Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural thriller - tense and teasing
After losing his wife in a road accident, Jake is left with the torture of loss and grief, and the mystery of his wife's final words.

He creates ANDEE, an innovative and somewhat frightening computer which enables him to watch and experience the mysterious elements of what he calls NDEs - Near Death Experiences. He pursues this research and dangerous work...
Published 20 months ago by Gareth K. Stokes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing
So, the story centres on Jake who has invented a machine that can read minds. However, at every opportunity manages to make massive errors in judgement that always put everyone around him in mortal danger. Even when his best friend is randomly shot for no reason he barely flinches and continues to work with the shooter. Good basic idea but the story itself is weak. And he...
Published on 11 Mar. 2013 by S. Heptonstall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernatural thriller - tense and teasing, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Gareth K. Stokes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
After losing his wife in a road accident, Jake is left with the torture of loss and grief, and the mystery of his wife's final words.

He creates ANDEE, an innovative and somewhat frightening computer which enables him to watch and experience the mysterious elements of what he calls NDEs - Near Death Experiences. He pursues this research and dangerous work because he wants - NEEDS - to talk to his dead wife. But this is a goal that costs him subservience to his military sponsors (whose devious plans are beyond menacing), the discovery of things perhaps better left unknown, and the safety of those he most needs and cares about.

Interspersed with a nicely depicted romance following his meeting with Madison, this is a complex story of life after death, and the possibilities of the afterlife. It poses very clever hypotheses about what happens to us in our final moments of mortal existence.

This is a very intelligently written story, involving complex science fictional propositions with cleverly illustrated technical detailing. It is also a story with a stark warning label: be careful what you mess with...the consequences can be dangerously ominous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technology and Love, 21 May 2012
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
" Near Death" is the title of a new novel by Richard C. Hale. The title means many things: the alleged phenomenon of the near-death experience itself, the way protagonist Jake Townshend is barely alive after losing his wife Beth, and also the nifty premise of the novel. What if through technology we could bring the memories of the near death experience to life, as if watching a movie? Jake is driven by both his intellectual curiosity and his relentless desire to reconnect with Beth, who with equal relentlessness seems to dominate his dreams. In a way, the book is sci-fi, but in a way it's also a love story.

Emotionally, the book rings true, and Hale writes convincingly enough of the "science" involved in the near-death project for the reader to suspend disbelief. There's also some mighty intense action that transpires along the way. You may well find yourself correctly predicting where everything is headed, but this will not stop you from enjoying the ride.

Jon P. Bloch
(The Kindle Book Review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, action thriller, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
R. King "Writer" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book; genuinely creepy at times with a fast pace and lots of twists. It follows the work of a scientist who is downloading memories of near-death experiences so they can be viewed in their entirety via a TV screen. He is on a mission to re-connect with his dead wife and the government want to use it for their own dubious plans. There is love, banter and danger and it would make a cracking film.

I didn't give it 5 stars because the original description of the technology involved was a bit simplistic for me and difficult to believe in. However, I suspect this will not affect most people as I'm always thinking too much about what I'm reading. ;O)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly written novel that I highly recommend., 25 April 2012
By 
Janet34Clark (Nuneaton, Warks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very thought provoking and captivating storyline, which is full of drama and twists and turns. I totally enjoyed this book and I have no hesitation in recommending this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scary, sexy and thrilling, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
ahmahgerd! this was an excellent book.

it's one of the very few books that gave me goosebumps and made me want to switch the lights on in my bedroom.

the pace of the book was excellent and a little bit racy in places but done with decency and taste and the action parts were so good that I had to finish it before I went to sleep because if I started reading during one of my middle of the night wake ups, it would keep me up.

it was also slightly scary in some parts and I loved the way it dealt with the whole life after death thing without making any mention of religion or preachy things. Very good job by the author, I can't believe I got it for free on my kindle!

I'll be getting more by Jake and I don't mind paying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinarily good, 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book gripped me from the start and kept me fascinated and eagerly anticipating what would happen next . I loved the main characters and would like to read another book by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, 11 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
So, the story centres on Jake who has invented a machine that can read minds. However, at every opportunity manages to make massive errors in judgement that always put everyone around him in mortal danger. Even when his best friend is randomly shot for no reason he barely flinches and continues to work with the shooter. Good basic idea but the story itself is weak. And he still gets the gorgeous girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. W. J. C. Farries "bilcotwo" (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A bit predictable but still interesting reading. Covers the subjext of near death experiences very well and makes you think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fast moving with twists throughout, and a final one at the end. Very enjoyable and encourages reading more by Hale. Presumably this is the aim when Amazon offer it for free on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Near death, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Near Death (A Jake Townsend Science Fiction, Action and Adventure, Thriller Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It was a captivating read just couldn't put it down very interesting read would like to read more books just like this not my usual type but I really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews