Customer Reviews


1,206 Reviews
5 star:
 (420)
4 star:
 (250)
3 star:
 (228)
2 star:
 (139)
1 star:
 (169)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


496 of 590 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and...
Published on 1 Sep 2012 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good actors just going through the motions
An array of special effects create a very realistic feel, the production team runs into hundreds, but as so often in movie SciFi the ideas are watered down, and what ideas there were came from Erich von Daniken rather than anyone more serious, and conveyed in a few snippets of dialogue which struggled to compete with the sound-track. I had to switch off my sub-woofer to...
Published 16 days ago by Ian Andrew Tully


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good actors just going through the motions, 15 Sep 2014
By 
Ian Andrew Tully (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
An array of special effects create a very realistic feel, the production team runs into hundreds, but as so often in movie SciFi the ideas are watered down, and what ideas there were came from Erich von Daniken rather than anyone more serious, and conveyed in a few snippets of dialogue which struggled to compete with the sound-track. I had to switch off my sub-woofer to avoid blasting the neighbours into space. Portentous shades into pretentious. Characterisation was thin, this could have been a standard StarTrek TV episode for all the engagement one felt.Good actors just going through the motions.
A lot more spent on decent writers and a little less on sound engineers and special effects teams might one day bring us a great movie in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculous., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
What an absolute load of garbage. I had high hopes for this film and feel cheated out of the money I paid for it by the people who made the film. The characters are entirely unbelievable - why would you populate a mission that required people working in a team in a testing environment with unhinged loonies?
Why was the old man played by Guy Pearce?
What was the android trying to achieve?
What was the point of the opening sequence - why wasn't it followed up? It would have made for a better film if it was.
How did they deduce what the beings were doing on the planet?
Why do they have flame throwers?
Why did she eject the escape pod then leave the ship at the end - why not go in the escape pod?
How did Prometheus bring down the big craft? When it hit the ground, which must have been a bigger impact, it remained in one piece.
Why did the engineers "invite" humans to the planet? What was the point?

And loads more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A grand vision presented through frost-encrusted spectacles, 10 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
There are a few features of this film that will impress many people such as the sets, the scope of the story and the evocative connections with the Alien franchise. This does not make up for the glaring lack of a plot and numerous shortcomings in character development. In fact the different sections of the story fail to connect: not the opening teaser, not the meaningless cave paintings, not the inexplicable enthusiasm of the crew to take on a mission that they do not understand, not the apparent lack of any appreciation for safe practice, not the almost total absence of any scientific analysis or just common sense in their behaviour on the planet surface or in the spaceship. The characters display a disconcerting lack of regard for one another typified by their apparent lack of concern at the mounting death toll which itself stems from their reckless disregard for risks and unprofessional conduct. The overall presentation might as well be a devious attempt to warn against all forms of space exploration.
I feel obliged here to raise a protest at the overly revisited theme of the origin of life on Earth being ascribed to alien intervention. This seems to be exhibiting the hallmarks of some kind of psychotic obsession on the part of Hollywood film producers and scriptwriters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


496 of 590 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws, 1 Sep 2012
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and it'll happen again. People went in with ridiculous expectations and that's why there are so many stupid 1 or 2 star reviews - they never took it for what it was! to compare this,as some did on here, to "The phantom menace" is pathetic and childish to say the least.

The main problem with Prometheus is clearly it's unanswered questions, my opinion is that this will play better when the sequel arrives as it's really just act 1 of a 2 or 3 act play, that said there's still lots to enjoy here, namely Michael Fassbenders brilliant performance as David the Android, the exceptional design work,stunning fx and Naomi Rapace who is excellent in only her 2nd Hollywood role.

Fed up of silly robots smashing things up,superheroes and vacuous teen vampire movies? want sci fi but with a brain? then this movie is for you, sure it's not perfect but its miles better than most movies out there at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 209 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film with lot's of extras on the 3D version, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film in it's own right, even Ridley says it's not really a prequel, it's just that the idea for this film came about from elements of the first Alien film. Just watch it for what it is, a great piece of Sci-Fi.
Just a gripe now towards Amazon, Why don't you list the extras on any of your DVD / Blu Ray's? This would help many people in deciding which version of the disc to buy. Now originally I was going to buy the film which just came with a digital copy, this was around £15, or I could go for the copy which also had the 3D version, but not having a 3D TV I thought this would be a waste of time and an extra £5. But it wasn't until I read through a load of reviews where someone said to go for the 3D version as it had a film makers documentary which is 3.5 hours long, this I believe does not come with the other version. So I ordered the 3D version (which also has the normal 2D blu Ray version) which does indeed come with a 3.5 hour documentary, but that's not all, there is over 7 hours of bonus features on this disc, which are as follows:

Deleted scenes including alternate beginning and ending
making of Prometheus in depth documentary
Audio commentaries
The Peter weyland files
Weyland corp archive
Plus a Mobile app
Plus more

So if you like your extras then the 3D version is the way to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's no ALIEN.., 23 Sep 2014
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
The first in the series Alien was great and I thought being as the same director was coming back it may be close to the original in terms of suspense and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


186 of 229 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Blu-ray NOT the movie, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
To put it simply I'm going to review the actual content of the blu ray not the film, there are loads of film sites/magazines you can view if you want a review of the movie i'm going to talk about what seems to get ignored the actual product you are buying!

I will just note, I love the film and think it was way over hyped and this led to people thinking it was going to be the best movie ever so it could never live up to these high standards. Just please ignore all the 1 star reviews, this is certainly not a 1 star movie.

The picture
Prometheus is a good looking film on blu ray, it certainly not the best looking blu ray. Ironcally Alien (A film from the 1970's) looks better on Blu ray. There is some grain but there has been a lot worse in recent years.

The Extras
The Blu ray really shines here. Firslty you get a proper itunes digital copy not a rubbish UV digtial copy. You can also chose to download a Windows Media Player file instead, if you don't use itunes, that will work on msot devices. There is a large handfull of deleted scenes each with a cool little explain of why they were cut and what they add to the film. There is also an alternative beginning and ending. The deleted scenes are separate from the movie and cannot be viewed as part of the film, in say a director's cut format.

There is also a strange feature called the "Weyland files" which gives a deeper view into the "Alien/Promethues Universe". there is also commentaries which are good but really only for Alien/Prometheus super fans, the causal viewer will be bored. Finally there is a really cool dual screen feature.

If you have an ipad you can download a free app on the app store (just search prometheus and you will find it), then you sync the app to you blu ray player (you need a BD live enabled player for this) and then as you watch the movie extra features and facts will come up on your ipad at points during the film. It is an amazing feature that I hope to see more of, I noted in Dutch app store there were dual screen apps for the Avengers and Spider Man, whilst they dont work in the UK hopefully this shows that film companies are going to start using this feature more often. Also note the app at the time of wrtting was only avalaible on iPad but I have been informed that it is now available on other app stores as well.

Verdict
So far this year it has been a disapointing year for Blu ray releases most have been pretty poor, The Avengers and The Hunger Games were a little lacking but Prometheus bucks this trend and gives a truly great bly ray package well worth your money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


139 of 173 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prometheus: An Admirable Mess, 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start by saying that Prometheus is a bit mess of themes and plot points not helped by some poor editing choices (this should have been Terry Rawling's gig), but it's an admirable mess that attempts to open the Alien series up to a much bigger sci-fi canvas. The series has been stuck in the formula of attempting to ape the action and pacing of James Cameron's Aliens since Alien Resurrection "graced" our cinema screens in '97 and any potential expansion of the universe since has been merely hinted at rather than properly explored.

When making Alien, Ridley Scott and writer Dan O' Bannon originally intended for the universe to be far wider in cinematic scope. Unfortunately a constrictive budget held them back from exploration beyond the bare essential. This forced Scott and crew to cut back, even bringing the then unfinished fossilised Space Jockey set in to question with worried studio heads (a battle Scott fortunatly won). Paul WS Anderson's later Alien vs Predator may have shamelessly ripped off a few of these lost story elements (resulting in a begrudging story credit for Dan O'Bannon) but they were wasted on poor direction and a narrative more interested in WWF style alien on alien wrestling. With Prometheus Scott has finally managed to take the series back to the places he originally intended to explore, resulting in a film that, much like 2001, tackles the relationship between men and their makers amongst many other things (like who the Space Jockey was, why was he transporting those eggs and what they were originally intended for). And now the door has been left swinging in the wind, wide open for any kind of imaginative or ghastly sci-fi tale or landscape.

Where Prometheus fails is in the single mindedness of it's main characters (not to mention the stupidity that some display in serving the plot). The narrative is also somewhat bogged down with attempts to provide moments between the obvious cannon fodder background characters when it should be affording its leads with depth. Despite this Prometheus succeeds in providing the series with its most interesting character since Ripley bowed out in Alien 3. Micheal Fassbender's David is a revelation. One part Bishop, two parts Ash and a mystery throughout. Both an enigma and a pleasure to watch. Unfortunately like many characters in the film, the editing betrays him and we're left with a couple of half developed but nonetheless interesting sub-plots (like the love triangle between himself, Shaw and Holloway). The film reeks of the feeling that much like Kingdom of Heaven, there's a great film bubbling under the surface of a merely good one.

Because of these half developed sub-plots, Prometheus feels as if half a film. Not only does it ask more questions than it answers (which isn't necessarily a bad thing) it ends as if part one of an ongoing tale rather than as a self contained narrative. All setup, primed and ready to pay off in later instalments to the franchise. The parting shot also translates as a poorly judged fan service, squandering potential for a significant beastie in the execution. The primary problem being that Scott and the writing staff had built the creature up to be the film's big bad, hinting at the kind of devastation it rained down on the race of Engineers 2000 years before. Unfortunately they only provide the creature with a scant few seconds to shine. It's another halfway developed sub-plot waiting to be expanded in an inevitable sequel. And yet despite these misgivings Prometheus manages to entertain and engage throughout.

Refreshingly the film doesn't pander to audiences by over explaining each and every plot point. And though the film does provide a few answers to key questions fans have about the Space Jockey characters and their race it does well not to destroy the mysticism surrounding them and their culture. Not to mention that the production design is top notch, rivalling the aesthetic excitement and intrigue of sci-fi films twice Prometheus' budget. Scott is truly a wizard of aesthetic pleasure. The entire look, feel and atmosphere is exactly what you would want from an Alien film. Prometheus is flawed but pure sci-fi and demands a second viewing. It harkens to a time when sci-fi films explored big themes and dared to delve beyond popcorn visuals. Overall, Prometheus is a solid sci-fi tale that offers further promising and exciting places to explore in the Alien universe. Now, I can't remember the last time I felt that about a film related to the Alien series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This Court is now in session, Hon. Darth Maciek presiding, the accused Sir Ridley Scott will please rise to hear the verdict, 31 May 2012
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This twice revised verdict contains SPOILERS.

This High Court finds the accused guilty of:

1) disappointing the expectations of large numbers of devoted fans and admirers

2) soiling his own legacy

3) dumping garbage in theatres around the world

4) insulting the intelligence of the viewers

5) wasting the talent of good actors

6) robbing defenceless Engineers of the totality of their "cool" factor

7) wagging his 3D in public, in a crowded area, without any valid reason

8) using office staples in medicine

9) causing waste of perfectly good popcorn in a world where hundreds of millions do not have enough to eat

Justification: A LOT was expected from "Prometheus". It is however the finding of this Court that this film failed to meet the required standards to such a point, that it is many quality levels beneath "Alien" and in fact not even as good as "Alien3"... This Court finds particularly reprehensive the fact, that Sir Ridley Scott, one of the greatest directors alive, accepted a piss-poor scenario, which, unlike in his masterpieces ("Alien", "Blade Runner", "Blackhawk Down", etc.) doesn't make any sense.

This Court rejects with extreme energy the argument of the defense, that the scenarist is responsible for this film fiasco. The director is the person really in charge of the film and therefore the responsibility is all his, for everything, including the scenario. Also, as the scenarist is currently hiding in his own butt and refuses to come out (understandable under the circumstances), his testimony couldn't be heard - and therefore the whole point is considered moot and irrelevant for the present proceedings.

This Court finds offensive to common sense that the whole idea of First Contact with intelligent aliens was wasted and played at the level of a B-class "direct to DVD" SF film. It can be resumed briefly - an intelligent entity, belonging to a race which could fly interstellar spaceships already at least tens of thousands years ago, wakes up and sees smaller creatures, clearly intelligent because they obviously made it out of their solar system. So what does it do? It doesn't even try to communicate, but just starts to rip them apart. This Court allows itself here the right to laugh its (---) off, but with much underlying sadness.

As a mitigating circumstance, this Court finds that there is a possibility that this deplorable scene was caused by the android David messing up the communications. The android seems to have learned alien's language from ancient human inscriptions - which certainly did not include phonetics (this is why NOBODY today can say with certainty how the Latin was REALLY spoken). So it may be that what the alien heard from the android was in fact: "I fart in your general direction. Your mother was a hamster and your father smells of elderberries". Which would explain everything... All doubts being considered in favour of the accused, those mitigating circumstances will be duly weighted at the sentencing, below.

There can be however no mitigating circumstances concerning another weakness of the scenario, namely the fact that a mission which cost Weyland Corporation a trillion of dollars is manned by a bunch of total IDIOTS! This Court reminds here, that the crew of "Nostromo", made just of hard working blue collar people, acted with much more logic, caution and discipline than the 17 crew members of "Prometheus", who are for most part simply pathetic. This Court acknowledges however, that captain Janek, pilot Chance, navigator Ravel and medical officer Ford are - to some extent - exceptions here. In the interest of justice, this Court presents here some most blatant examples of above mentioned idiocy:

- you were selected to be part of a trillion dollars interstellar mission - so the first time you see an alien skellington you panic and run like crazy away from others!

- you were selected to be part of a trillion dollars interstellar mission, because you are a renowned biologist - so the first time the guy next to you sees an alien skellington, panics and runs away like crazy, you scream like a little girl and run after him, so you can get lost together in a maze of dark underground galleries...

- on a planet able to support life you find an alien underground complex and the atmosphere is OK! Let's all take off our helmets, so we can inhale all the local bacteria, viruses and other stuff against which we have no immunity!

- a living creature, vaguely snakelike, appears and approaches - let's give it our hand immediately, after all this is how we handle cobras and vipers on our planet - and I should know, I am a biologist!

- oops, I am contaminated by an alien organism and there are already little tentacles growing out of my eye - as I am an educated person with a PhD, I will not say one word about it, I absolutely want this thing to develop until I can not be saved anymore; also let's contaminate the others, after all Mum always told me I should share...)))!

- a guy who was missing for 24 hours signals his presence at the spaceship entry - let's not even have ONE LOOK at him, like for example to see if it is REALLY him, BEFORE opening the doors!

- two of my people are stranded in a weird underground complex and there are signs appearing that there is SOMETHING alive inside. Should I maintain regular contact and keep a careful watch over them until they are recovered? Naah! Let's just get drunk and get laid, they will be surely fine... And anyway there is no manpower for this, there is only 15 people left on board...

- last but not least, on a trillion dollar interstellar mission on a planet which can support life (and therefore presence of predators can be expected) the whole arsenal on board consists of one shotgun, one handgun and two little flamethrowers - and therefore at some moments it will be down to knives, axes and wrenches...

Idiocy being contagious, it is the finding of this Court that the giant aliens a.k.a. Engineers, also caught it:

- I am a supremely intelligent ancient life form; I wake up from cryogenic sleep and see facing me five smaller, but clearly intelligent life forms; because I am evil and aggressive I wish to destroy them; of course it doesn't matter that I am alone here and unarmed, and there may be a hundred other small life forms waiting outside, packing heat; it doesn't matter that there is their whole SPACESHIP somewhere outside, which definitely MUST be packing heat (if only for its propulsive system and mass); it doesn't matter that for all I know there can be a whole FLEET of spaceships on the orbit - no, I am going after them with my bare hands, without collecting the slightest intelligence, without even trying to find some weapons, maybe wake up some reinforcements. Tens of thousands of years of brilliant intelligence development = charge at sight and fight bare handed!

- I am a suppremely intelligent ancient life form and my spaceship was just downed by those pesky small life forms; it appears that one of them is still alive and hiding in a small sized but sophisticated container; I want to kill this life form! Should I find a weapon? Use the equipements of my ship which still function to scan the alien container and check for booby traps or weaponry? Go find another spaceship and use its weaponry to vaporize the intruder? No! The correct answer is to charge blindly towards the alien container, with my bare hands, without even having a look for any possible traps or surprises.

This Court admits that the casting was made skilfully, but many actors were underused. Idriss Elba (captain Janek) plays very well a tough and brave man - but his screen time is surprisingly limited! Charlize Theron looks in this film as a goddess - frankly, at some moments this Court almost had the impression that looking at her hurt this Court's eyes, so beautiful she is. Her character (Meredith Vickers, mission supervisor) is IMPRESSIVE - but again, the scenario mostly leaves the lead to others and her part in the second part of the film is especially disappointing.

Guy Pearce plays Peter Weyland, the CEO and owner of the redoubtable Weyland Corporation. But Peter Weyland is a venerable, truly ancient old man - and Guy Pearce is not, which forces him to wear SO OBVIOUSLY a silly rubber mask and make up! Why Sir Ridley couldn't hire just an old actor (there must be some in Hollywood), is beyond this Court's ability to understand - and forgive.

An extremely serious charge concerns messing with elements linking "Prometheus" to "Alien". The Engineers, mysterious giant humanoids furtively suggested in the alien spaceship wreck in "Alien" (the giant skeleton sitting in the chair), were a very promising thing for more than 30 years - and in this film all those promises were betrayed! Helmets? Really!? And the short scene revealing the origins of creatures from "Alien" made this Court frankly laugh (and it was a sad laughter...)

Some mitigating circumstances are nevertheless recognized. Michael Fassbender is the real star of this film as he steals the show as David the android. Noomi Rapace cannot (nobody can!) match Sigourney Weaver, but she still gives a honourable performance. It is highly appreciated by this Court that her character is a believing Christian, even if she seems to be the only one on board (captain Janek may be the second one, but there is not enough hard evidence to prove this). Much will be pardoned to the director for the scene in which she says "This is the Year of Grace 2093".

Another mitigating factor is the scene in which the alien ship develops a crush on Charlize Theron and she in return imprints on it...))) And finally, it must be recognized that the accused is still suffering from PTSD following his association with a film about Fat Robin Hood and Old Maid Marian...

Therefore this Court decides as follows:

1. The film itself receives two stars.

2. The director is sentenced to a total of no less than 5 and no more than 15 years of bitch slapping by an alien queen of average size and temper, in a facility to be determined at a further hearing.

3. The sentence is suspended until the opening of the sequel of "Blade Runner" - it will be however executed in full if this film proves to be another disappointment.

This Court is now adjourned and will drown its sorrows by ingesting Black Slime. God Save the Queen and all those sorts of things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fassbender saves it, 25 May 2014
By 
L. Howells "LEH" (Perthshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The only real redeeming feature of this film is the character David, played by Michael Fassbender. His performance saves the film from being pretty rubbish to be honest and he deserves huge praise for inhabiting the role so completely. The first few scenes are him alone and are very special. The tone of the film changes several times and are all centred around this character and his actions. As part of the Alien franchise, this film is by far the poorest effort but I'd recommend anyone watch it for Fassbender's performance alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2121 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: £2.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews