Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impressive and very usfeul resource for VBA development
This really is an excellent book for those wishing to develop Excel applications. It provides clear and useful information on the workings of Excel spreadsheets and how to interact/control them in VBA. Although I have over 12 years of Access VBA experience, my Excel abilities are far less robust. This book really does cover most of the bases: beginners will be pleased to...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by Sparrowhawk/MU

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon should withdraw this eBook as it's not fit for purpose.
Only gave this 1 star because of the formatting for the eBook version - it's abysmal! This is the most poorly formatted book I've ever bought. Programming code is all left-aligned, with no indents; images are tiny, and left-aligned; normal paragraphs break halfway through a line, or even after a couple words; bulleted lists are unreadable throughout. Constant references...
Published 24 months ago by KayCee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An impressive and very usfeul resource for VBA development, 20 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This really is an excellent book for those wishing to develop Excel applications. It provides clear and useful information on the workings of Excel spreadsheets and how to interact/control them in VBA. Although I have over 12 years of Access VBA experience, my Excel abilities are far less robust. This book really does cover most of the bases: beginners will be pleased to know that there is a good introduction to the basics of VBA in early chapters, whilst more experienced developers will find a multitude of hints and tips to improve their applications. Topics include VBA fundamentals, the structure of Excel files, User forms, Object Oriented coding, coding charts and pivots, integrating with other Office apps, including help files and much more.

There is a nice glossary of VBA commands and functions in the back with one line explanations which you can then take further by looking up the details via the index, and it comes with a CD of code samples.

Is it perfect? No. There is very little on interfacing Excel to external data sources using MS Query for example, and only 1 page on considerations when making the application cross platform with Mac Excel (although Office 2011 for Mac with VBA support has only just been released, Office 2004 for Mac does have VBA too, so a little more would have been nice. Not all Mac users use Office 2008).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference book for Excel VBA, 13 Nov 2011
As someone who is self-taught and regularly programmes in Excel VBA, I was looking for a reference book for Excel 2010. While a lot of the content is familiar, it is always useful to look at how other people tackle a problem and it will change how I approach things in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have got a number of John Walkenbach's books on Excel programming starting from Excel 97. Always clear and informative and even though I have been programming for a number of years, I still come across nuggets of golden information in his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and Direct, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a direct way to learn advanced excel tools. A nice complement skill to support any management job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excel book by John Walkenbach...., 14 Mar 2013
By 
Alan D. (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What else is there to say - an excellent volume which I use as a reference for Programming with VBA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great - don't get the Kindle version, shell out the little extra for the hard copy and get the ebook included as well!, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book with some very advanced VBA programming techniques for Excel. I've certainly learned a lot from it, very useful!

If you're thinking of getting the Kindle version, don't bother - all of the examples are on the cd and some of the projects are ONLY on the cd. You also get a PDF of the ebook on the CD which you can easily convert to a (better formatted) kindle ebook anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon should withdraw this eBook as it's not fit for purpose., 23 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2010 Power Programming with VBA (Mr. Spreadsheet's Bookshelf) (Kindle Edition)
Only gave this 1 star because of the formatting for the eBook version - it's abysmal! This is the most poorly formatted book I've ever bought. Programming code is all left-aligned, with no indents; images are tiny, and left-aligned; normal paragraphs break halfway through a line, or even after a couple words; bulleted lists are unreadable throughout. Constant references are made to a CD ROM where you can find resources, but there's no downloadable version of the contents.

Nobody from the publishers Wiley can have sat down and proofed this eBook. How they can get away with charging 18 for formatting this bad is beyond me. Which is a pity because the author obviously knows his stuff. Buy it in printed format, but leave the eBook version alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impress the ladies with your wealth of VBA knowledge., 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're seriously looking at this product, you're probably the type of person who is a wizard in some weird fantasy role playing game so why not become a more powerful spreadsheet wizard too! This will give you +5 excel knowledge.

I would say this is very good for someone who already has a good working knowledge of excel but is a vba beginner. Very handy when using the general knowledge provided in this book in conjunction with specific examples of code found on many vba forums online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars getting to grips with VBA, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent value. Great description - author knows his stuff and is good at communicating it. It would be helpful to have a point by point outline of how to accomplish things on the computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excel 2010 Power Programming with VBA (Mr. Spreadsheet's Bookshelf) (Kindle Edition)
John Walkenbach's books are always a good read/easy and ready resource. I would recommend this for anyone wanting to upgrade their skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews