Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Troll hunting madness
I must say, I'm a big fan on the POV (point of view) movie movement recently taking hold of current movies ever since the Blair Witch Project phenomenom, some of the best include Cloverfield, REC 1 and 2, Paranormal activity and others and it seems the filming technique is in full swing as Norwegians take their try at the forumala with devastastingly good results...
Published on 11 April 2011 by Mrs. L. M. Hughes

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troll Hunter - Nuts!
View it in the manner in which it was filmed (i.e. Tongue in cheek) and you might find this film worth your time, it is slow moving but that only adds to the allure. It kind of turns things on its head re-interpreting folklore as 'facts'. The (occasional) poor animation adds to the sense of fun. The ending is both nothing and something, who knows if you were the type who...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by S. Lawson


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troll Hunter - Nuts!, 11 Mar 2012
By 
S. Lawson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
View it in the manner in which it was filmed (i.e. Tongue in cheek) and you might find this film worth your time, it is slow moving but that only adds to the allure. It kind of turns things on its head re-interpreting folklore as 'facts'. The (occasional) poor animation adds to the sense of fun. The ending is both nothing and something, who knows if you were the type who believes in conspiracies, you might be drawn in. Dont expect too much of it and you will enjoy this film. Be warned it is NUTS in the best sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Troll hunting madness, 11 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
I must say, I'm a big fan on the POV (point of view) movie movement recently taking hold of current movies ever since the Blair Witch Project phenomenom, some of the best include Cloverfield, REC 1 and 2, Paranormal activity and others and it seems the filming technique is in full swing as Norwegians take their try at the forumala with devastastingly good results.
Seeing as this wasn't a full blown hollywood production, this really did feel much more stable than most theatre movies as it had it's ground in terms of plot, character development and most definitely the CGI used.
I won't give anything away other than the fact that you MUST see this movie, put your headphones on, lights off and prepare to be entertained, humoured, scared and shocked as The Troll Hunter takes you through a mystical journey that may never again be seen by cinema. Of course like every movie it has it's negative and positive factors and I think they could have snipped it down to give the story a better flow and over pacier experience but this really is going to be one of those LOVE or HATE movies, it's definitely not for everyone.
Suggest reading up on some Norwegian folk lore and getting into the spirit before starting this up as you there are many references and hidden jokes that make this that little bit more enjoyable.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Troll Hunter - Strangeley entertaining and engaging creature feature, 18 April 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really well done creature feature/comedy which thoroughly deserves to be a wide success. Set in Norway, in Norwegian with English subtitles, it is quirky, funny, scary and generally a good evening's entertainment.

The film is done in a documentary style. A group of students go off with a camera to track down someone they believe to be an unlicensed bear hunter. When they do find him the truth is much weirder, and soon they are drawn into the Hunter's world as he goes around Norway trying to keep the country's secret troll infestation under control.

The film has a very dry, deadpan style that makes it stand out from other comedies. Especially the Troll Hunter himself, who describes the most bizarre things with such matter-of-factness that it is difficult to doubt what he says is true. Despite the film being in Norwegian with English subtitles it is clear that the actor playing him has some real comic timing. It's not a laugh a minute film, but it definitely has a sense of humour to it.

The all important trolls are well realised, and the interaction between the cast and the CGI constructs surprisingly well done and effective. The build up to the first big `reveal' is suspenseful, and even though from the title of the film we know what to expect, the first troll on screen is still quite a shock. The way in which widely known troll lore (three billy goats gruff for example) is worked into the film is very well done, and you almost feel at times that this world that has been constructed could almost be real.

This is a great evening's entertainment, a film well worth getting. For stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the box, 22 Aug 2011
By 
G. Hanks "hanks1980" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I managed to get an advanced screening at the O2 Arena and have to say I was totally surprised and entertained. It's a fairly straight forward plot, students film a guy who hunts trolls, fun ensues. It's all shakey hand-cam but enough of it is clear to see what's going on and happening, especially some of the longer shots towards the end.

There's a great sense of humour to it but all the acting and dialogue is delivered straight which makes it even more entertaining. Whilst it's a low budget film the effects are decent enough and the trolls certainly feel like they inhabit the same space as the actors who respond to them. The film is a lot of fun and you can tell that the actors enjoyed their roles and the whole concept itself. It's definitely one I could watch again and the shakey hand cam doesn't become overwhelming either which is a nice change.

I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys monster movies and the like, it's certainly up there with some of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Horror Film or Conservationist Metaphor ?, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
Before I talk about the film a few words about the Vendor and Delivery: I live in Germany and the delivery took just 3 days. The item is exactly according to the description. I had a big smiley face!

Now, on to the film itself: I bought the film as part of the preparation for the haloween party my daughter was organising. We could have bought it from Amazon.de but we wanted an English soundtrack (not offered on the 'continental' language version). Interestingly the film is rated as '12' in germany.

In the minimum of words, it is not realy a horror movie but far rather a thriller or who-dunnit. Indeed the protagonists expend most of their energy on trying to get close to the monsters rather than escaping them. There are several tense sections but no blood and gore at all. It did get squeals and yelps of suprise and disgust from my daughter and her friends but they remained quite relaxed in general.

For me the film seemed to be more an ironic comentary on the way we humans are failing to conserve nature by encroaching on the few remaining wildernesses we have. My strongest emotion was not fear of the monsters but empathy for them and sadness at the human behaviour towards them. On a side note, politicians and civil servants get put in a very poor light.

The film looses one star because even though the english soundtrack dubbing is very clear and understandable it is completely unmatched to the original norwegian so that mouth movement never seems to co-incide with the words. A half star is lost due to the sometimes rather poor computer animated graphics and a further half star because it is not all that scary and has a rather shallow plot with some minor inconsistencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very new twist to monster movies., 6 July 2011
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
There's no denying that at its beginning, Troll Hunter seems like another Blair Witch Project knock-off. Not that Blair Witch began the found-footage genre, (it actually started off in 1979 with Cannibal Holocaust) but it set the standard for horror pictures, most recently emulated by the Paranormal Activity franchise. The first 20 minutes of Troll Hunter show us three university students who are also a camera crew investigating some unexplained bear deaths and a suspicious man who may be poaching them. But rather than drawing out the mystery, it takes a sharp turn and tells us matter-of-factly that of course it was trolls killing the bears.

The titular Troll Hunter extraordinaire is played by comedian Otto Jespersen and he soon decides to hell with the whole secrecy business and instead takes the crew on for a wild, faux-verite ride through troll country. Turns out there's a big government cover-up in Norway to hide the trolls from the people and when they need one taken down Jespersen's who they turn to. He gives the crew some basic lessons in troll biology during his investigation into what's been riling up the local troll population, and we get to watch the whole thing unfold.

It is very well made with excellent effects considering the budget. The trolls were also brilliantly designed and very diverse, with a traditional 'fairy tale' look and the film delves deep into the whole troll mythology. The cave scene was very well done too and unbelievably tense and the climax is well worth waiting for. I honestly can't remember the last time I enjoyed a film as much as this, it really is that good, with some very good performances and stunning Norwegian scenery. I absolutely loved it, although it won't be to everyone's taste. I am sorely tempted to give it 5/5 for pure entertainment value. In one word, amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troll Hunter Fan, 13 Jan 2012
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
Driven to my first ever review because some people deigned to give this film 1 star.

Book to take my daughter to see this film not knowing it was in Norwegian with subtitles and with little or no expectations.

The film from start to finish was captivating, at times thrilling and weirdly funny. We did not stop talking about it for days. The mood of the film, the subtitles and the pace of the action all added to it's appeal

This is a mad mad film that must be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Droll Hunter, 11 July 2014
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
Comparisons have been made between TROLL HUNTER and both The Blair Witch Project and Cloverfield, and it’s easy to see why. And my reservations about those two films also apply here. For me the “found footage” contrivance actually detracts from the impact of the material. I know it’s not real and I actually find suspension of disbelief more difficult than with a conventional work of fiction. But maybe that’s just me. I found TBWP dull and not at all frightening. Cloverfield was more entertaining but frustrating nonetheless. TROLL HUNTER is better than either because it has a sharper script and never takes itself as seriously as the aforementioned. But I think this material would have been better served by either a straightforward mockumentary or comedy horror approach. That said it’s a fun film and is worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good budget film, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Lyndee H (Ipswich, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troll Hunter [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as it was recommended by my sister who had enjoyed it and since the price was so low I thought I was worth a look since I have never managed to see anything from Norway yet (I enjoy the 'World film' genre).

The film itself is good- it utilises the 'home-made film' aesthetics of the likes of The Blair Witch Project etc. and although the story itself is nothing extraordinary or groundbreaking (a group of teenage kids making a documentary for college), it is an interesting twist upon the whole Blair Witch idea. The acting is good and the use of CGI is effective.

This film is listed as a 15 certificate but there was not a lot to warrant this in my view (swearing and a little violence) so I watched this with my daughter the next day who also enjoyed it.

For your money, do not expect anything overly amazing or original but it is worth watching for an evenings entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Troll Hunter [Blu-ray]
Troll Hunter [Blu-ray] by Andre Ovredal (Blu-ray - 2012)
7.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews