Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
83
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2010
Great read about a great player who I didn't know a lot about. I enjoyed the Dundee years, but it was the Spurs stuff that really interested me. In that context, I have to take issue with Phillips Alun David. To say the writer was given short shrift by "all the Spurs stars" he attempted to interview is plain wrong. One of my favourite parts was the joint interview with Cliff Jones, Alan Mullery and Phil Beal which, if memory serves me, actually takes place at White Hart Lane on a match day. Then there was the warm testimonies of Jimmy Greaves, Eddie Bailey and countless others. I'll agree with one thing, though. Perryman emerges as a true gent. I hope this book brings Gillie's name to a new generation of fans.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2010
To review a book about one of my early football heroes is a pleasure. Alan Gilzean was a local Angus lad who gained fame in the excellent Dundee FC team in the early 60s. I missed their winning the league title for the only time (having as a school boy fan followed the earlier team of 1948/49 who narrowly lost the league title to Rangers by a last day defeat by Falkirk)but on leave from Nigeria I saw some of their games in the European Cup when they reached the semi final. After that economics took over and the team broke up with Gilzean being sold to Spurs, Ure to Arsenal and Gordon Smith retiring.
Good to read of those days and to hear about Gilzean - a modest and rare type of footballer, not showy but a team man to the core.
I enjoyed the search for him and it was a real trip down memory lane for me - thanks to the author James Morgan - and to Alan Gilzean, a modest, under-rated giant of the game.
Jeff McLachlan
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
As a life long supporter of Dundee, I was very sad last week when the Club went into administration for a second time within seven years and therefore decided to buy James Morgan's book to remind me of happier days. The book is excellent and captures the true essence of this very modest man who was simply one of the best players ever to wear the Dark Blue jersey.It is not a normal football biography and is exceptionally well researched and written.

Morgan only had a couple of hours with the legend but was able to capture the true character and enigma of Alan Gilzean by talking to old school friends and past playing colleagues at both Dundee and Spurs. Gilzean's comment (said before this week's breaking news) that "Rooney is a good player but not a great player" just shows how sharp and intelligent the man still is. Players of Alan Gilzean's stature played with pride and passion for their clubs in stark contrast to today's modern mercenaries.This book is highly recommended not only to supporters of Dundee and Spurs but to all true football fans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Always a bit of an enigma on and off the field, Gilly was a true favorite at White Hart Lane and he appears to have come out of the shadows in recent times to acknowledge the respect and affection he is held in by the fans who were lucky enough to watch him play alongside the other "G man" Jimmy Greaves and of course big Chiv. Oh for their like again at Tottenham. Well researched, well written and the author keeps you guessing as to the outcome of the search for Alan Gilzean right to the end. Every Spurs, Dundee and Scotland fan should have a copy in their bookshelf.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2010
When you see all the books on or by footballers on the shelves these days, players who have done quiet well for 50 games, you wonder where the books of the legends are. The players that did it year in, year out. The players that played for the jersey, and actually cared for the teams they represented. Alan Gilzean is one of those legends, and this is one of those books.

Crafted with care and consideration, James Morgan's mission to get Gillie his rightful place in the Scottish Football Association's Hall of Fame tells the tale of a bygone era, and of a man happy to leave the football hooha behind when he retired.

An exception read, for Dundee, Tottenham and Scotland fans especially, but also for anyone who wants to know what happened to 70's players who didn't want to manage or run a pub. Marvellous.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2010
This is a must have book for any Spurs fan young or old. Gillie is the forgotten man of days gone by but he was a true legend. Older fans who saw him play will be reminded of the great man's service to Spurs and for younger fans who have only heard of Gillie from fathers and grandfathers will now be aware of why he is held in such esteem by Spurs fans.
Easy to read, I couldn't put the book down it was so compelling. Painstakingly researched it is full of interesting facts of his time at Dundee and Spurs, interviews with former Spurs greats and fellow professionals. Great credit to James Morgan for bringing back the memories of Gillie.
Buy this book and you won't regret it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
As a fan I loved Gillie. He could pass the ball wirth his head better than most of the guys who play now can with their feet. Class with guile and more than a hint of hardness about him.

I was fascinated to hear about Gillies early life and his lack of need for recognition in a #n ear when so many people who have done nothing expect fame and recognition.

The authors search for Gillie is interesting as is Gillies obvious lack of need to be feted.

Gillie is unique I have never seen anyone who could use his head to such deadly effect, one photo stand out to me where he is waiting for a corner and there are 4 defenders around him, that is how good he was

I am saddened however that Gillie did not want to do a biography. I have spoken to many people who watched football in the 70's and 80's, real fans not people who go to the local pub, wear a shirt and watch the team the "support" on TV. who remember Gillie as a great player and would have bought his book I am sure.

There are also many Dundee and Spurs fans would would love to read about Gillies time at their clubs and we as fans are missing out by Gilles lack of desire to assist in a biography.

Good luck Gillie and thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
A brilliant book, well researched and something for all fans not just those of Scotland, Dundee and Spurs. The player had a touch of class and so does this book. A cracking read. Thank you James Morgan for your effort you must be very proud of the finished product.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
An excellent book on a complex character, but one who had a tremendous impact on Scottish and English football. Well worth a read, and more books like this should be written!
David Potter
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
A wonderful book stirring warm and treasured memories of one of football's most skillful and entertaining performers. Always the King to Spurs fans and clearly to those at Dundee too.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)