Customer Reviews


1,478 Reviews
5 star:
 (565)
4 star:
 (297)
3 star:
 (258)
2 star:
 (158)
1 star:
 (200)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


528 of 632 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and...
Published on 1 Sept. 2012 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OF CURIOUS LAB-MICE AND HOMICIDAL GIANTS
I did enjoy the movie for what it offered. It is good entertainment with majestic imagery, mostly solid performances and absorbing music. Having said that, it is a movie not without its flaws. Some of them are hard to ignore.

>>>>>>>>> SPOILERS AHEAD...
Published on 8 July 2012 by NeuroSplicer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks great, sounds huge. Has equally massive plot holes, 17 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Prometheus looks fantastic and sounds wonderful. Your expectations will soar when the film opens with magnificent landscapes, perfect cinematography and epic music. You also witness finely crafted homages to Kubrick and an effective introduction to the character of David played nicely by Michael Fassbender.

Unfortunately, once the character development commences, the cracks show and you worry that like Ripley on the Sulaco, the Alien franchise may have a fifth wheel. Some of the characters contradict themselves to such an extent it's like watching Nick Griffin wearing a turban. I don't need to catalogue inconsistencies in the actions of the characters - They are well documented online. Additionally, Guy Pearce is unconvincing as a pensioner. But then you see a big sparkly spaceship float past your face in 3D and you forget about it for a bit.

Ridley Scott has attempted to distance Prometheus from Alien. He stated that Prometheus is not a prequel - Some would say with good reason. Alien is a damn fine film and comparisons could only be damaging. Unfortunately for Scott, but happily for the rest of us, Prometheus is crammed with references to the 1979 classic that are impossible to ignore. The various creatures that stalk the crew have been rescued from HR Giger's blueprint designs for Alien and it is hard to divorce nostalgia from the experience. The engineers are hulking great albinos, curiously reminiscent of Jason Statham - They are unveiled in the first scene which removes a lot of tension from the film - But eventually you see a zombie astronaut torched with a flamethrower and crushed under tractor wheels and that's entertaining. There is also a valiant attempt to usurp John Hurt's chestburster with graphic DIY surgery. Moreover, when David walks around inside a giant holographic space-map, Prometheus really is quite stunning.

In truth, the problem with Prometheus is not Ridley Scott's direction - the man has created a visual masterpiece. Unfortunately the casting and script let the film down and the production team should be prevented from tampering with Ridley Scott from now on - I wanted to love this film. I even watched it twice in the vain hope I'd missed something on first viewing. However - Unlike Bladerunner, I don't think Prometheus will be unearthed as an underrated classic. It's not dreadful by any means - It's just flawed. The elaborate decorations on the world's most delicious birthday cake are indeed made of bird poo. They don't taste great, but by the gods they look amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An insult to the intelligence, 28 May 2013
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
**SPOILERS**

I missed the cinematic release of Prometheus in 2012 as I was giving birth to my second son, who rather inconveniently decided to be born two weeks early. I mention this because at the time, I was gutted to have missed the chance to see Ridley Scott's `prequel' on the big screen - almost as gutted as John Hurt was in the original Alien film (boom!). Having now finally got around to watching it, I can safely say that if I was looking for an emotionally intense, visceral experience with a few screams, moments of terror and lashings of bodily fluids, I'd probably just go through childbirth again rather than sit through this utter pile of cack.

I cannot believe that my first and hopefully only one star review on Amazon is going to be given to a film made by Ridley Scott. I wrote part of my university thesis on Alien, I must have seen Aliens twenty times, I think Alien 3 is, despite its flaws, bleakly brilliant. Perhaps this is why I am so disappointed in Prometheus.

Characters so badly drawn, so negligible that they have to have their names sewn into their spacesuits, displayed on their foreheads like some futuristic version of the Post-It Note game, obvious to give the viewer some kind of clue as to who they are, not that you give a damn anyway as they are all as stupid as some very stupid things indeed. Is it remotely credible that, when the two engineers or scientists or whatever the hell they are, are lost in the alien ship (despite having mapped the bloody thing out mere scenes before, for God's sake), would the captain inform them that the scanners have picked up a life form but not to worry about it, bid them a cheery goodnight and go off and shag Charlize Theron? (Okay, maybe that last bit is credible...) Despite clearly being heroically thick, would these two engineers bed down for the night in the scariest, ooziest place on the ship and when something horrible finally (FINALLY) appears, attempt to make a pet of it?

There is no motive for anything. There is no plot. The acting is mostly risible, the dialogue laughable, the pretentions to some kind of philosophy ridiculous. The medi-pod scene is where I finally put paid to the idea that this film was ever going to get better. An oozy squid baby? A machine so sophisticated that it can perform complex medical operations and then winds up the procedure by embedding a row of metal staples in Noomi Rapace's stomach? Of course, for the rest of the film, Noomi is running around, jumping off ledges, swinging from girders etc etc, occasionally stopping for a quick wince of the `ooh, my magic staples smart a bit' variety but basically not letting the fact she's had major abdominal surgery and given birth to an oozy squid baby slow her down much.

The presence of Guy Pearce in bad `old age' latex, I can only surmise means he will be appearing in a sequel to the prequel at a younger age. PLEASE GOD, NO.

This film is an insult to generations of fans. How can Ridley Scott end this film in a way that means that a crucial scene of the original film (HIS original film - where they find the giant Space Jockey) now makes no sense?

Rubbish. Utter, unadulterated rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars flawed addition, but the potential is there, 9 Nov. 2013
By 
rob crawford "Rob Crawford" (Balmette Talloires, France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a good SF film, with concepts, mysteries, and strong action. However, after so much expectation, it disappoints. The story takes place many years before Alien, when a privately funded group makes an exploratory inter-stellar voyage to investigate some intriguing archaeological clues. They are on the track of the "engineers", an exemplar of whom died mysteriously at the beginning of the film and whose whereabouts were hinted at in cave paintings found all over the world by Shaw and her partner, Charlie. What they discover is not what they expect, to say the least. Also, there are many secret agendas revealed, adding nuance. In the end, as a survivor, Shaw continues her quest.

Now, this is intriguing stuff, full of possibility. Unfortunately, the execution of the film, its uneven acting, and problems with the plot combine to make a mediocre viewing experience. I do not want to give away the plot details, but some may slip through.

First, the quality of the acting was a constant problem. While Rapace was great in Dragon Tatoo, she is supposed to be English but can't get the accent consistently. While she does a good job with the complexity of her character's motivations, her intimate relationship with Charlie (who is terribly acted by Logan and never cogent as a character) makes little sense. The other crew members were clearly fodder for destruction and the few with any character seemed rushed in their actions and motivations. Theron is an exception to this, but David the android is perhaps the best - he is clearly not human, has inscrutable motives and emotions that are consistent, and is somehow always menacingly creepy. Alas, the character chemistry doesn't quite hang together.

Second, the explanation for the monsters was disappointing, indeed much of the logic of the film is wobbly. While the engineers were very well done as beings of superior intelligence and seemingly incomprehensible motives, their behavior and what they were doing were unconvincing to me. In addition, the resulting monstrosities were not conceived with much care, but just seemed hideous and violent, without interesting constraints and clear powers. The development of the monsters appears too magical: how could they develop so quickly, live so long and be so overwhelmingly strong, without a source of energy or food? Take, for example, Shaw's aborted monster: it continues to grow to monstrous proportions in the med lab with nothing but itself. Even worse, after Shaw undergoes major surgery, she just gets stapled up, and then with some futuristic pain killers is fine running around and fighting baddies. How could she do so without hemorrhaging? Also, the way that David deciphers the alien language and writing and instrument panels smacks me as contrived. As others have pointed out, the behavior of the scientists is also incomprehensible: if one of them saw an alien worm slithering out of the cornea of one of his eyes - and experiencing no pain? - would he not quarantine himself or bring it to someone's attention? Would the biologist not fear a snake-like creature rising out of some primordial muck? Would the scientists not fear infection in an unknown atmosphere, but instead instantly take their helmets off? These things are so ridiculous that they strain all credibility.

Third, the effects were not entirely convincing. This is a high budget film, but much of it seemed clunky, such as the creature that drags itself to the ship and offs, like, half the crew in a few instants - it looks like a flailing rubber doll. Or take a creature that emerges from a character's stomach - it comes out bigger than it could have been. I did enjoy the alien technology, and the engineers themselves - gigantic beings of super strength and superior minds - are splendidly mesmerizing. Again, this speaks to the unevenness of the film, where much of it feels rushed and ill conceived.

Anyway, I recommend this for fans of the series. But hopefully better is yet to come. It grows on you, but that is because I have learned to ignore the flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars something bad happens, 6 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Prometheus is mindless nonsense. The plot can be summed up like this:

Find a ship

something bad happens

So return to their ship

something bad happens

so go back to the other ship

something bad happens

Go back to their own ship

something bad happens

Go back to the other ship: surely their luck must improve?

something bad happens

Quick, run back to their ship. Surely it must be safe now?

something bad happens

Go back to the alien ship. Maybe the neighbourhood has improved?

something bad happens

Maybe their ship wasn't so bad after all? Let's go back and find out

something bad happens

Did I leave my coat in the alien ship? I'll be back in a minute

something bad happens

Back again!

something bad happens

and so on until something really bad happens to both ships

so ... let's find another ship. Which they do.

Surely nothing can go wrong with that one?

Well you will have to wait for the sequel to find out. But I'd be willing to bet something bad happens to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLOT SPOILER REVIEW...I TELL YOU WHY, 15 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The writers intended this to be an "Alien" prequel by incorporating "Chariots of Gods" into the film, although some might question the timeline. They concentrated on creating a special effects film, putting science facts on the back burner. It's basically 60's science fiction with great special effects.

Earth has been visited by aliens who created us, and leave a calling card. Instead of traveling to a moon of Jupiter like in 2001, we travel to a distant "galactic system" to a moon of a planet that looks like Saturn. The year is 2091, the crew is placed in suspended animation for a trip that takes 3 years, nearest star is 4.5 light years away. Sirius is the star frequently indicated as that "ancient" alien connection. It is 11 light years away. The writers needed to do the math.

In this "2091: A Space Odyssey" tale, HAL is replaced by an android named David (Michael Fassbender) who like HAL has his own orders. When they get to the planet it turns into a special effects sci-fi horror as man tries to find his "creator." Noomi Rapace provides us the only decent human performance in this film. In fact she was so good at one point they called her character, Dr. Elizabeth Shaw, "Noomi" in the film. They are either paying tribute to the famous Carrie Fischer "Star Wars" blooper, or their film editor is Ed Wood.

The dialogue was written in such a way that it lacked entertainment value. It needed to be lighter. The theme of creating life, so that it is not special, bogged down the film. In case you are unaware, the earliest common human language was believed to be a form of "click" language. I waited for Fassbender to start clicking when he spoke the alien language to show me the extensive research the writers did. It didn't happen.

Why is there always some idiot who takes off his helmet to test the air in these films? It's not the oxygen, its the foreign microbes, stupid!

Great movie to let the teens go see. Yes, I liked the film, but the writers were a let down. The good news is we can gut part of the voice track and do over the text and make it science fiction presentable without any re-shooting. Heck we might even add a joke or two... "These two earthlings, one an android, land on this alien planet and say, "Why did you create us?"....

SPOILER: And if you haven't figured it out from watching 3 movies...the reason why we were created is to generate a species genetically similar to the "creators" so they could test their biological weapons out on us, i.e. those alien critters.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, 2 people in bed, near sex, no nudity, brief hot chicks. This would easy have been a 5 star movie had the writers did their homework. BTW, I just removed my own appendix, I am going out now to do some dirt biking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illogical, often poorly plotted, silly, flawed, beautiful and visionary, 14 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
OVERVIEW : Well presented Blu Ray disc, but leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. The only way to get the 5 hours of "making of" extras is to buy the 3-D 3 disc set for quite a lot more extra. Ouch. The extras are great, but bundling them with the "expensive 3D" set is exploitative. The Regular BR + DVD only have deleted scenes and commentaries. Thanks!

FILM : "Prometheus" is a Marmite of movies. You love it, or you hate it. But here's what you need to know : If "Prometheus" is a prequel to "Alien", then "Downfall" is a sequel to "A Bridge Too Far."

And here's what else you need to know : if you forget that "Alien" existed - and thus, forget that "Alien" brings with it baggage and expectation the size of a small galaxy - , "Prometheus" is a brave, bonkers slice of classic science-fiction that nobody would have expected. Ridley Scott, at 75, should now be slowing down and mellowing out - doing a Coppolla, and making films nobody wants to watch. "Prometheus" is a big, questioning vision. Yes, there are aliens in this. But there are not Aliens. It isn't a bug hunt, or a monster film. It's a film about something much bigger than the Monster In The Dark.

The Quest. That old movie trope. The search for the ultimate thing that drives human beings insane. (In Time Bandits, it was a Fridge.). This is what that film discusses : humans beings search for the ultimate prize, whatever that is. Some pay the ultimate price. If you want a tag line then "For the ultimate prize, you must pay the ultimate price." Thank you very much, that will be £10k.

Many of you will be unhappy with this film. There will be a lack of killer aliens. A dearth of scares in the dark. All manner of shortcomings if you want a great big scary monster film. Not every film can be Aliens, nor does every film want to be Aliens. "Prometheus" is the best "Prometheus" it can be, not a shadow of "Alien". But we live in a world where "Alien" exists, so "Prometheus" cannot be untangled from it. "Prometheus" is about the quest for knowledge, the need to know the answers that may not exist, and the insane lengths we may go to to reach that knowledge.

It opens with a moment before history on an unspecified planet. Marked with vast, Kubrickian vistas of barren, beautiful nature, Scott draws us to a conclusion through the use of almost intuiative imagery. With an intelligence rarely seen in these types of film, the script, title, and "Prometheus" theme feeds in - one might say, steals - from mythology and ancient film, in a measured and considered way that shows that at the very least, this film has a script that has been thought about, and dialogue that is almost interesting : so far beyond the appallingly dull placeholder dialogue that plagues so many films today with forgettable The narrative progression is relatively linear, though where the film starts, and where it ends, are two wildly different places.

The film does have its weak points : a couple of characters are easily telegraphed as the necessary Idiot Protagonist who does the usual thing of poking objects with sticks and trying to hug it out with a hydra headed killing machine. "All this Tiger needs is a cuddle" might be the type of thing their character says. With such lightweight characterisation, you are forgiven for considering that this film really needs to skill up its survival mechanism. Human beings may be flawed, scared, and do things that are bone-crushingly stupid, but if that is the case, why put such flawed people as the weak links in such an event? Send a robot in. People are stupid, but not necessarily as stupid as the writer thinks.

Prequel is such a cruel word. When a franchise runs out of steam (and short of "Alien Vs Predator Vs Jason Vs Freddy 3D in Space!", there wasn't anywhere left for those films to go), you go back. To the beginning : a trend built by George Lucas, but also, in franchises such as "The Thing" and "X-Men", practically the only option left.

Perhaps it should be retitled to something like "Psychotic Spaceship Of The Gods." As is often the necessary narrative requirement, there are leaps of logic, which, if you think about them too much, might unravel the whole thing and are infuriatingly dense.

On the other hand, any science fiction with £200,000,000 thrown at its production, generally, has to contain a certain number of events to satisfy bored tweenagers and lure in the more affluent 24-55 demographic. If you want a lot of explosions, some gory deaths, and some big setpieces adjoined to a philosophical debate on the nature of mankind and our origin, then "Prometheus" is an ideal film for you. Certainly, far better than your average stalk-and-slash, blood-and-guts balderdash, this film takes its horror, which is not inconsiderable, seriously : the true horror is not that of an unknown creature using your intestines as a adventure playground, but of the possibilities of our imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Enough, 31 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
A waste of 2hrs 3mins of my life. With all the hype I expected it to be better. Too disjointed and confusing at times, even within the Sci-Fi remit, it stretched the imagination too far. Glad I didn't spend money going to see it at a cinema, or buying one of the many versions on DVD. Will not bother with the next instalments of this trilogy. If the director can't make the first one entertaining,,then there seems little hope for the others. Shameless ripping off of the fans of the Alien genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Not brilliant - a waste of money really...;-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alienated, 7 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
“Prometheus” is a prequel, or perhaps pseudo-prequel, to the films of the Alien franchise. If you belong to the 0.01% of the population who loved “Alien” for its philosophical qualities, you might find the last 20 minutes or so of “Prometheus” interesting. If you belong to the 99.99% who relished Ridley Scott's sense of horror, you might get away a wee bit disappointed…

We (the 0.01% we) have waited a long time, decades actually, for a response to the question “where did the extraterrestrial astronauts with big snouts come from?” It was great, I suppose, to finally get an answer to that question. I think.

What a pity the rest of “Prometheus” sucks, with Noomi Rapace and the other actors coming into their own only at the last moment. Most of the time, they come across as a bunch of stupid-looking amateurs, some of them with bad accents…

I will give this Alien fan movie three stars, but only because of the dramatic finale. Otherwise, it really only deserves two. It made me feel, well, alienated...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Not a Very Good Film, Would Not Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2012)
£9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews