Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still expensive as I write - so what do you get for your money?
I suspect there will be a number of 50-somethings who like myself, spent their teen years following this series through most of the 70's. I must confess that I hadn't seen any of the episodes since their original broadcast until buying the Universal/Playback R2 release of season one a few years ago. Rediscovering the series again, the stories and action seem to unfold at...
Published on 10 Dec. 2012 by Colin Smith

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not that good
I have waited over 5 years for this particular slice of nostalgia to arrive in it's complete form. Now, I knew it would be a tad more than a tenner......But £120!! Is the distributor taking the piss or what!!

Firstly, with the rise of Blueray, DVD is old hat, easily damaged and thus now much cheaper.
Secondly, and I'm sure I'm not alone in thinking this,...
Published on 12 Aug. 2012 by Mr. R. A. Fenton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still expensive as I write - so what do you get for your money?, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I suspect there will be a number of 50-somethings who like myself, spent their teen years following this series through most of the 70's. I must confess that I hadn't seen any of the episodes since their original broadcast until buying the Universal/Playback R2 release of season one a few years ago. Rediscovering the series again, the stories and action seem to unfold at a more relaxed pace than my memory would have me believe - no bad thing of course, just like meeting a long-lost friend in my case.

The series kicks off with Colonel Steve Austin (Lee Majors) barely clinging on to life following a near-fatal crash involving a NASA aircraft. His shattered legs, arm, and an eye are replaced with astronomically expensive bionic limbs & an ultra-sensitive eye (hence the 'Six Million Dollar' title) developed by the US government. The new anatomical additions mean that Austin is now "better, stronger, faster" than ever before. Austin's 'debt' for these revolutionary replacements is to be repaid by Austin agreeing to work for the government's OSI division, whose director, Oscar Goldman (Richard Anderson) sends Austin on various secret missions.

What follows is a collection of mostly 50-minute episodes, with themes including espionage, sci-fi (aliens, 'Bigfoot' etc) but generally 'human' stories. Austin really isn't your stereotypical all-action hero with girls swooning at his feet, but is more a down-to-earth & reserved but friendly individual, with the 'bionic' angle used sparingly & not as a gimmicky crowd-pleaser. I've grown very fond of Lee Majors' understated performance as the reluctant superhero with super-strength. Amongst other things, the slow-motion 'bionic' effects place the show firmly in the 1970's, a cult series with nostalgic memories for those who remember it from first time around.
Having come to this boxset after watching the complete series of Bill Bixby's "The Incredible Hulk" it's interesting to compare various aspects from both series: the 'scientific' pilot stories, followed by the more 'human story' episodes - with each central character possessing 'super-human' strength.

As for the picture & sound quality, the restored and remastered prints on this complete & uncut collection are a big improvement on the previous Universal/Playback R2 release of season one - nicely cleaned up. As with many other NTSC discs in my collection I occasionally noticed some picture instability when the action moved quickly across the screen, but it's something I personally can live with. This Region 2+4 Fabulous Films release also includes English subtitles. Each series features an illustrated booklet with an episode list with synopsis. The collection is stored in 6 plastic cases, which are then housed in a sturdy cardboard 'cube' case which has a ribbon insert (with a ribbon handle to lift the lid). I have included a list of the episodes and extras below....

***SEASON ONE***
*The Six Million Dollar Man (Pilot Movie 1). *Wine Women & War (Pilot Movie 2). *The Solid Gold Kidnapping (Pilot Movie 3). *Population Zero. *Survival of The Fittest. *Operation Firefly. *Day of The Robot. *Little Orphan Airplane. *Doomsday And Counting. *Eyewitness To Murder. *The Rescue of Athena One. *Dr. Wells is Missing. *The Last of The Fourth of Julys. *Burning Bright. *The Coward. *Run, Steve, Run.
***BONUS FEATURES.(DISC SIX)***
*All three pilot movies in their original broadcast versions. *Featurettes: real bionics. *An iconic opening. *Season one VIP's: a celebration of the Six Million Dollar Man guest stars. *Bionic breakdown. *OSI mission debriefing: executive producer Harve Bennett. *Bionic gallery.

***SEASON TWO***
*Nuclear Alert. *The Pioneers. *Pilot Error. *The Pal-Mir Escort. *The Seven Million Dollar Man. *Straight On 'Til Morning. *The Midas Touch. *The Deadly Replay. *Act of Piracy. *Stranger In Broken Fork. *The Peeping Blonde. *The Cross-Country Kidnap. *Lost Love. *The Last Kamikaze. *The Return of The Robot Maker. *Taneha. *Look Alike. *The E.S.P. Spy. *The Bionic Woman - Part 1. *The Bionic Woman - Part 2. *Outrage In Balinderry. *Steve Austin, Fugitive.
***BONUS FEATURES***
*Featurette: The bionic sound effects. *Season two VIP's: a celebration of the Six Million Dollar Man guest stars. *Audio commentaries on selected episodes from writer/producer Kenneth Johnson. *Bionic gallery.

***SEASON THREE***
*The Return of The Bionic Woman - Part 1. *The Return of The Bionic Woman - Part 2. *The Price of Liberty. *The Song And Dance Spy. *The Wolf Boy. *The Deadly Test. *Target In The Sky. *One of Our Running Backs Is Missing. *The Bionic Criminal. *The Blue Flash. *The White Lightning War. *Divided Loyalty. *Clark Templeton O'Flaherty. *The Winning Smile. *The Bionic Woman: Welcome Home, Jaime - Part 1. *The Bionic Woman: Welcome Home, Jaime - Part 2. *Hocus-Pocus. *The Secret of Bigfoot - Part 1. *The Secret of Bigfoot - Part 2. *The Golden Pharoah. *Love Song For Tanya. *The Bionic Badge. *Big Brother.
***BONUS FEATURES.(DISC SEVEN)***
*Featurette: The bionic sound effects. *Season three VIP's: a celebration of the Six Million Dollar Man guest stars. *OSI mission debriefing: writer and producer Kenneth Johnson. *Audio commentaries on selected episodes from writer/producer Kenneth Johnson and director Cliff Bole. *Bionic gallery.

***SEASON FOUR***
*The Return of Bigfoot - Part 1. *The Bionic Woman: The Return of Bigfoot - Part 2. *Nightmare In The Sky. *Double Trouble. *The Most Dangerous Enemy. *H+2+O=Death. *The Bionic Woman: Kill Oscar - Part 1. *Kill Oscar - Part 2. *The Bionic Woman: Kill Oscar - Part 3. *The Bionic Boy (97 mins). *Vulture of The Andes. *The Thunderbird Connection (99 mins). *A Bionic Christmas Carol. *Task Force. *The Ultimate Imposter. *Death Probe - Part 1. *Death Probe - Part 2. *Danny's Inferno. *Fires of Hell. *The Infiltrators. *Carnival of Spies. *U-509. *The Privacy of The Mind. *To Catch The Eagle. *The Ghostly Teletype.
***BONUS FEATURES.(DISC NINE)***
*Featurette: The Six Million Dollar fans. *Season four VIP's: a celebration of the Six Million Dollar Man guest stars. *OSI mission debriefing: Richard Anderson (Oscar Goldman). *Audio commentary from director Cliff Bole. *Bionic gallery.

***SEASON FIVE***
*Sharks - Part 1. *Sharks - Part 2. *Deadly Countdown - Part 1. *Deadly Countdown - Part 2. *Bigfoot V. *Killer Wind. *Rollback. *Dark Side of The Moon - Part 1. *Dark Side of The Moon - Part 2. *Target: Steve Austin. *The Cheshire Project. *Walk A Deadly Wing. *Just A Matter of Time. *Return of Deathprobe - Part 1. *Return of Deathprobe - Part 2. *The Lost Island (97 mins). *The Madonna Caper. *Dead Ringer. *Date With Danger - Part 1. *Date With Danger - Part 2. *The Moving Mountain.
***BONUS FEATURES.(DISC SEVEN)***
*Featurette: The Six Million Dollar Man's best villains and best fights. *Season five VIP's: a celebration of The Six Million Dollar Man guest stars. *OSI mission debriefing: Martin E. Brooks (Dr Rudy Wells). *Bionic gallery.

***BONUS FEATURES.(5-DISC SET)***
*Return of The Six Million Dollar Man and The Bionic Woman (1987 Reunion Movie).
*Bionic Showdown: The Six Million Dollar Man and The Bionic Woman (1989 Reunion Movie).
*Bionic Ever After (1994 Reunion Movie).
*Expanded Syndication Version of Pilot TV Movie 2: Wine, Women And War - Parts 1 and 2.
*Expanded Syndication Version of Pilot TV Movie 3: The Solid Gold Kidnapping - Parts 1 and 2.

*FEATURETTES*
*TV Goes Bionic: The Origins of The Six Million Dollar Man
*The Bionic Age of TV: The Success of The Six Million Dollar Man.
*Top Secret: OSI, NASA and Bionics.
*The Reunion Movies: Life After The Series.
*The Pop Culture Effect.
*Bionic Action....Figures!
*The Stunts of The Bionic Age.

*MEET THE CAST*
*Getting To Know Lee Majors and Steve Austin.
*Getting To Know Lindsay Wagner and Jaime Sommers.
*Getting To Know Richard Anderson and Oscar Goldman.
*Getting To Know Dr. Rudy Wells.

*OSI MISSION DEBRIEFING:*
*Lee Majors.
*Bionic Gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of the show this is a must have.., 25 July 2014
By 
F. Macdonald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
My friend is over the moon with this box set, he is an avid ...yes fanatic fan of the show, everything you could want is on this box set..he had the original american ones and there were no extras etc, on this there is. Well worth every penny he states and his best buy of 2014. Also purchased was the bionic woman set, also excellent and well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliving my childhood, 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
What more can I say, watching this box set made me feel like a seven year old again! My parents also had a look in! It's all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and, despite the price, great value!, 29 Aug. 2014
By 
Richard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Worth every penny - very comprehensive with great picture quality. I loved this series as a child and this box set allows you to relive those early adventures with the understated super hero. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars six million dollar package, 17 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
for fans of this series this is the ultimate collection,only on watching again do you realise how cool lee majors was.the picture quality is second to none and it is packed with extras, really good extras at that not the waste of time stuff you get with most sets from this era.i personally loved the seventies, tv was brill with this and the hulk gracing our screens.i think i have said enough,just go and buy it and see for yourself,you wont be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice series as the Bionic Woman, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Haven't had time to watch it but I know I will love it as I did with 'The Bionic Woman'.
Great series !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD box set, 16 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Fantastic DVD box set.

I loved the series when it was on in the 1970's, & great to see it again now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NSTC NOT PAL, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
An excellent box set with everything included. Tho I must warn you it is region 2 but nstc not pal as stated in Amazon's product details. So please check your dvd player can play nstc ( if it can you should be able to switch to nstc and back to pal through the settings menu ) Apart from that it's five stars across the board!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro tv fan, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I LOVED this show since i was a kid and it seems even better now! I love this and the Bionic woman and now have both dvd sets and what more can I say these dvd sets are so crisp and clear it almost looks like a new show. I recommend these retro classics to anyone who grew up with or just loves great television. They DONT make them like these anymore! Thanks again amazon I have been and always will be a regular customer:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Six Milion Dollar Man - The Complete Collection, 12 July 2012
By 
N. Reinders "soundtracks listener" (Helmond Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
It was couple of years that I saw Six Milion Dollar Man on TV.
The Box looks very nice with all 5 seasons DVD cases in 5 colours.
I can only say this go sit in your relax chair or sofa and watch the episodes and bonus features with a drink and something sweet.
Mine DVD box is region 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Six Million Dollar Man - The Complete Collection [DVD] [2012]
£100.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews