Customer Reviews


224 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST WATCH
I believe that the walking dead is an amazing tv show. However, if you want to have the full experience, be prepared to pay for season three and four as they are only for rent of individual sale on amazon which is rather annoying
Published 1 month ago by kieran coyne

versus
25 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but falters from 1st season (weaker storylines; many silly acts that defy even zombie universe logic)
SPOILER ALERT.

Finally sat down to watch the complete series, and it's fair to say that it's not as good as the first, esp. if seen in quick succession. It might work better on a weekly basis, but for this reviewer, the series was OK but, regrettably, also fairly disappointing by the end, particularly after the wonderful script of season 1, where the group,...
Published 23 months ago by Avg Joe


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST WATCH, 19 May 2014
I believe that the walking dead is an amazing tv show. However, if you want to have the full experience, be prepared to pay for season three and four as they are only for rent of individual sale on amazon which is rather annoying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Dead is getting Better in Second Season, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The Walking Dead got a lot better in this season as you are getting more character development, more gore, more thrills, more suspense, and more than that, the edge of the seat moments throughout the series.
Rather than a Zombie/Walker series, the Walking Dead Season II is more profound, and the characters are getting more life and well, character. Each character development also thickens the plot with additional elements of morality, ethical questions, horror and the psychology of human frailty. The lead characters Rick and Shane, though predictable, will surprise the viewer with some unexpected codes of survival. The line between good and bad, control and obedience, survival and sacrifice are all blurred with the characters as well as the situations.
The Walking Dead has also paid homage to the great classic 12 Angry Men in one of the episodes (Judge, Jury (and) Exectutioner).
If you liked the first season, you are going to love the second season.

DVD/BLU-RAY SET Info.
Subtitles: English SDH
Audio: English 5.1 DTS-HD Mater Audio/2.0 Stereo
Aspect Ratio: 16x9 (1:78:1)
Running time: Approximately 554 Minutes
Rated:18 Contains strong violence and gory horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb second season, 1 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I originally watched season 2 of the Walking Dead when it aired on television and I have just finished re-living season 2 on DVD boxset and I forgot it was such a strong season. You get more bang for your buck with season 2 as it has 13 episodes in contrast to the 6 episodes of season 1 so there is more gore and more action!

The bulk of season 2 is based on a farm where the band of survivors have holed up after leaving the CDC in season 1. As a result, there are several new characters in season 2 and we also see the loss of three main characters by the end of the season (two of the scenes are particularly moving.) The ongoing saga of the love triangle between Rick, Shane and Lori continues throughout season 2 and we see greater character development of Daryl.

I remember when the season aried on television there was a break halfway through the series and the mid season finale is probably one of my favourite Walking Dead episodes, it made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end when I watched it on television. The build up in tension, the drama and the subsequent emotion was a tour de force....I'm afraid I can't be any more specific than that as it would give the game away. Out of the 13 episodes, there are at least 5 or 6 really strong episodes in this season which made it a joy to watch for a second time.

If you enjoyed season 1 and would like to see more action, some of the same humour, great character development, more twists and turns, iconic scenes and introduction of new characters then add this season to your cart! you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great content!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nail biting, exciting, gripping!

Good drama and interesting themes, ethical dilemmas.

Like the walkers/biters, this just keeps coming and coming and coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An improvement over the first season, despite some pacing problems, 9 Sep 2012
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Rick Grimes and his fellow survivors have escaped from Atlanta. Making for Fort Benning and the hope of rescue, the group is waylaid on the highway by a horde of walkers. With one of the group missing and another severely injured, they find a safe haven at a nearby farm and the hope of a new home. But as the days and weeks pass, the unresolved tensions in the group threaten to tear it apart.

The second season of The Walking Dead picks up shortly after the events of the first. Whilst the first only had six episodes to tell its story, the second has thirteen, giving it more time to explore the premise and characters.

Things get off to a strong start in the first few episodes, which focus on the confrontation on the highway and the attempts to bring the group back together. New characters - the Greene family - and a new location - a large farmstead - are introduced and events unfold with some vigour. However, after the third episode the story bogs down a little as characters start spinning their wheels at the farm. This is where the ramifications of a major pre-season production crisis - a budget cut that infuriated showrunner Frank Darabont and saw him leave the series - are at their most noticeable. Whilst the budget problems ground the series for a little too long at the farm, the producers do make the most of the money they do have. The zombie effects are a cut above the more variable effects of the first season and there are some truly gruesome moments that equal the most visceral scenes of any zombie movie that comes to mind.

The long pause at the farm does allow some effective character development, particularly of Shane (Jon Bernthal), whose growing disillusionment with the group and his inability to accept the new status quo and move on is depicted quite well, even if the story does take a few too many episodes to come to a head. However, probably the best characterisation is left to Daryl (Norman Reedus), who evolves from the quieter brother of racist redneck Merle in the first season into a conflicted, complex character who refuses to fit easily into any stereotype. Rick (Andrew Lincoln), our main protagonist, gets a little lost in the mix this season with storylines focusing mostly on other characters, but comes back strong towards the end of the season as he starts to show signs of not handling the stress of command very well. However, his dynamic with Herschel (Scott Wilson) and the twists and turns it goes through is fascinating, with Herschel moving from a pacifistic man of faith to shotgun-wielding zombie-slayer under Rick's (not entirely laudable) influence. The introduction of Maggie (Lauren Cohan) as a love interest for Glenn (Steven Yeun) also adds a rare glimmer of sunlight to a dark season.

Whilst the season does suffer from some slow pacing in its central section, it remains highly watchable, and the pacing issue is mitigated considerably on DVD without a week-long break between each episode. There are some effective moments of dark humour (the 'zombie well' scene is hilarious), the writing is pretty good and the actors mostly effective. Aside from the pacing issue, the character of Lori (Sarah Wayne Callies) suffers the worst from inconsistent writing and motivations, which the actress does her best to make sense of but can't quite sell.

Events culminate in a fairly epic two-part season finale in which the bubbling tensions within the group boil over and the biggest battle between the survivors and the zombies to date takes place. Despite some longeurs and niggling problems, Season 2 (****) ends on a high that leaves a lot of balls in the air for the third season and its promise of introducing some of the best characters and storylines from the comic book to the TV series. The series is available now in the UK (DVD, Blu-Ray) and USA (DVD, Blu-Ray).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The world we know is gone, but keeping our humanity? That's a choice.", 15 May 2012
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 2 begins where we left season 1, the group of survivors decide to go to Fort Benning, however the plan doesn't go as they had hoped when they get stuck on a motorway jam packed with abandoned cars, and the next thing you know a 'herd' of walkers descend.

Now I will not go in to huge scene by scene accounts as to what happens next, frankly I like to watch a show and find out for myself and I get very annoyed when I read a review and accidentally read spoilers.

Episodes1,2 &3 were fantastic, then the action dips a little and relies on character based writing. But bear with it what the writers are doing is setting you up for and explosive second half. The relationship's between Rick, Lori, Shane and Carl becomes very tested. In episode 3 we start to really see under Shane's skin and just what he will do to survive. What the writers have done here is proven this is not just a series based on zombies, violence, and action, but one that can be incredibly well written, tense and character driven. It certainly is not a one dimensional show.

We have a whole new crop of survivors to get to know, Hershel being one. The friction between Rick's and Hershel's groups on how to deal with walkers is there throughout most of the season. We also by the end of the season find out why the dead are walking (although not a full scientific explanation), We loose some of the main characters by the end too. really its a question of who survives!

I have to say I very much enjoyed season 1 of The Walking Dead. The first half of season 2 is less action based, which I think is why some found it slow. However it really is setting you up for a season finale which is outstanding, and literally taken straight out of the comic book from which the series originated. I can not wait to see what happens in season 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
over the moon with this DVD season 2 enjoyed all the episodes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and a fantastic series 2, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Delivery was so quick, and a fantastic series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
Mrs. M. A. Minster (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEASON 1+2 ARE BRILLIANT! then it got bad, 7 July 2014
really good stuff!
the first and second season were really well done, the artisticness and creativity of frank darabont really came out in these two seasons, with real emotion in the script and story line. after they fire him for bull**** reasons, the show got worse and worse and worse. it immediately went from a visionary script writers product, something he was writing for art-not money, to the typical american trash entertainment!

to remedy this problem, i have devised a drinking game which should kill you before you get to the awful third and fourth seasons of the walking dead.

TAKE A DRINK:
when carl does something stupid
when carl says something stupid
when andrea tries to be a maverick
when rick yells lori
when shane yells lori
when rick yells carl
when lori yells rick/shane/carl
when carl yells mom/dad/shane
whenever they kill a walker

FINISH THE DRINK:
when (if) T-dog gets a line
when a character repeatedly bashes in the head of a walker (bonus: take a second drink if they are crying while doing it.... take a third if it is because the walker killed their friend... take a fourth if their friend was a relative/close friend (i.e.amy/andrea, andrea/dale)
when they do something stupid

TAKE A SHOT:
when a human is killed
when a main character dies
when a human kills another human
when glenn and maggie "do it"
when shane and rick fight
when you guess what you think they will do and they either do or don't do it

VERDICT:
do i think you should buy it? yes, only seasons 1+2 though

seasons 3 and 4 are worse than a weekend in detroit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD]
The Walking Dead - Season 2 [DVD] by Andrew Lincoln (DVD - 2012)
11.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews