Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny just gets better and better...
If you are a fan of Kenny Wheeler's uniquely melodious, slightly melancholic but upliftingly satisfying compositions then this recording is a must. Such is the stature and reputation of the man that he attracts a stellar cast of faithful, top-notch players for this Big Band and they deliver Big Time. Wonderful arrangements, perfectly judged instrumental contributions and...
Published on 17 Mar. 2012 by BeeCee124

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overblown and pretentious
My comments point up the subjectivity of listening to music. A number of reviewers have written extremely favourably about this album, but for me, it was a disappointment. I have no complaints whatsoever about the musicianship - other than that the flugelhorn-playing seemed somewhat uncertain (should've hired Freddie Gavita, perhaps?) What I disliked intensely is the...
Published on 3 April 2013 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny just gets better and better..., 17 Mar. 2012
By 
BeeCee124 (Avon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Waiting (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Kenny Wheeler's uniquely melodious, slightly melancholic but upliftingly satisfying compositions then this recording is a must. Such is the stature and reputation of the man that he attracts a stellar cast of faithful, top-notch players for this Big Band and they deliver Big Time. Wonderful arrangements, perfectly judged instrumental contributions and fabulous Winstonesque vocals from Diana Torto that blend into and create a listening experience that, by the end, you just want to play again and again. As he gets older and physically frailer, Kenny's music just gets better and better. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's The Line Up, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Waiting (MP3 Download)
As Amazon doesn't give nearly enough information, I'm using this to inform other potential buyers of this beautiful CD of the line-up:

John Parricelli ( Guitar ) Julian Arguelles ( Soprano & Tenor Sax ) Martin France ( Drums ) John Taylor ( Piano ) Kenny Wheeler ( Trumpet, Flugelhorn ) Pete Churchill ( Conductor ) Diana Torto ( vocals ) Ray Warleigh ( Alto Sax ) Duncan Lamont ( Alto Sax ) Stan Sulzmann ( Tenor Sax ) Julian Siegel ( Tenor Sax ) Henry Lowther ( Trumpet ) Derek Watkins ( Trumpet ) Tony Fisher ( Trumpet ) Nick Smart ( Trumpet )
Mark Nightingale ( Trombone ) Barnaby Dickinson ( Trombone ) Dave Horler ( Trombone ) Dave Stewart ( Bass Trombone ) Chris Laurence ( Bass )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb big band jazz, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Waiting (Audio CD)
What an album this is! Diana Torto's voice soaring over Kenny Wheeler's intriguing and wistful music. Flawless ensemble playing and some great soloing - not surprising given the stellar line-up. Beautifully recorded and engineered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Waiting (MP3 Download)
Another excellent ensemble album from Wheeler, easily as listenable and likeable as any of the other big band releases, including the old favourite 'Music for large and small ensembles' which was over 20 years ago now. Great band and solo work throughout, superb vocals from Norma Winstone and full of typical Wheeler melodies. As a companion piece to this, check out Wheeler's collaboration with the London Vocal Project called 'Mirrors' which is equally rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding British Jazz ., 13 Jun. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Long Waiting (Audio CD)
Highly recommended - a superb album of Wheeler compositions played by the cream of British musicians. The compositions are instantly recognizable and characterised by melodic repetition and melancholia . ( but this is not in any way a criticism - indeed it adds to their great intensity and beauty ).

Outstanding is the dynamic vocal contribution of Diana Torto. Her youthful enthusiasm captured on Enowena, in particular, is magnificent .

Don't hesitate , Derek Collins . Niagara On The Lake . Canada .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As usual Kenny Wheeler delivers with interesting & beautiful music., 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Waiting (Audio CD)
It's Kenny Wheeler in his best. His 1990 release music for large and small ensembles was my introduction. Just wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Album, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Donald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Waiting (Audio CD)
This is a very good band and inspired composer, not classic but good to hear modern big band in full song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overblown and pretentious, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Waiting (Audio CD)
My comments point up the subjectivity of listening to music. A number of reviewers have written extremely favourably about this album, but for me, it was a disappointment. I have no complaints whatsoever about the musicianship - other than that the flugelhorn-playing seemed somewhat uncertain (should've hired Freddie Gavita, perhaps?) What I disliked intensely is the writing and arranging, which to me came over as pretentious and overblown.

I bought the MP3 download version of the album. Thus I lack the benefit of the sleeve notes, which might have provided some valuable insight and explanation, and made the experience more enjoyable. But I suspect the price difference between this and the CD version was money well saved.

I'm sure that it was never Mr Wheeler's intention that "The Long Waiting" should be a rival to "The Atomic Mr Basie", but to say that that is what it ain't, sums it up.

I'm just the wrong listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Waiting
The Long Waiting by Kenny Wheeler (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews