the seven days of the week) usually works against the rest of the story. The sets are beautiful, as are the costumes, and what passes for the magic mirror this time around is pretty spectacular.
A lot of people will check out the DVD version because of Kreuk, who is the WB's new Katie Holmes. I admit I am one of those people, but even I found it rather odd that her cast bio on the DVD features her Neutrogena commercial. Anyhow, Kreuk has little to do but sit there and look pretty throughout the movie (she shows a lot more emotion and flair in the commercial). The one who steals the show is Richardson, which is exactly what you would expect when an actress of that caliber gets a choice role like a wicked queen in a fairy tale. If there was any doubt about whether this version of Snow White is worth checking out, then it is Richardson who tips the scale in that direction. "Snow White: The Fairest of Them All" is certainly worth a look for those who are interested in new takes (or, in this case, extremely old takes) on classic fairy tales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT., 19 Jan. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
What an amazing film. I was mesmerised, I simply couldn't take my eyes off the screen for a minute! I bought it after seeing it on TV and then my 9 year old son, husband and 81 year old mum watched it. They were equally enthralled by it. Amazing film. It was so unusual..so well done, such good actors who were perfect for the part that they were given to play.

Just SO interesting. When I watched it the second time I couldn't remember the whole story which was great..it felt like I was watching it for the first time..not many films can boast that, with all its twists and turns..the magical bits were great too ie the mirrors and the bear in the 'snow ball'. I could watch it again and again and still be captivated.

I even sent my daughter a copy!

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great retelling of a classic fairytale! So magical!, 12 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I loved this film! All the stories you read about as a child. The feeling of being transported into such a magical and mesmirising place. It's so beautiful and enchanting. There's a few extra scenes that make this movie so much more enjoyable. It's set in such a peaceful almost tranquil atmosphere. That's magic in itself! Whether you're 13 or even 31 please watch this movie! It deserves the recognition!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deserves at least three stars !, 13 Mar. 2012
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fairly well made version of Snow White, it's not high budget or anything amazing but me and the kids enjoyed watching it and would definitely watch it again. The lead actors all do a good job and the sets and costumes are great,I can't say anything bad about it.
If you like fairytales or you're looking for something to watch with children then, for the price, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I'm sorry........what?, 22 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] (DVD)
I was told to give this a chance. So I did. There are some movies you sit through only once, this is one of them.

It's a different approach on Snow White and not the best.
It's quite well acted in most places. But say 'most places' loosely.
The Prince is pretty much just here because, well, you can't have a movie like this without a prince who could have been played by anyone. He is very young and fairly brainless and wooden, well obviously since he's just a boy. Snow White doesn't really care about giving him attention and he tries waaay too hard. He says some drivel about her already knowing him in her heart. Who writes junk like that. If I said that to a mature woman she would just think 'Ooookay, your weird.
The Queen obsessed with her looks and being the fairest and Snow White not caring about her beautyand just feeling lonely.
Honestly Kristin Kreuk is okay but neither really beautiful or gorgeous. you can tell she is wearing too much make up (men like only a bit of make up that compliments a girl not for her to be plastered) but we can blame that on her make up artist, and her acting ability isn't that great. She's is however, quite good in Smallville. Quite frankly the queen is prettier when she is switched to another actress who is brunette.
What I don't understand is how Snow White goes from telling the prince off in one scene for calling her beautiful (because that's what all young girls want to hear, not about their personality) to almost kissing him maybe a minute or so later. But then I remember it's just a movie filled with cliché moments like that. Majorly cliché. And how exactly can Snow White still be wearing all her usual make up when she is living with the dwarfs? I know it's only a movie but where did she find make up to keep looking bright and chipper?
My sister heard me sniggering a few times but I'm sure she couldn't blame me.
On a small plus note Warwick Davis makes a nice appearance. He's sometimes a bit wooden but he does his best with what he has to work with. Could be worse, Taylor Launtner could have had the role instead. This is just my point of view of course, there are several others who thought it was very good but it just had too many silly or cliché scenes and wooden acting for me to really enjoy it. I did say well acted in most places. There are just several parts that bring it down.
Stick with Disney's version or Snow White and the Huntsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darker than Disney..., 26 Mar. 2007
By 
Anne-Marie Marquess (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
"Mirror, Mirror on the Wall.... Who's the Fairest of them all?"

Miranda Richardson speaks to the Mirror on a regular basis after she is magically transformed from a lonely, extremely unattractive, blemished peasant to a Beautiful, Ravishing, Queen, a transformation she revels and delights in!! She has a wonderful on screen presence and with her fine features, flame coloured hair and elegant medieval costumes, she carries the role of beautifully, with wonderful acting. She is beautiful on the outside, but definitely not within. (Which you can see in her eyes, as well as her actions.) As Snow White points out, when the Prince tells her that she herself is beautiful... "What does that mean?.... Beautiful... Do a person's outsides have anything to do with them being kind or considerate or careful towards others?.... No.... Or gentle... or generous?.... No.... Or loving.. or giving.. or just.. or wise." Kristin Kreuk is suitably cast as Snow White with her smooth flawless white skin, long shining dark hair and red lips, capturing the innocent sweetness and beauty of this fairytale heroine. Beautiful inside and out ..... but haunted by an inner sadness and feeling quite unloved. She is an unhappy and vulnerable girl trying to grow up, who feels isolated and cut off. There is no maternal figure in her life, as her stepmother is cruel, cold, jealous of her beauty and always working against her.

This film breathes new life into the Classic that is "Snow White" creating a very colourful film. For instance, the garden with its beautiful flowers and vibrant red rose bushes, which the King delights in, as did his first love and true love, Snow White's mother, who passed away shortly after childbirth, leaving the unfortunate Snow White in the hands of the wicked Queen. The King is blinded to the Queen's cruelty, as he is under a spell that began with a blizzard, a sinister creature, three wishes and a mirror smashed into pieces, a shard of which entered his eye blinding him to the queen's cruelty and binding him to her in an obsessional way which he believed to be love. His obsession with the Queen leads him to neglect his daughter and refuse to see the Queens nasty treatment of the Princess. The tragic Garden Gnomes also add colour to the garden and are not all that they seem, which Snow White finds out later in the film when she meets seven strange colourful men, unusual in the fact that together they can form a Rainbow. (A symbol of Hope).

The Mirror which the Queen regularly admires herself in is exquisite, in fact it is a mirrored room. It has a wonderful effect, and she can see herself from all angles. She also has a hand held mirror, which has many uses, such as being an instrument for evil purposes... The Queens illusions are shattered when Snow White is suddenly revealed as the fairest of them all, and the Prince rebuffs the Queens Advances, which she punishes by transforming him. Bored of the King who no longer has glass in his eye and can now see clearly, she had tried to cast her spell over the Prince, but the Woodchopper accidentally falls victim instead and it is he she sends to kill Snow White, while the King is helplessly trapped elsewhere.

In the Land of Fairy Tales nothing is simple and Snow White runs for her life into the forest. The Queen is a mistress of disguise and manipulation and soon catches up with her, fuelled by the Green Eyed Monster, Jealousy, and tempting her with a Blood Red Apple, much to the distress of the seven men and the prince. But, as they say, what goes around comes around, and the Queen has her worst fears realised as the mirror is smashed... As it shatters and the Queens cruel reign comes tumbling to an end, good triumphs over evil, Snow White is resurrected, the ice melts and transformation takes place. Everything becomes clear... Nothing tarnishes Beauty as quickly as a Wicked Heart...

Take a Trip back in Time to this popular Fairytale classic with modern twists. A truly enchanting film, capturing the darkness, magic, suffering and unrequited love that often lurks beneath the surface of most fairy stories, but obviously, culminating with the triumph of light over dark... A superb and colourful re-creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars totally enchanted, 17 Dec. 2010
By 
J. Lee "jayleebenjamin" (europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have seen many versions of snow white but this is the one of the most magical - it is surreal and adds an extra dimension with added story and plot to take in a different direction. I have seen it twice on television and I really loved, in the same way i loved Merlin - with Sam Neill, Miranda Richardson - who is here too - playing the wicked queen. While I did not love the new version of "Alice in wonderland" for television, this is great - with lovable dwarfs. new classic for me. the wicked characters always steal the plot and Miranda is brilliant at playing these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not a very good film, kept waiting for it to get better, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow White [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this accidentally, not a very good film, kept waiting for it to get better, has some well known actors who must be embarrassed as to how shocking this film is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow White [DVD]
Snow White [DVD] by Caroline Thompson (DVD - 2012)
£4.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews