Customer Reviews


1,104 Reviews
5 star:
 (370)
4 star:
 (237)
3 star:
 (209)
2 star:
 (133)
1 star:
 (155)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


481 of 567 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor money making excercise
Well I watched this movie last night, and to say it was a disappointment would be an understatement. I am a big fan of the "Alien" franchise but I will not be adding this dire effort to that collection.

What on earth where the producers thinking about, churning out a half assed prequel story about aliens and their part in human evolution....hardly as original...
Published 5 months ago by Somerset


‹ Previous | 1 2111 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

481 of 567 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws, 1 Sep 2012
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and it'll happen again. People went in with ridiculous expectations and that's why there are so many stupid 1 or 2 star reviews - they never took it for what it was! to compare this,as some did on here, to "The phantom menace" is pathetic and childish to say the least.

The main problem with Prometheus is clearly it's unanswered questions, my opinion is that this will play better when the sequel arrives as it's really just act 1 of a 2 or 3 act play, that said there's still lots to enjoy here, namely Michael Fassbenders brilliant performance as David the Android, the exceptional design work,stunning fx and Naomi Rapace who is excellent in only her 2nd Hollywood role.

Fed up of silly robots smashing things up,superheroes and vacuous teen vampire movies? want sci fi but with a brain? then this movie is for you, sure it's not perfect but its miles better than most movies out there at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


163 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film with lot's of extras on the 3D version, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus - Collector's Edition (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great film in it's own right, even Ridley says it's not really a prequel, it's just that the idea for this film came about from elements of the first Alien film. Just watch it for what it is, a great piece of Sci-Fi.
Just a gripe now towards Amazon, Why don't you list the extras on any of your DVD / Blu Ray's? This would help many people in deciding which version of the disc to buy. Now originally I was going to buy the film which just came with a digital copy, this was around 15, or I could go for the copy which also had the 3D version, but not having a 3D TV I thought this would be a waste of time and an extra 5. But it wasn't until I read through a load of reviews where someone said to go for the 3D version as it had a film makers documentary which is 3.5 hours long, this I believe does not come with the other version. So I ordered the 3D version (which also has the normal 2D blu Ray version) which does indeed come with a 3.5 hour documentary, but that's not all, there is over 7 hours of bonus features on this disc, which are as follows:

Deleted scenes including alternate beginning and ending
making of Prometheus in depth documentary
Audio commentaries
The Peter weyland files
Weyland corp archive
Plus a Mobile app
Plus more

So if you like your extras then the 3D version is the way to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


185 of 228 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Blu-ray NOT the movie, 8 Oct 2012
To put it simply I'm going to review the actual content of the blu ray not the film, there are loads of film sites/magazines you can view if you want a review of the movie i'm going to talk about what seems to get ignored the actual product you are buying!

I will just note, I love the film and think it was way over hyped and this led to people thinking it was going to be the best movie ever so it could never live up to these high standards. Just please ignore all the 1 star reviews, this is certainly not a 1 star movie.

The picture
Prometheus is a good looking film on blu ray, it certainly not the best looking blu ray. Ironcally Alien (A film from the 1970's) looks better on Blu ray. There is some grain but there has been a lot worse in recent years.

The Extras
The Blu ray really shines here. Firslty you get a proper itunes digital copy not a rubbish UV digtial copy. You can also chose to download a Windows Media Player file instead, if you don't use itunes, that will work on msot devices. There is a large handfull of deleted scenes each with a cool little explain of why they were cut and what they add to the film. There is also an alternative beginning and ending. The deleted scenes are separate from the movie and cannot be viewed as part of the film, in say a director's cut format.

There is also a strange feature called the "Weyland files" which gives a deeper view into the "Alien/Promethues Universe". there is also commentaries which are good but really only for Alien/Prometheus super fans, the causal viewer will be bored. Finally there is a really cool dual screen feature.

If you have an ipad you can download a free app on the app store (just search prometheus and you will find it), then you sync the app to you blu ray player (you need a BD live enabled player for this) and then as you watch the movie extra features and facts will come up on your ipad at points during the film. It is an amazing feature that I hope to see more of, I noted in Dutch app store there were dual screen apps for the Avengers and Spider Man, whilst they dont work in the UK hopefully this shows that film companies are going to start using this feature more often. Also note the app at the time of wrtting was only avalaible on iPad but I have been informed that it is now available on other app stores as well.

Verdict
So far this year it has been a disapointing year for Blu ray releases most have been pretty poor, The Avengers and The Hunger Games were a little lacking but Prometheus bucks this trend and gives a truly great bly ray package well worth your money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


136 of 170 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prometheus: An Admirable Mess, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus - Collector's Edition (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Let me start by saying that Prometheus is a bit mess of themes and plot points not helped by some poor editing choices (this should have been Terry Rawling's gig), but it's an admirable mess that attempts to open the Alien series up to a much bigger sci-fi canvas. The series has been stuck in the formula of attempting to ape the action and pacing of James Cameron's Aliens since Alien Resurrection "graced" our cinema screens in '97 and any potential expansion of the universe since has been merely hinted at rather than properly explored.

When making Alien, Ridley Scott and writer Dan O' Bannon originally intended for the universe to be far wider in cinematic scope. Unfortunately a constrictive budget held them back from exploration beyond the bare essential. This forced Scott and crew to cut back, even bringing the then unfinished fossilised Space Jockey set in to question with worried studio heads (a battle Scott fortunatly won). Paul WS Anderson's later Alien vs Predator may have shamelessly ripped off a few of these lost story elements (resulting in a begrudging story credit for Dan O'Bannon) but they were wasted on poor direction and a narrative more interested in WWF style alien on alien wrestling. With Prometheus Scott has finally managed to take the series back to the places he originally intended to explore, resulting in a film that, much like 2001, tackles the relationship between men and their makers amongst many other things (like who the Space Jockey was, why was he transporting those eggs and what they were originally intended for). And now the door has been left swinging in the wind, wide open for any kind of imaginative or ghastly sci-fi tale or landscape.

Where Prometheus fails is in the single mindedness of it's main characters (not to mention the stupidity that some display in serving the plot). The narrative is also somewhat bogged down with attempts to provide moments between the obvious cannon fodder background characters when it should be affording its leads with depth. Despite this Prometheus succeeds in providing the series with its most interesting character since Ripley bowed out in Alien 3. Micheal Fassbender's David is a revelation. One part Bishop, two parts Ash and a mystery throughout. Both an enigma and a pleasure to watch. Unfortunately like many characters in the film, the editing betrays him and we're left with a couple of half developed but nonetheless interesting sub-plots (like the love triangle between himself, Shaw and Holloway). The film reeks of the feeling that much like Kingdom of Heaven, there's a great film bubbling under the surface of a merely good one.

Because of these half developed sub-plots, Prometheus feels as if half a film. Not only does it ask more questions than it answers (which isn't necessarily a bad thing) it ends as if part one of an ongoing tale rather than as a self contained narrative. All setup, primed and ready to pay off in later instalments to the franchise. The parting shot also translates as a poorly judged fan service, squandering potential for a significant beastie in the execution. The primary problem being that Scott and the writing staff had built the creature up to be the film's big bad, hinting at the kind of devastation it rained down on the race of Engineers 2000 years before. Unfortunately they only provide the creature with a scant few seconds to shine. It's another halfway developed sub-plot waiting to be expanded in an inevitable sequel. And yet despite these misgivings Prometheus manages to entertain and engage throughout.

Refreshingly the film doesn't pander to audiences by over explaining each and every plot point. And though the film does provide a few answers to key questions fans have about the Space Jockey characters and their race it does well not to destroy the mysticism surrounding them and their culture. Not to mention that the production design is top notch, rivalling the aesthetic excitement and intrigue of sci-fi films twice Prometheus' budget. Scott is truly a wizard of aesthetic pleasure. The entire look, feel and atmosphere is exactly what you would want from an Alien film. Prometheus is flawed but pure sci-fi and demands a second viewing. It harkens to a time when sci-fi films explored big themes and dared to delve beyond popcorn visuals. Overall, Prometheus is a solid sci-fi tale that offers further promising and exciting places to explore in the Alien universe. Now, I can't remember the last time I felt that about a film related to the Alien series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor money making excercise, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] (DVD)
Well I watched this movie last night, and to say it was a disappointment would be an understatement. I am a big fan of the "Alien" franchise but I will not be adding this dire effort to that collection.

What on earth where the producers thinking about, churning out a half assed prequel story about aliens and their part in human evolution....hardly as original or mind blowing as the hype of this movie would have you believe.

I cannot understand it when people take a brilliant tried and tested formula and attempt to get all deep and "meaning of life" with it, if Ridley Scott had such an overwhelming desire to get all creative then why didn't he attempt something totally new and unrelated to his original masterpiece?....why attempt to drag god and human evolution into what was the ultimate survivalist thrill ride series of all time.

If you want to see a deep and meaningful Sci-Fi movie then watch "2001, a space Odyssey", if you want to see a decent action packed Ridley Scott production then watch his original "Alien" series....On the other hand if you want to watch a multi-million dollar movie with none of the aforementioned then "Prometheus" is for you...and may "a big white alien" have mercy on your soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get the biggest experience., 6 Nov 2013
By 
Ms. R. Fryer (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the DVD version but I saw it at the cinema in iMax 3D so not being able to watch in 3D at home was a disappointment. After recently purchasing a 3D TV and Blu Ray Player Prometheus had to be one of my first choice 3D movies. Ridley Scott has put a lot into the visual effects, perhaps a shame he didn't put more into the storyline like some explanations but hey. The movie is slick and looks great on my TV. I'd recommend this film for those who want a more immersive 3D experience, it doesn't improve the storyline, but it makes it more watchable. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but with some minor flaws., 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film , but anyone expecting an Alien gore fest may be disapointed , I think its best if you forget about the Alien series as its a bit different from them.
There is not a lot of action and at times its a little slow going but it does keep you hooked all the way threw.

As for the PQ and SQ its first class.

I watched the film twice so far and second time round I picked up a few minor flaws below so stop reading now and enjoy what is a very good film.

SPOILER ALERT!!!!!............................................................SPOILER ALERT!!!!!

One thing that I noticed was a bit silly but nothing that ruined it for me was when the two scientists that wanted to head back to the ship got lost why the heck could they not radio the ship for a way out, after all they did start routing the tunnel system with the "pups" which gave a mapping on the ship deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, sounds huge. Has equally massive plot holes, 17 Oct 2012
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] (DVD)
Prometheus looks fantastic and sounds wonderful. Your expectations will soar when the film opens with magnificent landscapes, perfect cinematography and epic music. You also witness finely crafted homages to Kubrick and an effective introduction to the character of David played nicely by Michael Fassbender.

Unfortunately, once the character development commences, the cracks show and you worry that like Ripley on the Sulaco, the Alien franchise may have a fifth wheel. Some of the characters contradict themselves to such an extent it's like watching Nick Griffin wearing a turban. I don't need to catalogue inconsistencies in the actions of the characters - They are well documented online. Additionally, Guy Pearce is unconvincing as a pensioner. But then you see a big sparkly spaceship float past your face in 3D and you forget about it for a bit.

Ridley Scott has attempted to distance Prometheus from Alien. He stated that Prometheus is not a prequel - Some would say with good reason. Alien is a damn fine film and comparisons could only be damaging. Unfortunately for Scott, but happily for the rest of us, Prometheus is crammed with references to the 1979 classic that are impossible to ignore. The various creatures that stalk the crew have been rescued from HR Giger's blueprint designs for Alien and it is hard to divorce nostalgia from the experience. The engineers are hulking great albinos, curiously reminiscent of Jason Statham - They are unveiled in the first scene which removes a lot of tension from the film - But eventually you see a zombie astronaut torched with a flamethrower and crushed under tractor wheels and that's entertaining. There is also a valiant attempt to usurp John Hurt's chestburster with graphic DIY surgery. Moreover, when David walks around inside a giant holographic space-map, Prometheus really is quite stunning.

In truth, the problem with Prometheus is not Ridley Scott's direction - the man has created a visual masterpiece. Unfortunately the casting and script let the film down and the production team should be prevented from tampering with Ridley Scott from now on - I wanted to love this film. I even watched it twice in the vain hope I'd missed something on first viewing. However - Unlike Bladerunner, I don't think Prometheus will be unearthed as an underrated classic. It's not dreadful by any means - It's just flawed. The elaborate decorations on the world's most delicious birthday cake are indeed made of bird poo. They don't taste great, but by the gods they look amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever but average prequel, 22 Jan 2014
By 
K. O'CARROLL "kevoc" (Helensburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] (DVD)
Basically I wish I'd seen this in 3D at the cinema, as it's quite dramatic as far as the setting goes - eerie landscape etc - shades of HP Lovecraft in some of the themes too. Then you come to the point where it becomes apparent that this lays the foundation and background for the 1979 groundbreaking "Alien" Quite clever in many ways but borrowing heavily from the basic ideas set down in Alien, but explaining one or two of the not-so-obvious beginnings of that film....the abandoned wreck of the crashed spacecraft and it's pilot mummified in his control seat, for instance, and of course the dreaded lifeforms which wreak havoc at maturity in the Alien movies. Overall - pretty good, but without anything spectacular or surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good...but not great, 21 Aug 2013
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] (DVD)
According to Greek myth, Prometheus was the Titan who stole fire from Olympus and gave it to mankind; Zeus punished him by chaining him to a rock where an eagle gnawed at his liver until he was rescued by Hercules. Hmm. A fitting title then, for a film which suggests that human life on Earth was "seeded" by a race of engineers from a distant planet. That might be a spoiler (sorry) but I doubt it, such is the volume of hype that has surrounded this film. Understandably so, of course - after all, this is Sir Ridley Scott's return to the genre he redefined with Alien. A return, no less, to the world of Alien itself... Exciting stuff. But is the film any good?

In short, yes. But is it great, like Alien? No, not really, and that's a shame because it could have been - a lot of key ingredients are there: the idea that humans were "engineered", whilst not new, has plenty of scope; the cast is excellent; Scott directs and produces; cinematography is sweeping and impressive (especially in the opening sequence); CGI is rendered flawlessly yet with uncommon subtlely; and the 3D was the best I've seen, giving real perspective without, ironically, being too in-your-face. Oh, and I loved (what I perceived to be) the parallels with 2001 - archaeological evidence found suggesting a interplanetary creator, a ship being dispatched to find that creator with the crew (oblivious to the mission) in suspended animation, a murderous or at least deranged machine. Even the widescreen vistas of the opening sequence. Oh, and the ship's computer uttering the line "Good morning David." A little less formal and you'd have a perfect match. But I digress. The film has plenty going for it, yet somehow still manages to miss the target I had build up for it in my fanboy mind.

So what went wrong? Sorry, but I feel bulletpoints coming on.

- There's a lot of excessive and blatant signposting early on. As in, "Oh, you just happen to have this machine that can do any kind of surgery, and oh, you just happen to have your own quarters which can detach as a standalone craft... I wonder if either of those will be needed later?" That kind of thing. I know such technicalities can be hard to "show, not tell" but it feels like they hardly even tried.
- There are a few expository plot leaps of faith too, notably when the captain (Idris Elba) of Prometheus plucks the realisation that the planet was the engineer's weapons base seemingly from the air. A friend of mine calls this the Resolution Of Everything, and makes the excellent point that this doesn't work because the captain's character hasn't been developed enough for us to trust such innate insight.
- Why does David, the android played by Michael Fassbender, deliberately infect Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green)? This is never really explained, at least not to my satisfaction.
- Why can't Fifield (Sean Harris) and Milburn (Rafe Spall) find their way out of the engineer's base when their colleagues do so easily, and quickly?
- Why is old man Weyland, who is clearly meant to be a centegenarian, played by Guy Pearce (currently 45)? Make-up is great but Weyland still looked like a young guy wearing a lot of greasepaint. Are there no screen-friendly old actors any more?
- Where does Meredith Vickers (Theron) disappear to for the middle third of the film?
- Where were the original shock moments? The oral impregnation from Alien is repeated, the emergence from stomach is repeated (albeit with a twist). But where's something new?

Don't get me wrong, as I've already said there's lots to enjoy in Prometheus. I enjoyed Prometheus, very much. Michael Fassbender, excellent as android David, steals the acting plaudits. Noomi Rapace and Charlize Theron, between them, provide the "strong woman" characteristics that the long shadow of Ripley demands. But the whole thing just feels like it's been tinkered with, re-edited and cut about, with a touch more of this and a dash less of that - in short, that it's been hacked about in response to feedback from preliminary test screenings and consumer surveys. On the plus side, this gives hope that in years to come there'll be a Prometheus Director's Cut - Scott has plenty of previous convictions for that, after all. And it's a film crying out for a sequel - there are too many unanswered questions in this one. Another mate of mine reckons Dr Shaw will turn out to be Ripley's mother, by the way, and wouldn't that be a neat twist?

So in conclusion it's good - I'd still recommend you see it - but not great. And whilst I enjoyed it, I can't see myself watching it in full every single time it's shown on television in years to come, something I still do with Alien, 33 years after its release. And that probably tells you all you need to know.

Amazon doesn't do half-stars but this is a three and a half star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2111 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf6e0d68)

This product

Only search this product's reviews