Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Needed New Guidance on CVs
Many many books exist on writing CVs. The vast majority assume the CV is for a academically-oriented job seeker looking for a managerial, sales or other 'professional' career move up a familiar career ladder. But what about the recent graduate, looking for their first job? Or the craftsperson looking for a new role after redundancy? Or the qualified technician looking...
Published on 5 Oct. 2011 by TimDouglasHR

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teaches you nothing new
A really basic book that I would consider suitable for someone just starting out in their career. Gained very little insight as to what should be in a CV simply because I already knew the information. Quite disappointing really.
Published on 7 Jan. 2013 by Marj


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Needed New Guidance on CVs, 5 Oct. 2011
Many many books exist on writing CVs. The vast majority assume the CV is for a academically-oriented job seeker looking for a managerial, sales or other 'professional' career move up a familiar career ladder. But what about the recent graduate, looking for their first job? Or the craftsperson looking for a new role after redundancy? Or the qualified technician looking for a complete career change?

I read this book very quickly on a plane and can say it fills a much-needed gap very well. It is equally good advice for the seasoned professional who thinks they already know it all which, of course, none of us does. But it is written in such an accessible way, with great insights that are given with simplicity, without pomp, that it will be a huge boost to those who have not had any previous formal advice about writing their CV.

It deserves to be a huge success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Your CV Noticed!, 23 Dec. 2011
This review is from: 7 Keys to a Winning CV: How to create a CV that gets results (Harriman Business Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great quick read which gives you exactly what you need to write a CV that not only engages employers but communicates your skills, knowledge, experiences and abilities in a structured and effective way. There were useful summaries at the end of each Key as well as specific advice for young job seekers. Mildred Talabi takes you through the process of writing the different parts of your CV with good examples and clear explanations. I think that after reading this book you could confidently write a CV that will actually get you the results you want provided that you have the skills and experiences to meet a job description and person specification for a role. I read this book in less than a couple of hours and would highly recommend it to adults and definitely young people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential toolkit for job seekers., 30 Sept. 2011
By 
Having spent night nigh on 20 years in recruitment, I was pleasantly surprised by Mildred's book. This is a simple, yet powerful framework that anyone can adopt to give them competitive advantage in an increasingly competitive labour market.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Savvy guide, 14 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CVs are one of those things that we all have to do and many of us find a chore. Great to find a plain English, practical and easy to use guide that absolutely anyone would find helpful. I really like the simple concept of the 7 keys and the separate advice for young people - timely and relevant. My only caveat is that in some areas of the job market now, differentiating yourself is going to challenge some of the tried and tested approaches that have worked in the past. Only time will tell! In the meantime, this does what it says on the cover and will help a lot of people, young or older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 9 Jan. 2012
I got this book as a xmas present, and started reading it immediately. I found it very useful and easy to read. It helped me to update and improve my CV and I now feel more confident when presenting it to potential employers.
Fredrik Strand - Norway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly as it says on the cover, 5 Oct. 2011
As a qualified manager and self confessed nut on 'CPD' I read a lot of books such as this one, this book
hits the ground running, does what it says on the cover and is an easy read which is most important coupled with top class ideas, suggestions and tips relevance is king here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best CV book - Ever!, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike many other books on CV's this was goes straight to the point and provides simple easy to understand techniques. It is easy to read and compact enough not to seem like a chore which many CV books tend to be. I will be using the book to help other Job seekers within my own careers work.

Tony Badcott
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 Keys to a Winning CV, 14 Dec. 2013
Excellent book. As a student I found it really helpful in getting my CV into shape! The sections were easy to read and really applied to me. It consolidated the information really well. I have recommended this book to many friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7 Keys to a Winning CV - Review, 1 Feb. 2012
I received this book today and read it cover to cover. Simple, crisp and well laid out. It is amazing how the information was presented and written in a personal style!! Great source and quite insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7 Keys to a Winning CV: How to create a CV that gets results (Harriman Business Essentials) (Kindle Edition)
A laborious job writing a CV but this book gave me confidence and satisfaction that my content and presentation was accurate for the job market I was targeting.
Thank you Mildred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews