Customer Reviews


1,420 Reviews
5 star:
 (530)
4 star:
 (282)
3 star:
 (255)
2 star:
 (156)
1 star:
 (197)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


523 of 625 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and...
Published on 1 Sept. 2012 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more
Prometheus is beautifully made but hollow and shallow and devoid of a solid core.

The script was rewritten by one of the "lost" writers and the producers didn't know whether they wanted a completely separate universe to aliens, a prequel set in the alien universe. The result is characters who take actions and hold motivations that make no sense to the...
Published 5 days ago by luke


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable "prequel" So you know what's coming., 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Pun Chee (Surrey - England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
Predictable Alien "prequel" So you know what's coming.

Note to Film Studio's Stop churning out films as a "set" It's getting somewhat tedious.
Why can't you just make films of this nature as stand-alone movies. This "saga" is now in danger of going down the Police Academy and Friday 13th "series" and Nightmare on Elm Street movie route.
It's like chewing gum stuck on a bedpost, it's lost its "flavour".
Just do us all a favour and give up.

Just let this "saga" die. Please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprising to hear Ridley Scott saying this film was one of his best, 31 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Prometheus (DVD)
From the outset, this sci-fi film goes wrong. Most of the characters are 2-dimensional. So many of their actions are implausible, even ridiculous. A shame because, visually, the film has some great moments. It was surprising to hear Ridley Scott (being interviewed on BBC television circa January 2015) saying that he regarded this film as one of his best. Each to his own but I think if you're looking for a sci-fi film that is coherent, engaging and thought-provoking, you'd do well to miss this and choose another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappoints, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
F. Henry "bookworm" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I agree with a previous reviewer that this film is fine if you are looking for something to do on a wet afternoon, as it is well acted and the scenes are well put together. However, despite its promise, this fails to deliver on plot and left us thinking "was that it?" at the end. Great concept, insufficient thought given to plot, so disappointing overall. This one's in the charity shop pile...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An insult to the intelligence, 28 May 2013
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
**SPOILERS**

I missed the cinematic release of Prometheus in 2012 as I was giving birth to my second son, who rather inconveniently decided to be born two weeks early. I mention this because at the time, I was gutted to have missed the chance to see Ridley Scott's `prequel' on the big screen - almost as gutted as John Hurt was in the original Alien film (boom!). Having now finally got around to watching it, I can safely say that if I was looking for an emotionally intense, visceral experience with a few screams, moments of terror and lashings of bodily fluids, I'd probably just go through childbirth again rather than sit through this utter pile of cack.

I cannot believe that my first and hopefully only one star review on Amazon is going to be given to a film made by Ridley Scott. I wrote part of my university thesis on Alien, I must have seen Aliens twenty times, I think Alien 3 is, despite its flaws, bleakly brilliant. Perhaps this is why I am so disappointed in Prometheus.

Characters so badly drawn, so negligible that they have to have their names sewn into their spacesuits, displayed on their foreheads like some futuristic version of the Post-It Note game, obvious to give the viewer some kind of clue as to who they are, not that you give a damn anyway as they are all as stupid as some very stupid things indeed. Is it remotely credible that, when the two engineers or scientists or whatever the hell they are, are lost in the alien ship (despite having mapped the bloody thing out mere scenes before, for God's sake), would the captain inform them that the scanners have picked up a life form but not to worry about it, bid them a cheery goodnight and go off and shag Charlize Theron? (Okay, maybe that last bit is credible...) Despite clearly being heroically thick, would these two engineers bed down for the night in the scariest, ooziest place on the ship and when something horrible finally (FINALLY) appears, attempt to make a pet of it?

There is no motive for anything. There is no plot. The acting is mostly risible, the dialogue laughable, the pretentions to some kind of philosophy ridiculous. The medi-pod scene is where I finally put paid to the idea that this film was ever going to get better. An oozy squid baby? A machine so sophisticated that it can perform complex medical operations and then winds up the procedure by embedding a row of metal staples in Noomi Rapace's stomach? Of course, for the rest of the film, Noomi is running around, jumping off ledges, swinging from girders etc etc, occasionally stopping for a quick wince of the `ooh, my magic staples smart a bit' variety but basically not letting the fact she's had major abdominal surgery and given birth to an oozy squid baby slow her down much.

The presence of Guy Pearce in bad `old age' latex, I can only surmise means he will be appearing in a sequel to the prequel at a younger age. PLEASE GOD, NO.

This film is an insult to generations of fans. How can Ridley Scott end this film in a way that means that a crucial scene of the original film (HIS original film - where they find the giant Space Jockey) now makes no sense?

Rubbish. Utter, unadulterated rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just watch 'Alien' instead, 17 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
Rehash of 'Alien', with a bit of added pretention. Not a terrible film in itself. But is just 'Alien' redone. A lot of added irrational behaviour thrown in in order to set up the next bit of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a huge let-down., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I seriously wasn't expecting anything great from this. I knew that it wasn't going to be masterpiece like Alien, but I really didn't think that any film by Scott could be this poor. I was sadly mistaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment., 23 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I hadn't read any reviews or the apparent hype about this film, I got it in a bundle with the Aliens films. I watched this with increasing confusion, is this really a Ridley Scott film, not one done by an Intern working for him? The characters are cardboard, the dialogue banal and there is no attempt to explain the motivations affecting the behaviour of the characters - particularly the android. Only saved from total disaster by the special effects. A real disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of money, 2 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
What a waste of money. With the budget for this film they could have made fifty indie movies, all superior to this vacuous piece of futility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLOT SPOILER REVIEW...I TELL YOU WHY, 15 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The writers intended this to be an "Alien" prequel by incorporating "Chariots of Gods" into the film, although some might question the timeline. They concentrated on creating a special effects film, putting science facts on the back burner. It's basically 60's science fiction with great special effects.

Earth has been visited by aliens who created us, and leave a calling card. Instead of traveling to a moon of Jupiter like in 2001, we travel to a distant "galactic system" to a moon of a planet that looks like Saturn. The year is 2091, the crew is placed in suspended animation for a trip that takes 3 years, nearest star is 4.5 light years away. Sirius is the star frequently indicated as that "ancient" alien connection. It is 11 light years away. The writers needed to do the math.

In this "2091: A Space Odyssey" tale, HAL is replaced by an android named David (Michael Fassbender) who like HAL has his own orders. When they get to the planet it turns into a special effects sci-fi horror as man tries to find his "creator." Noomi Rapace provides us the only decent human performance in this film. In fact she was so good at one point they called her character, Dr. Elizabeth Shaw, "Noomi" in the film. They are either paying tribute to the famous Carrie Fischer "Star Wars" blooper, or their film editor is Ed Wood.

The dialogue was written in such a way that it lacked entertainment value. It needed to be lighter. The theme of creating life, so that it is not special, bogged down the film. In case you are unaware, the earliest common human language was believed to be a form of "click" language. I waited for Fassbender to start clicking when he spoke the alien language to show me the extensive research the writers did. It didn't happen.

Why is there always some idiot who takes off his helmet to test the air in these films? It's not the oxygen, its the foreign microbes, stupid!

Great movie to let the teens go see. Yes, I liked the film, but the writers were a let down. The good news is we can gut part of the voice track and do over the text and make it science fiction presentable without any re-shooting. Heck we might even add a joke or two... "These two earthlings, one an android, land on this alien planet and say, "Why did you create us?"....

SPOILER: And if you haven't figured it out from watching 3 movies...the reason why we were created is to generate a species genetically similar to the "creators" so they could test their biological weapons out on us, i.e. those alien critters.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, 2 people in bed, near sex, no nudity, brief hot chicks. This would easy have been a 5 star movie had the writers did their homework. BTW, I just removed my own appendix, I am going out now to do some dirt biking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This film is piss poor., 4 April 2014
By 
M. Garner (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terrible terrible film. Dreadful script. Complete lack of character development. Nothing makes any kind of sense. There is no internal consistency. All the characters behave utterly implausibly. We are never given any reason to empathise with or identify with any of the characters. Many of them are simply useless 'cannon fodder' so when they meet their grisly ends there is no emotional connection.

The story is as trite and hackneyed as any of the worst schlocky science fiction I've ever seen. Really very unoriginal.

On the plus side, visually it has moments of grandeur. Also some individual great performances (Fassbender, Theron). THe sound was pretty good too.

However, as a story telling experience it was nothing but inanity, inconsistency and frustration. An insult to viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews