Customer Reviews


1,428 Reviews
5 star:
 (537)
4 star:
 (283)
3 star:
 (254)
2 star:
 (156)
1 star:
 (198)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


525 of 629 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and...
Published on 1 Sept. 2012 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what it wants to be
I'm a huge sci-fi fan and we've tended to be on the back burner for some time with decent new films of this genre.
So getting stuck into the film it's certainly not bad by any means, but it's confused and rather than take a clearly defined "real Alien" prequel it merely skirts around the edges unsure if it's a new film or a re-treading pre Alien...
Published on 27 Jan. 2013 by Mr Baz


‹ Previous | 1 2143 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what it wants to be, 27 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm a huge sci-fi fan and we've tended to be on the back burner for some time with decent new films of this genre.
So getting stuck into the film it's certainly not bad by any means, but it's confused and rather than take a clearly defined "real Alien" prequel it merely skirts around the edges unsure if it's a new film or a re-treading pre Alien.

There are undeniable nods to Alien, from the actual seemingly abandoned "Alien ship", right down to the Aliens themselves which are very close to the ones you find in the original Alien film (ie the long dead ones which were wiped out by the well known Aliens)...clearly intended on the Director's part. But it stops short of being the prequel it should have been, and leaves more questions than it does answers.

Visuals are excellent as you would expect from a modern sci-fi with the power of up to date computers and talented CGI artists you won't be left wanting here.
Cast is overall quite good with Michael Fassbender taking the part of the android "David" and probably the best performance of the film. Charlize Theron stunning as ever, and decent acting but probably not quite the role I would have picked for her. Noomi Rapace, not a well known actress but does quite well with what she has role wise (I would have picked Charlize for her role). Few other cast members really stand out though, but that's not the real issue of the movie.

If Avatar was all CGI and not much story (which in my view it was, great visuals but predictable corny story/plot) Prometheus is a bit of a let down in it's conclusion, it doesn't deal with the questions you want, it fails to be the full blown no messing around prequel it should be. The ending clearly leaves things open for sequels which one hopes explains things (can we smell cash cow?). But as a stand alone movie you will probably be a little let down in the overall package.

It's great to see Ridley Scott back in the Director's chair, I only wish he'd have had the guts to do a proper prequel rather than too many nods and winks to Alien, but never taking the risk to really push the genre a bit more. The plot is decent enough (but with some padding in places) despite the lack of conclusions (it's at least more interesting than Avatar) Scott is famed for the original (and probably the best) of the Alien series (only Alien and Aliens were worthy IMO), and Bladerunner another cult classic. This doesn't live up to either movie either in tension or story, or dare I say cast (both films had superb casts this one merely decent), despite the stunning visuals it can't match the moody atmosphere of Bladerunner, not build the tension as well as Alien managed.

Overall I can't say it's a 2 star movie (clearly it's not awful or bad), but it's not really up to more than an "ok" 3 stars overall. I did quite enjoy the film the first viewing, but felt little incentive to watch it again. I can't hide my disappointment with the ending which explains little and merely leaves the door open to numerous sequels.

Had Scott sat down and done a full blown no fluffing around "Alien Prequel" this could have worked very well, esp since there is much to work with material wise, but we want answers and a proper prequel not a half way house! As it is it's not likely to satisfy Alien fans (and I'm one of them), and it's not departed from that title enough to stand on it's own as a (non Alien prequel) Worth a watch no question, but this isn't going to find a place in the sci-fi classic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promised much, delivered little., 15 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
A visually stunning piece of cinema, the special effects (barring the ridiculous old man make up towards the end) are brilliant. But then again with a budget this size what do you expect? The major flaws are the script and screenplay, I read a few reviews before I watched and was looking forward to a good piece of Sci Fi, what I got were shallow characters, major plot inconsistencies and a complete lack of any sense of suspense. It does not deliver what it promises. It just leaves you feeling rather disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


525 of 629 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but with flaws, 1 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Don't be put off by the silly 1 star reviews on here because although prometheus isn't perfect and has flaws, it's still a magnificently crafted intelligent sci-fi film that challenges you to think. The problem was that the hype damaged this film, if you hype something for that long and that hard, then there will always be a degree of anti-climax, it's happened before and it'll happen again. People went in with ridiculous expectations and that's why there are so many stupid 1 or 2 star reviews - they never took it for what it was! to compare this,as some did on here, to "The phantom menace" is pathetic and childish to say the least.

The main problem with Prometheus is clearly it's unanswered questions, my opinion is that this will play better when the sequel arrives as it's really just act 1 of a 2 or 3 act play, that said there's still lots to enjoy here, namely Michael Fassbenders brilliant performance as David the Android, the exceptional design work,stunning fx and Naomi Rapace who is excellent in only her 2nd Hollywood role.

Fed up of silly robots smashing things up,superheroes and vacuous teen vampire movies? want sci fi but with a brain? then this movie is for you, sure it's not perfect but its miles better than most movies out there at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


189 of 227 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film with lot's of extras on the 3D version, 18 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film in it's own right, even Ridley says it's not really a prequel, it's just that the idea for this film came about from elements of the first Alien film. Just watch it for what it is, a great piece of Sci-Fi.
Just a gripe now towards Amazon, Why don't you list the extras on any of your DVD / Blu Ray's? This would help many people in deciding which version of the disc to buy. Now originally I was going to buy the film which just came with a digital copy, this was around £15, or I could go for the copy which also had the 3D version, but not having a 3D TV I thought this would be a waste of time and an extra £5. But it wasn't until I read through a load of reviews where someone said to go for the 3D version as it had a film makers documentary which is 3.5 hours long, this I believe does not come with the other version. So I ordered the 3D version (which also has the normal 2D blu Ray version) which does indeed come with a 3.5 hour documentary, but that's not all, there is over 7 hours of bonus features on this disc, which are as follows:

Deleted scenes including alternate beginning and ending
making of Prometheus in depth documentary
Audio commentaries
The Peter weyland files
Weyland corp archive
Plus a Mobile app
Plus more

So if you like your extras then the 3D version is the way to go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


195 of 239 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Blu-ray NOT the movie, 8 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
To put it simply I'm going to review the actual content of the blu ray not the film, there are loads of film sites/magazines you can view if you want a review of the movie i'm going to talk about what seems to get ignored the actual product you are buying!

I will just note, I love the film and think it was way over hyped and this led to people thinking it was going to be the best movie ever so it could never live up to these high standards. Just please ignore all the 1 star reviews, this is certainly not a 1 star movie.

The picture
Prometheus is a good looking film on blu ray, it certainly not the best looking blu ray. Ironcally Alien (A film from the 1970's) looks better on Blu ray. There is some grain but there has been a lot worse in recent years.

The Extras
The Blu ray really shines here. Firslty you get a proper itunes digital copy not a rubbish UV digtial copy. You can also chose to download a Windows Media Player file instead, if you don't use itunes, that will work on msot devices. There is a large handfull of deleted scenes each with a cool little explain of why they were cut and what they add to the film. There is also an alternative beginning and ending. The deleted scenes are separate from the movie and cannot be viewed as part of the film, in say a director's cut format.

There is also a strange feature called the "Weyland files" which gives a deeper view into the "Alien/Promethues Universe". there is also commentaries which are good but really only for Alien/Prometheus super fans, the causal viewer will be bored. Finally there is a really cool dual screen feature.

If you have an ipad you can download a free app on the app store (just search prometheus and you will find it), then you sync the app to you blu ray player (you need a BD live enabled player for this) and then as you watch the movie extra features and facts will come up on your ipad at points during the film. It is an amazing feature that I hope to see more of, I noted in Dutch app store there were dual screen apps for the Avengers and Spider Man, whilst they dont work in the UK hopefully this shows that film companies are going to start using this feature more often. Also note the app at the time of wrtting was only avalaible on iPad but I have been informed that it is now available on other app stores as well.

Verdict
So far this year it has been a disapointing year for Blu ray releases most have been pretty poor, The Avengers and The Hunger Games were a little lacking but Prometheus bucks this trend and gives a truly great bly ray package well worth your money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I expected more, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
Prometheus is beautifully made but hollow and shallow and devoid of a solid core.

The script was rewritten by one of the "lost" writers and the producers didn't know whether they wanted a completely separate universe to aliens, a prequel set in the alien universe. The result is characters who take actions and hold motivations that make no sense to the actions happening around them. It lacks cohesion from story to character and while certain performances and beautiful graphical work this film winds up as ok.

But I expected a lot more, in a time of super hero movies and cookie cutter crap along came a new Ridley Scot sci fi movie, and it might even have something to do with alien! What could go wrong with that?!?

Sadly many things went wrong, and as I watch the film with a critical eye I cant help but feel simply disappointed by this movie. I cant enjoy the "story" presented here because I wasn't invested in the characters who lacked the warmth of the alien cast.

And that is before the questions start.

What is the black goo? Why does it have fifteen thousand different effects?.
If the bald alien thing made all life then why does his sleepy friend instantly want to destroy us all.
Why run in a straight line? seriously I have seen actual diagrams about this with the rolling donut ship and arrows pointing either way with "safety" written on them.
Why does the biologist basically run away from a headless dead body in one scene then coochie coo an alien snake in another just a bit after it?
Why does the weyland corp hire a bunch of amateurs?
Why does an archeologist assist on an alien autopsy?
I could go on for an hour here with stupid questions, its actually sort of weirdly fun.
I hear most people enjoy it. I wish I could have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
Can I have those hours of my life back?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


140 of 175 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prometheus: An Admirable Mess, 25 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start by saying that Prometheus is a bit mess of themes and plot points not helped by some poor editing choices (this should have been Terry Rawling's gig), but it's an admirable mess that attempts to open the Alien series up to a much bigger sci-fi canvas. The series has been stuck in the formula of attempting to ape the action and pacing of James Cameron's Aliens since Alien Resurrection "graced" our cinema screens in '97 and any potential expansion of the universe since has been merely hinted at rather than properly explored.

When making Alien, Ridley Scott and writer Dan O' Bannon originally intended for the universe to be far wider in cinematic scope. Unfortunately a constrictive budget held them back from exploration beyond the bare essential. This forced Scott and crew to cut back, even bringing the then unfinished fossilised Space Jockey set in to question with worried studio heads (a battle Scott fortunatly won). Paul WS Anderson's later Alien vs Predator may have shamelessly ripped off a few of these lost story elements (resulting in a begrudging story credit for Dan O'Bannon) but they were wasted on poor direction and a narrative more interested in WWF style alien on alien wrestling. With Prometheus Scott has finally managed to take the series back to the places he originally intended to explore, resulting in a film that, much like 2001, tackles the relationship between men and their makers amongst many other things (like who the Space Jockey was, why was he transporting those eggs and what they were originally intended for). And now the door has been left swinging in the wind, wide open for any kind of imaginative or ghastly sci-fi tale or landscape.

Where Prometheus fails is in the single mindedness of it's main characters (not to mention the stupidity that some display in serving the plot). The narrative is also somewhat bogged down with attempts to provide moments between the obvious cannon fodder background characters when it should be affording its leads with depth. Despite this Prometheus succeeds in providing the series with its most interesting character since Ripley bowed out in Alien 3. Micheal Fassbender's David is a revelation. One part Bishop, two parts Ash and a mystery throughout. Both an enigma and a pleasure to watch. Unfortunately like many characters in the film, the editing betrays him and we're left with a couple of half developed but nonetheless interesting sub-plots (like the love triangle between himself, Shaw and Holloway). The film reeks of the feeling that much like Kingdom of Heaven, there's a great film bubbling under the surface of a merely good one.

Because of these half developed sub-plots, Prometheus feels as if half a film. Not only does it ask more questions than it answers (which isn't necessarily a bad thing) it ends as if part one of an ongoing tale rather than as a self contained narrative. All setup, primed and ready to pay off in later instalments to the franchise. The parting shot also translates as a poorly judged fan service, squandering potential for a significant beastie in the execution. The primary problem being that Scott and the writing staff had built the creature up to be the film's big bad, hinting at the kind of devastation it rained down on the race of Engineers 2000 years before. Unfortunately they only provide the creature with a scant few seconds to shine. It's another halfway developed sub-plot waiting to be expanded in an inevitable sequel. And yet despite these misgivings Prometheus manages to entertain and engage throughout.

Refreshingly the film doesn't pander to audiences by over explaining each and every plot point. And though the film does provide a few answers to key questions fans have about the Space Jockey characters and their race it does well not to destroy the mysticism surrounding them and their culture. Not to mention that the production design is top notch, rivalling the aesthetic excitement and intrigue of sci-fi films twice Prometheus' budget. Scott is truly a wizard of aesthetic pleasure. The entire look, feel and atmosphere is exactly what you would want from an Alien film. Prometheus is flawed but pure sci-fi and demands a second viewing. It harkens to a time when sci-fi films explored big themes and dared to delve beyond popcorn visuals. Overall, Prometheus is a solid sci-fi tale that offers further promising and exciting places to explore in the Alien universe. Now, I can't remember the last time I felt that about a film related to the Alien series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No surprises, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
SMASK "smask" (Crewe, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prometheus (Amazon Instant Video)
I had some hopes of this as the reviews seemed quite good and the trailer seemed good. However, I was glad I was watching this on Prime as I have the feeling a lot of the ideas play around the old Alien films, but not so controversial or exciting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An insult to the intelligence, 28 May 2013
This review is from: Prometheus [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
**SPOILERS**

I missed the cinematic release of Prometheus in 2012 as I was giving birth to my second son, who rather inconveniently decided to be born two weeks early. I mention this because at the time, I was gutted to have missed the chance to see Ridley Scott's `prequel' on the big screen - almost as gutted as John Hurt was in the original Alien film (boom!). Having now finally got around to watching it, I can safely say that if I was looking for an emotionally intense, visceral experience with a few screams, moments of terror and lashings of bodily fluids, I'd probably just go through childbirth again rather than sit through this utter pile of cack.

I cannot believe that my first and hopefully only one star review on Amazon is going to be given to a film made by Ridley Scott. I wrote part of my university thesis on Alien, I must have seen Aliens twenty times, I think Alien 3 is, despite its flaws, bleakly brilliant. Perhaps this is why I am so disappointed in Prometheus.

Characters so badly drawn, so negligible that they have to have their names sewn into their spacesuits, displayed on their foreheads like some futuristic version of the Post-It Note game, obvious to give the viewer some kind of clue as to who they are, not that you give a damn anyway as they are all as stupid as some very stupid things indeed. Is it remotely credible that, when the two engineers or scientists or whatever the hell they are, are lost in the alien ship (despite having mapped the bloody thing out mere scenes before, for God's sake), would the captain inform them that the scanners have picked up a life form but not to worry about it, bid them a cheery goodnight and go off and shag Charlize Theron? (Okay, maybe that last bit is credible...) Despite clearly being heroically thick, would these two engineers bed down for the night in the scariest, ooziest place on the ship and when something horrible finally (FINALLY) appears, attempt to make a pet of it?

There is no motive for anything. There is no plot. The acting is mostly risible, the dialogue laughable, the pretentions to some kind of philosophy ridiculous. The medi-pod scene is where I finally put paid to the idea that this film was ever going to get better. An oozy squid baby? A machine so sophisticated that it can perform complex medical operations and then winds up the procedure by embedding a row of metal staples in Noomi Rapace's stomach? Of course, for the rest of the film, Noomi is running around, jumping off ledges, swinging from girders etc etc, occasionally stopping for a quick wince of the `ooh, my magic staples smart a bit' variety but basically not letting the fact she's had major abdominal surgery and given birth to an oozy squid baby slow her down much.

The presence of Guy Pearce in bad `old age' latex, I can only surmise means he will be appearing in a sequel to the prequel at a younger age. PLEASE GOD, NO.

This film is an insult to generations of fans. How can Ridley Scott end this film in a way that means that a crucial scene of the original film (HIS original film - where they find the giant Space Jockey) now makes no sense?

Rubbish. Utter, unadulterated rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2143 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
Prometheus (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] by Ridley Scott (Blu-ray - 2012)
£8.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews